Unable to hear sound of MX49 through cubase

The MX series combines Motif XS sounds, USB Audio/MIDI connectivity and advanced DAW/VST controller features at a ground breaking level of affordability.

Moderators: Derek, parametric, Saul

User avatar Great Britain
mb1975
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2019 11:39 pm

Unable to hear sound of MX49 through cubase

Unread post by mb1975 » Sat Jun 29, 2019 11:45 pm

I downloaded and installed the Steinberg USB audio/midi driver.

When I create a new midi track in cubase I can see the MX49 is sending something but I cannot hear any sound.

Please could someone summarise how to get the on-board sound from the MX49 into cubase?

Thanks very much.
User avatar Great Britain
parametric
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3721
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 1:00 am
Contact:

Re: Unable to hear sound of MX49 through cubase

Unread post by parametric » Sun Jun 30, 2019 12:07 am

Hi <mb1975> and welcome to the forums . . . .

I don't use Cubase myself, but installing the driver is only part way there . . .

I would say you need to select the MX49 inside Cubase for midi AND Audio - for it to work.

hope that helps

parametric
Alesis Fusion 8SSD AND 6SSD - BOTH are 384Mb/120Gb SSD/Akai ADVANCE61/Yamaha MOXF6/1024Mb Flash Ram/Yamaha SY85/8.5mb vol/1024k non-vol/DX21/Roland MT32/Bachmann double overstrung Baby Grand Piano/Win10 Pro/Ubuntu MATE 15.0.4/iBook G4/Mac OS 10.4.6/ProTools 7.4/MBox2/M-Audio MicroTrack 24/96

NI Komplete11 Ultimate

Sector101 2x SYEMB06 / 4 x EXM-E3 128MB DRAM Module

BRAND NEW DSDD (720k) FLOPPY DISKS FOR SALE - http://www.yamahaforums.co.uk/forum/vie ... =22&t=9217

Watch out now! take care, BEWARE of the greedy leaders! They'll take you where you should not go - (George Harrison)

IT'S TRUE - "MONEY TALKS" - TO ME, IT MOSTLY SAYS "GOODBYE" ;-)
http://www.chrisnmiller.co.uk/Chris
User avatar United States of America
puremusic
Member
Member
Posts: 149
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2019 8:48 am
Contact:

Re: Unable to hear sound of MX49 through cubase

Unread post by puremusic » Sun Jun 30, 2019 12:52 am

Well, you need a midi track and a separate audio track. The audio track is set to the audio inputs on your interface device, that you should have connected to the audio outs of the MX49.

Careful you don't double the audio after recording a piece, and playing the midi and the audio track at once again too.
Roland FP-90 - Touchkeys - TEC BC - MIDI Expression
Kontakt - Arturia CS80 - Arturia Piano V - Sonivox Eighty-Eight - Spitfire Symphony Orchestra
Post Reply

Return to “Yamaha MX Forum - Covers the MX49, MX61 and MX88”