Sample Robot for Montage

Welcome to the new era from the company that brought you the DX and the Motif. Montage sets the next milestone with sophisticated dynamic control, massive sound creation and streamlined workflow.

Moderators: Derek, parametric, Saul

User avatar
Derek
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 5181
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:00 am
Location.: Wales, UK
Contact:

Sample Robot for Montage

Unread post by Derek »

Hi,

I just learnt about this special version of Sample Robot for Montage, whilst I was thinking about how I might sample some sounds from my EX5 to get them on stage!

So I have just registered and I am downloading. I'll try it out over the weekend.

Sample Robot Montage

I am guessing it will also work fine with the MODX as well.

Of course, sampling an EX5 will not be the same as the real thing, but it should be good enough for live use for some sounds I want in the background under a whole load of other pads.
Regards
Derek Cook

http://www.carregddu.co.uk
http://www.echoes-music.co.uk
http://www.xfactory-librarians.co.uk
http://www.ex5tech.co.uk

User avatar
Saul
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12746
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2004 1:00 am
Location.: UK, West Sussex
Contact:

Re: Sample Robot for Montage

Unread post by Saul »

Will be VERY interested to hear how you get on with SampleRobot Derek. I have the software here somewhere but I could never get on with it. Probably too impatient ;)
Saul
Site Admin
#masks4all

Subscribe To Our YouTube Channel!
Review Yamahamusicians.com on Trustpilot
Sign up to the Newsletter
Follow us on Twitter @YamahaMusicians
Follow Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Tumblr
Dowina Acoustic Guitars: Dowina Cabernet DC
Dowina Chardonnay GAC DS - Dowina Rustica GAC - Dowina Marus - Dowina Puella

Please Note: This site is supported by Amazon Associate advertising links. Any links in my posts may lead to products on the Amazon website. These will not incur any extra cost to you but may help me via the generation of a small commission should you choose to purchase a product.

User avatar
Stevie18
Product Specialist
Product Specialist
Posts: 272
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2018 4:49 pm

Re: Sample Robot for Montage

Unread post by Stevie18 »

I used it to sample some signature sounds from the Integra 7. Worked pretty fine for me. But it seems to have some bug that the libraries it creates cannot be imported to the user area. They will lose their waveforms. And since (at least as for as I understand) there is one performance per library it will eat your library slots pretty fast...

User avatar
Derek
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 5181
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:00 am
Location.: Wales, UK
Contact:

Re: Sample Robot for Montage

Unread post by Derek »

That’s where you need a tool to merge X7L files. I am think that John Melas’s Montage/MODX tools do that, but have not had chance to check them out yet.
Regards
Derek Cook

http://www.carregddu.co.uk
http://www.echoes-music.co.uk
http://www.xfactory-librarians.co.uk
http://www.ex5tech.co.uk

User avatar
Derek
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 5181
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:00 am
Location.: Wales, UK
Contact:

Re: Sample Robot for Montage

Unread post by Derek »

The latest Music Production Guide features an in-depth description of Sample Robot for Montage (free until March 2019)
Regards
Derek Cook

http://www.carregddu.co.uk
http://www.echoes-music.co.uk
http://www.xfactory-librarians.co.uk
http://www.ex5tech.co.uk

User avatar
Artcutech
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2018 5:13 am

Re: Sample Robot for Montage

Unread post by Artcutech »

sorry, not sure if I follow correctly, can you sample into the montage from an external source i.e like vinyl, like with the motif? or are these just certain libraries that can be sampled? I just made my first thread on this forum and it's in regards to getting that great saturation that the motif use to have when sampling

User avatar
Saul
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12746
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2004 1:00 am
Location.: UK, West Sussex
Contact:

Re: Sample Robot for Montage

Unread post by Saul »

Hi Artcutech, welcome to yamahamusicians.com :)

Sample Robot is a standalone piece of software that runs on your computer and which you "sample into" so no direct sampling on Montage or MODX. What it can do is create samples of other keyboards which you can then import into Montage/MODX.
Saul
Site Admin
#masks4all

Subscribe To Our YouTube Channel!
Review Yamahamusicians.com on Trustpilot
Sign up to the Newsletter
Follow us on Twitter @YamahaMusicians
Follow Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Tumblr
Dowina Acoustic Guitars: Dowina Cabernet DC
Dowina Chardonnay GAC DS - Dowina Rustica GAC - Dowina Marus - Dowina Puella

Please Note: This site is supported by Amazon Associate advertising links. Any links in my posts may lead to products on the Amazon website. These will not incur any extra cost to you but may help me via the generation of a small commission should you choose to purchase a product.

User avatar
Artcutech
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2018 5:13 am

Re: Sample Robot for Montage

Unread post by Artcutech »

got it, thanks

User avatar
Derek
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 5181
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:00 am
Location.: Wales, UK
Contact:

Re: Sample Robot for Montage

Unread post by Derek »

The beauty of a tool like SampleRobot (not that I have had the time to try it yet :( ) is that it does all the hard work of sampling for you once you set it up, in terms of key range to sample, key intervals per sample, velocity levels per sample, sample length, etc. So it will sample much more consistently than a human ever could.
Regards
Derek Cook

http://www.carregddu.co.uk
http://www.echoes-music.co.uk
http://www.xfactory-librarians.co.uk
http://www.ex5tech.co.uk

Post Reply