Sampling stuff for the Montage 8

Welcome to the new era from the company that brought you the DX and the Motif. Montage sets the next milestone with sophisticated dynamic control, massive sound creation and streamlined workflow.

Moderators: Derek, parametric, Saul

User avatar Israel
Chummy
Member
Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2018 5:15 pm

Sampling stuff for the Montage 8

Unread post by Chummy » Fri Mar 29, 2019 3:01 pm

So I would like to sample 2 instruments to be used in my YAMAHA Montage 8 and would appreciate if I could get a hint
I heard SampleRobot for Montage edition might be what I'm looking for but I'm not sure

1) my Roland Jupiter 6, I'd like to sample some presets and cutom sounds for 88 keys.
The JP6 has only 1 velocity so that would be super easy, but what if I want to sample 10 strikes for example of each key of a certain sound (since analog VCO produces slight variation in the sound each key press) and have the Montage randomly choose one of those 10 samples whenever a certain key is pressed, is this possible? (My JP6 has Europa MIDI kit so from that regard I'm covered, it's just a matter of how I do that on the Montage)

2) I'd like to sample my parents' Essex by Steinway upright piano in the future. I will probably use a mobile sound recorded (such as a zoom e.g with high fidelity microphone). The problem here is velocity layers, can it actually be done by a human? I *could* sit and play from pianissimo to Fortissimo like 10 key presses but that would be extremely inaccuate across all keys I guess? I heard like people build machines that actually press the keys at a mathematically calculated pressure etc.. is this a task 1 human with no budget like a big company CAN do or is this too far fetched? thanks!
User avatar Wales
Derek
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4742
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:00 am
Contact:

Re: Sampling stuff for the Montage 8

Unread post by Derek » Fri Mar 29, 2019 5:48 pm

Hi,

Definitely Sample Robot would make the job easier for any MIDI equipped item like your Jupiter (nice synth). Not sure about your piano for all the reasons you mention.
Regards
Derek Cook

http://www.carregddu.co.uk
http://www.echoes-music.co.uk
http://www.xfactory-librarians.co.uk
http://www.ex5tech.co.uk
User avatar Great Britain
parametric
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3717
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 1:00 am
Contact:

Re: Sampling stuff for the Montage 8

Unread post by parametric » Sat Mar 30, 2019 3:27 am

Chummy wrote:
Fri Mar 29, 2019 3:01 pm
2) I'd like to sample my parents' Essex by Steinway upright piano in the future. I will probably use a mobile sound recorded (such as a zoom e.g with high fidelity microphone). The problem here is velocity layers, can it actually be done by a human? I *could* sit and play from pianissimo to Fortissimo like 10 key presses but that would be extremely inaccuate across all keys I guess? I heard like people build machines that actually press the keys at a mathematically calculated pressure etc.. is this a task 1 human with no budget like a big company CAN do or is this too far fetched? thanks!
Getting repeatable velocities is the main problem here.

There is also the problem that, even with the best intentions/quality of manufacture etc . . .

The 88 individual hammer actions across the keyboard will not be Physically identical . . .

But without getting impossibly nit-picking, they will, to all intents and purposes - be "Identical enough" in a

"real world" sort of a way.

A "mechanism" which can be attached to the keyboard seems to be the way to go.

It will need to have some kind of variable weighting involved so that the required velocities can be repeatably achieved,

as you proceed across the keybed. (As this is a GRAVITY - BASED System)

An additional annoying factor is that it has to work on the Black keys as well as the White keys (obviously).

Here is ONE approach:





It probably HAS to be made specially for the Piano that is being sampled, as precise dimensions vary between Makes . . .

Also, the problem of providing a RANGE of velocities hasn't been investigated in this example. . . .

possibly a range of different slots in the plunger at different heights - to give different velocities . . . Very Trial-and-error . . .

Perhaps a set of plungers of different weights (however this may be achieved?) might provide a suitable range . . .

Another approach I've heard of, is a smaller device that just does ONE black or white note - and requires moving along

Physically to the next note . . . Strike repeatability would be better (Same mechanism for all notes), but very

labour intensive in use.

Then, you'll just need a QUIET environment to sample in and suitable Mics - A Digital recorder is fine.

The number of velocities you choose will also be significant in deciding the final SIZE of the library . . . .

Intelligent looping can, I believe, reduce file sizes without undue detriment . . . .

Check out this vid on Chick Corea's sampling of his Fender Rhodes V Piano . . . .





Here also is an overview of the general principles . . . .including only sampling every minor-third . . . . . :idea:





So, all in all - a LOT to consider . . . . . :roll:

ATB

parametric
Alesis Fusion 8SSD AND 6SSD - BOTH are 384Mb/120Gb SSD/Akai ADVANCE61/Yamaha MOXF6/1024Mb Flash Ram/Yamaha SY85/8.5mb vol/1024k non-vol/DX21/Roland MT32/Bachmann double overstrung Baby Grand Piano/Win10 Pro/Ubuntu MATE 15.0.4/iBook G4/Mac OS 10.4.6/ProTools 7.4/MBox2/M-Audio MicroTrack 24/96

NI Komplete11 Ultimate

Sector101 2x SYEMB06 / 4 x EXM-E3 128MB DRAM Module

BRAND NEW DSDD (720k) FLOPPY DISKS FOR SALE - http://www.yamahaforums.co.uk/forum/vie ... =22&t=9217

Watch out now! take care, BEWARE of the greedy leaders! They'll take you where you should not go - (George Harrison)

IT'S TRUE - "MONEY TALKS" - TO ME, IT MOSTLY SAYS "GOODBYE" ;-)
http://www.chrisnmiller.co.uk/Chris
Post Reply

Return to “Yamaha Montage Forum”