Yamaha MG16XU on Mac with Cubase AI

AG is a multi-purpose, high-resolution mixer and USB audio interface designed to elevate the creative, audio experience for webcasters / podcasters, gamers, mobile musicians, music producers and more. This section is also for Yamaha's MG series of mixers.

Moderators: Derek, parametric, Saul

User avatar
jekillen
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2019 6:38 am

Yamaha MG16XU on Mac with Cubase AI

Unread post by jekillen »

Hello;
I recently purchase a Yamaha MG16XU that came with Cubase AI SE software.
I installed it and activated it on Mac High Sierra.
I created a testing file in Cubase so I could get acustomed to the
setup and functions.
I recorded to MIDI instrument tracks and one Audio track.
Yesterday I have had everything all working. The audio out
went to the Yamaha mixer and on to amp and speakers.
Cubase was listing the Yamaha mixer in studio i/o options.
Tonight that is not the case. I cannot get the Yamaha mixer to
show up in Cubase for play back even though the Mac sound prefs
have it active, the audio/Midi setup app has it selected and I can
speak into a mic connected to the yamaha and hear the result out
from it.
Has anyone had this problem with Cubase on Mac and have they
been able to reach a resolution?
I have contacted Steinberg and they have not repsonded. I cannot
log into the account I created with them since last time I logged in
and sent a support query. To the support query they sent an auto
response saying I contacted the German site and should contact the
US site. Today I found I was unable to log in to my account making
sure that I used the correct login creds.
Thanks for time, attention, knowledge and guidance

User avatar
parametric
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4398
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 1:00 am
Location.: Near Watford, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Yamaha MG16XU on Mac with Cubase AI

Unread post by parametric »

It's a pain <jekillen> . . . .

See my comment here: viewtopic.php?f=186&t=13742&p=80582#p80582

parametric
Alesis Fusion 8SSD AND 6SSD - BOTH are 384Mb/120Gb SSD/Akai ADVANCE61/Yamaha MOXF6/1024Mb Flash Ram/Yamaha SY85/8.5mb vol/1024k non-vol/DX21/Roland MT32/Bachmann double overstrung Baby Grand Piano/Win10 Pro/Ubuntu MATE 15.0.4/iBook G4/Mac OS 10.4.6/ProTools 7.4/MBox2/M-Audio MicroTrack 24/96

NI Komplete11 Ultimate

Sector101 2x SYEMB06 / 4 x EXM-E3 128MB DRAM Module

BRAND NEW DSDD (720k) FLOPPY DISKS FOR SALE - http://www.yamahaforums.co.uk/forum/vie ... =22&t=9217

Watch out now! take care, BEWARE of the greedy leaders! They'll take you where you should not go - (George Harrison)

IT'S TRUE - "MONEY TALKS" - TO ME, IT MOSTLY SAYS "GOODBYE" ;-)
http://www.chrisnmiller.co.uk/Chris

User avatar
Saul
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12737
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2004 1:00 am
Location.: UK, West Sussex
Contact:

Re: Yamaha MG16XU on Mac with Cubase AI

Unread post by Saul »

Hi jekillen, welcome to the forums :)

Unfortunately the experience you are having is not an uncommon one. It is one of the main reasons I do not use Cubase. The amount of time I spent faffing around with it is something I will never get back and I am talking weeks of emails going back and forth between me and Steinberg with them continually asking me to perform the same tasks on my Mac. I was passed from one person to another and had to explain the whole thing again...and again...and again! :/:

Eventually I just gave up and moved to Logic. Installed, worked, job done!

I would recommend anyone who is going through this nonsense with Steinberg just dump it and go with something that works. We should be spending our time making music not struggling just to get the software running!
Saul
Site Admin
#masks4all

Subscribe To Our YouTube Channel!
Review Yamahamusicians.com on Trustpilot
Sign up to the Newsletter
Follow us on Twitter @YamahaMusicians
Follow Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Tumblr
Dowina Acoustic Guitars: Dowina Cabernet DC
Dowina Chardonnay GAC DS - Dowina Rustica GAC - Dowina Marus - Dowina Puella

Please Note: This site is supported by Amazon Associate advertising links. Any links in my posts may lead to products on the Amazon website. These will not incur any extra cost to you but may help me via the generation of a small commission should you choose to purchase a product.

User avatar
jekillen
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2019 6:38 am

Re: Yamaha MG16XU on Mac with Cubase AI

Unread post by jekillen »

Thank you for your reply, Saul;
I do have an older version of Logic. I will probably move to
a newer version. But I don't know that it will load video and
work with the sound track.

JK

Post Reply