Montage OS 2.5

Welcome to the new era from the company that brought you the DX and the Motif. Montage sets the next milestone with sophisticated dynamic control, massive sound creation and streamlined workflow.

Moderators: Derek, parametric, Saul

User avatar Germany
Stevie18
Product Specialist
Product Specialist
Posts: 236
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2018 4:49 pm

Re: Montage OS 2.5

Unread post by Stevie18 » Tue Oct 02, 2018 9:29 pm

BTW: I like the definition of Jazz :-).
User avatar Wales
Derek
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4742
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:00 am
Contact:

Re: Montage OS 2.5

Unread post by Derek » Tue Oct 02, 2018 10:04 pm

Stevie18 wrote:
Tue Oct 02, 2018 9:23 pm
IAnd to be honest: There are many other things which are not even bugs which are really annoying about the Montage. Like the fact that the incoming MIDI channel is fixed for the 16 parts. That's just so annoying and I guess everyone hopes that it gets fixed at some point.
That is the one for me, which Yamaha have finally posted on Ideascale that they will consider fixing, but no guarantees. It is so dumb as to being beyond belief and limits the Montage’s use in a multi keyboard setup as a Master keyboard . It is the one where Bad Mister says “if you don’t like the way it works, then you don’t understand the Montage”. I get around it by ignoring zone master and just having the Montage TX and RX on CH1. I use Cantabile MIDI mapping to control other keyboards and VSTis, but it will be so much better if they fix it.

If there is one thing in the Montage that really needs fixing,, and if Yamaha were only ever to fix one more thing, then it is this one that has my vote. Oh, that and the fact that there is no way via MIDI (that I am aware of) to programmatically select a specific Live Set. That one really irks me as I can do it with my Kronos, and it is another example where I was told by BM that I do not understand the Montage and I am using Live Sets in the wrong manner....!! It’s important to me, as the heart of my Rig is a PC running Cantabile selecting what is on my keyboards in response to what I select via my FC300 foot pedals (so I can change patches on stage whilst I have both hands on keyboards). On the Kronos, I can change set list via Cantabile. On Montage I still need to remember to manually select the right set list first. One more thing to go wrong in the blind panic of being on stage....

As I said the Montage is on the whole a great product, but it seems to have been put through the same “Yamaha stupid quirks department” that only allowed the EX5 to play two Performance parts from the keyboard - until I discovered you could use a MIDI cable between MIDI OUT and MIDI in to drive all 16 parts from the keyboard!
Regards
Derek Cook

http://www.carregddu.co.uk
http://www.echoes-music.co.uk
http://www.xfactory-librarians.co.uk
http://www.ex5tech.co.uk
User avatar Wales
Derek
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4742
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:00 am
Contact:

Re: Montage OS 2.5

Unread post by Derek » Tue Oct 02, 2018 10:09 pm

Stevie18 wrote:
Tue Oct 02, 2018 9:29 pm
BTW: I like the definition of Jazz :-).
I probably upset a lot of Jazz fans, mind! ;)
Regards
Derek Cook

http://www.carregddu.co.uk
http://www.echoes-music.co.uk
http://www.xfactory-librarians.co.uk
http://www.ex5tech.co.uk
User avatar Germany
Stevie18
Product Specialist
Product Specialist
Posts: 236
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2018 4:49 pm

Re: Montage OS 2.5

Unread post by Stevie18 » Wed Oct 03, 2018 9:07 am

Derek wrote:
Tue Oct 02, 2018 10:09 pm
Stevie18 wrote:
Tue Oct 02, 2018 9:29 pm
BTW: I like the definition of Jazz :-).
I probably upset a lot of Jazz fans, mind! ;)
Well, I am a Jazz fan and it does not upset me. My piano teacher told me "If you are playing a solo and you got some wrong key in, repeat it a couple of times and it will sound like you meant to play it". I am still following that advice :-).
User avatar Germany
Stevie18
Product Specialist
Product Specialist
Posts: 236
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2018 4:49 pm

Re: Montage OS 2.5

Unread post by Stevie18 » Wed Oct 03, 2018 9:11 am

Derek wrote:
Tue Oct 02, 2018 10:04 pm
Stevie18 wrote:
Tue Oct 02, 2018 9:23 pm
And to be honest: There are many other things which are not even bugs which are really annoying about the Montage. Like the fact that the incoming MIDI channel is fixed for the 16 parts. That's just so annoying and I guess everyone hopes that it gets fixed at some point.
That is the one for me, which Yamaha have finally posted on Ideascale that they will consider fixing, but no guarantees.
I was not aware of the answer from Yamaha. I had upvoted it but now I also added a comment. And yes, BM is sometimes very vocal in telling you that you don't understand your instrument. Which is not true for me and many others. I just don't want to spend extra hardware and effort on a problem which can be fixed with a couple of lines of code, I am sure.
User avatar Great Britain
parametric
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3717
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 1:00 am
Contact:

Re: Montage OS 2.5

Unread post by parametric » Wed Oct 03, 2018 1:12 pm

Whilst we would obviously prefer that our"Dream Machines" do ALL that we desire, there is still, much value in

knowing what they Won't do, if only to save us banging our heads against the proverbial Brick Wall - Trying . . . . :lol:

para
Alesis Fusion 8SSD AND 6SSD - BOTH are 384Mb/120Gb SSD/Akai ADVANCE61/Yamaha MOXF6/1024Mb Flash Ram/Yamaha SY85/8.5mb vol/1024k non-vol/DX21/Roland MT32/Bachmann double overstrung Baby Grand Piano/Win10 Pro/Ubuntu MATE 15.0.4/iBook G4/Mac OS 10.4.6/ProTools 7.4/MBox2/M-Audio MicroTrack 24/96

NI Komplete11 Ultimate

Sector101 2x SYEMB06 / 4 x EXM-E3 128MB DRAM Module

BRAND NEW DSDD (720k) FLOPPY DISKS FOR SALE - http://www.yamahaforums.co.uk/forum/vie ... =22&t=9217

Watch out now! take care, BEWARE of the greedy leaders! They'll take you where you should not go - (George Harrison)

IT'S TRUE - "MONEY TALKS" - TO ME, IT MOSTLY SAYS "GOODBYE" ;-)
http://www.chrisnmiller.co.uk/Chris
User avatar Germany
Stevie18
Product Specialist
Product Specialist
Posts: 236
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2018 4:49 pm

Re: Montage OS 2.5

Unread post by Stevie18 » Wed Oct 03, 2018 3:30 pm

Very true :-)! But if you also know that it *could* do it if someone is pushed hard enough, then that's also good...
User avatar Great Britain
parametric
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3717
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 1:00 am
Contact:

Re: Montage OS 2.5

Unread post by parametric » Wed Oct 03, 2018 3:34 pm

Agreed ((i)) (Y)

para
Alesis Fusion 8SSD AND 6SSD - BOTH are 384Mb/120Gb SSD/Akai ADVANCE61/Yamaha MOXF6/1024Mb Flash Ram/Yamaha SY85/8.5mb vol/1024k non-vol/DX21/Roland MT32/Bachmann double overstrung Baby Grand Piano/Win10 Pro/Ubuntu MATE 15.0.4/iBook G4/Mac OS 10.4.6/ProTools 7.4/MBox2/M-Audio MicroTrack 24/96

NI Komplete11 Ultimate

Sector101 2x SYEMB06 / 4 x EXM-E3 128MB DRAM Module

BRAND NEW DSDD (720k) FLOPPY DISKS FOR SALE - http://www.yamahaforums.co.uk/forum/vie ... =22&t=9217

Watch out now! take care, BEWARE of the greedy leaders! They'll take you where you should not go - (George Harrison)

IT'S TRUE - "MONEY TALKS" - TO ME, IT MOSTLY SAYS "GOODBYE" ;-)
http://www.chrisnmiller.co.uk/Chris
User avatar Wales
Derek
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4742
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:00 am
Contact:

Re: Montage OS 2.5

Unread post by Derek » Wed Oct 03, 2018 9:32 pm

Agreed with both of you. :)

I am on the whole quite pleased with the Montage once I stopped wishing for a Kronos competitor and tried it out on the basis of what it was (as opposed to my vision of what it should have been). The Montage is a very good keyboard with its two engines and performance features. So on that count I agree with Chris.

I also agree with Stevie that Yamaha need to be pushed to improve the Montage where it will make it a better instrument once Yamaha listens to its user base telling them that they are hamstringing it with the current MIDI implementation. And I am sure that it should be a relatively trivial code change. I also want them to add in the ability to select a specific Live set via MIDI. Not being able to do that (when you can select a live set page and a live set slot via MIDI) is pretty dumb....
Regards
Derek Cook

http://www.carregddu.co.uk
http://www.echoes-music.co.uk
http://www.xfactory-librarians.co.uk
http://www.ex5tech.co.uk
User avatar Israel
Chummy
Member
Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2018 5:15 pm

Re: Montage OS 2.5

Unread post by Chummy » Wed Nov 14, 2018 10:28 pm

I wonder whether there are more OS or quality of life updates planned for the Montage. Having bought it about 2 weeks ago which is almost 3 years after it came out on the market feels kinda bad if on NAMM 2019 they just release a Montage 2.

Since the Montage is an excellent Hardware I wish they would take the path of Windows 10: just constantly update it/add features whether paid or not while not releasing a product every second year or so and abandoning support for previous products 1 day afterwards, like Roland always does.
User avatar Wales
Derek
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4742
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:00 am
Contact:

Re: Montage OS 2.5

Unread post by Derek » Wed Nov 14, 2018 11:09 pm

It’s only been on the market two years, and I think there are more updates planned....

I get the feeling that Yamaha have designed for longevity given the cost of designing new products. It makes more business sense to develop a platform that will last for a generation that you can keep updating.

I am happy for major updates to be paid for (have said this for Kronos as well). Bug fixes should be free as they are fixing flaws in what you have purchased, but you do not purchase non existent features.
Regards
Derek Cook

http://www.carregddu.co.uk
http://www.echoes-music.co.uk
http://www.xfactory-librarians.co.uk
http://www.ex5tech.co.uk
User avatar Israel
Chummy
Member
Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2018 5:15 pm

Re: Montage OS 2.5

Unread post by Chummy » Sat Nov 24, 2018 1:19 am

I agree with Derek. I don't want to purchase another hardware for more features where I'd much prefer to pay for new features of upgrading software of existing hardware! Montage's hardware is top. I'd love a better screen workflow (maybe they can code it to be have better response and less lag) and otherwise maybe an "AN" virtual analog engine. I'd love more keyboard oriented sounds like new Piano and Rhodes samples, and a few "others" as well: brasses, organs, strings, more "analog" type synth sounds which are DEFINITELY missing on the machine!
User avatar Germany
Stevie18
Product Specialist
Product Specialist
Posts: 236
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2018 4:49 pm

Re: Montage OS 2.5

Unread post by Stevie18 » Sat Nov 24, 2018 10:23 am

Derek wrote:
Wed Nov 14, 2018 11:09 pm
It’s only been on the market two years, and I think there are more updates planned....

I get the feeling that Yamaha have designed for longevity given the cost of designing new products. It makes more business sense to develop a platform that will last for a generation that you can keep updating.

I am happy for major updates to be paid for (have said this for Kronos as well). Bug fixes should be free as they are fixing flaws in what you have purchased, but you do not purchase non existent features.
Totally agree!
Post Reply

Return to “Yamaha Montage Forum”