How do i write a edited performance back to the library it came from?

Welcome to the new era from the company that brought you the DX and the Motif. Montage sets the next milestone with sophisticated dynamic control, massive sound creation and streamlined workflow.

Moderators: Derek, parametric, Saul

User avatar United States of America
ATS
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2019 11:11 pm

How do i write a edited performance back to the library it came from?

Unread post by ATS » Tue Mar 05, 2019 12:10 am

Its my first post here, Hi all , happy to be a Montage owner !

I used the FM web converter to convert a bunch of DX patches to a library file .X7L. Loaded no problem on my Montage. the problem is if i edit one of the performances in that lib and save it it goes to my user area. How can i get it back to the DX library i loaded with the edits i made?
User avatar Wales
Derek
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4534
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:00 am
Contact:

Re: How do i write a edited performance back to the library it came from?

Unread post by Derek » Tue Mar 05, 2019 7:37 am

Hi.

To make such edits on the synth you’ll need to rename the library to X7U, load to the user area (save your user contents first!!) make the edits you want, save the library and rename to X7L and load back in.

A bit of a faff I know, but do not know of any other way. Maybe John Melas’s tools allow direct edit of names on you computer
Regards
Derek Cook

http://www.carregddu.co.uk
http://www.echoes-music.co.uk
http://www.xfactory-librarians.co.uk
http://www.ex5tech.co.uk
User avatar Germany
Stevie18
Product Specialist
Product Specialist
Posts: 225
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2018 4:49 pm

Re: How do i write a edited performance back to the library it came from?

Unread post by Stevie18 » Sat Mar 09, 2019 10:20 pm

You can simply import the library to user space without doing the renaming. Then you edit and store again as a library. But you will also save the already existing user performances with the library, unless you delete them before.

With John's Waveform editor you can also freely move performances between libraries and from user space to a library and vice versa. So I tend to do that for reorganizing stuff.
User avatar United States of America
ATS
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2019 11:11 pm

Re: How do i write a edited performance back to the library it came from?

Unread post by ATS » Mon Mar 11, 2019 1:26 pm

Thanks guys.
Post Reply

Return to “Yamaha Montage Forum”