Two small glitches on my Montage 6

Welcome to the new era from the company that brought you the DX and the Motif. Montage sets the next milestone with sophisticated dynamic control, massive sound creation and streamlined workflow.

Moderators: Derek, parametric, Saul

User avatar Spain
EB5AGV
Member
Member
Posts: 256
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 11:02 pm
Contact:

Two small glitches on my Montage 6

Unread post by EB5AGV » Thu Oct 24, 2019 11:49 pm

Hi all,

Life is never perfect... Well, my new (for me) Montage 6 has two problems. First, the rotary encoder loses some steps. It is not too bad but of course not as it should be. Well, as it is out of warranty I will try to clean it and, if that fails, will look for a replacement. That is an small problem.

The second one has me more worried: the touch display repeats very easily the touches on it. I have tried different approaches on how to press, and the result is not good. My Genos in comparison is perfect, if perhaps a bit insensitive, but never repeats touches on it. I have calibrated it but that just modifies the location of the touches, not the sensitivity.

I wonder if this is a usual behaviour or there is a problem on my unit or perhaps it could be modified in some way.

Regards,

Jose
Jose Gavila

Yamaha DX7, TX81Z, DX11, 5x SY77, TG77, SPX990, SY85, A3000, AN1x, EX5, EX5R, EX7, MOTIF RACK XS, Montage 6, DGX660, Genos (and 1992' FJ1200 :mrgreen: )

Akai S5000
Arturia Keylab 61 MkII, Pigments, Analog Lab 4
Casio CT-X5000
Kawai K1, K1-II
Korg M1, Wavestation, X3, Triton Rack, Triton Le 76
Modartt Pianoteq 6 Stage
NI Komplete 12, Maschine Mk3, Komplete Kontrol S61 Mk2
Novation Xio 25
Roland D-50, JV-1080, U-220, XV-3080, Fantom G6
Steinberg Cubase Pro 10, The Grand 3
StudioLogic SL88 Studio
Advertisement
1000 Free EDM Samples
User avatar Spain
EB5AGV
Member
Member
Posts: 256
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 11:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Two small glitches on my Montage 6

Unread post by EB5AGV » Sun Oct 27, 2019 6:55 pm

As I have got no answers to my post (a very uncommon thing on this Forum), I guess my question should be put on another perspective.

I have been doing more tests of the touch panel. And I would like to know, from Montage users, if approaching the finger slowly to the display and touching it softly generates in some cases 'double clicks'. I have seen that touching the panel faster and somewhat harder helps to prevent most of the 'double clicks' but for me it is not the way to use the touch display.

The problem I am facing is lots better explained here:

https://yamahasynth.com/ask-a-question/ ... -de-bounce

Please, if you have some time, take a look and let me know your thoughts.

Thanks!

Jose
Jose Gavila

Yamaha DX7, TX81Z, DX11, 5x SY77, TG77, SPX990, SY85, A3000, AN1x, EX5, EX5R, EX7, MOTIF RACK XS, Montage 6, DGX660, Genos (and 1992' FJ1200 :mrgreen: )

Akai S5000
Arturia Keylab 61 MkII, Pigments, Analog Lab 4
Casio CT-X5000
Kawai K1, K1-II
Korg M1, Wavestation, X3, Triton Rack, Triton Le 76
Modartt Pianoteq 6 Stage
NI Komplete 12, Maschine Mk3, Komplete Kontrol S61 Mk2
Novation Xio 25
Roland D-50, JV-1080, U-220, XV-3080, Fantom G6
Steinberg Cubase Pro 10, The Grand 3
StudioLogic SL88 Studio
User avatar Spain
EB5AGV
Member
Member
Posts: 256
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 11:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Two small glitches on my Montage 6

Unread post by EB5AGV » Tue Oct 29, 2019 12:05 pm

I have gone a step further and have created a new Idea about debouncing by software on YAMAHA Synth Ideascale:

https://yamahasynth.ideascale.com/a/dtd ... 0570-45978

Please, take a look and upvote if you think it is a good idea. It seems the problem could happen on newer units also, so it would be great if YAMAHA adds some code to prevent it.

Jose
Jose Gavila

Yamaha DX7, TX81Z, DX11, 5x SY77, TG77, SPX990, SY85, A3000, AN1x, EX5, EX5R, EX7, MOTIF RACK XS, Montage 6, DGX660, Genos (and 1992' FJ1200 :mrgreen: )

Akai S5000
Arturia Keylab 61 MkII, Pigments, Analog Lab 4
Casio CT-X5000
Kawai K1, K1-II
Korg M1, Wavestation, X3, Triton Rack, Triton Le 76
Modartt Pianoteq 6 Stage
NI Komplete 12, Maschine Mk3, Komplete Kontrol S61 Mk2
Novation Xio 25
Roland D-50, JV-1080, U-220, XV-3080, Fantom G6
Steinberg Cubase Pro 10, The Grand 3
StudioLogic SL88 Studio
User avatar United States of America
Fleer
Member
Member
Posts: 133
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2018 11:12 pm

Re: Two small glitches on my Montage 6

Unread post by Fleer » Sun Nov 03, 2019 2:37 am

I had that rotary knob problem on a brand new MODX6.
User avatar Spain
EB5AGV
Member
Member
Posts: 256
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 11:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Two small glitches on my Montage 6

Unread post by EB5AGV » Sun Nov 03, 2019 10:52 pm

Fleer wrote:
Sun Nov 03, 2019 2:37 am
I had that rotary knob problem on a brand new MODX6.

And which was the solution?. Complete unit replacement?. Encoder replacement?
Jose Gavila

Yamaha DX7, TX81Z, DX11, 5x SY77, TG77, SPX990, SY85, A3000, AN1x, EX5, EX5R, EX7, MOTIF RACK XS, Montage 6, DGX660, Genos (and 1992' FJ1200 :mrgreen: )

Akai S5000
Arturia Keylab 61 MkII, Pigments, Analog Lab 4
Casio CT-X5000
Kawai K1, K1-II
Korg M1, Wavestation, X3, Triton Rack, Triton Le 76
Modartt Pianoteq 6 Stage
NI Komplete 12, Maschine Mk3, Komplete Kontrol S61 Mk2
Novation Xio 25
Roland D-50, JV-1080, U-220, XV-3080, Fantom G6
Steinberg Cubase Pro 10, The Grand 3
StudioLogic SL88 Studio
Post Reply

Return to “Yamaha Montage Forum”