How to get a dry signal from THR100HD for recording?

Covers entire Yamaha THR range of guitar amps, heads and cabs.

Moderators: Derek, parametric, Buzzard, Saul

User avatar
James de Sousa
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2018 12:15 pm
Portugal

How to get a dry signal from THR100HD for recording?

Unread post by James de Sousa » Sun Oct 28, 2018 6:08 pm

Hi how can I get a dry signal from my THR100HD ?
Can I get a signal out of the effect send straight into the mixer ?
If yes what jacks should I use ?
I will be recording live
That's why I want a dry signal so I can mix reverb after
Thanks
Last edited by James de Sousa on Wed Oct 31, 2018 6:41 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
314159
Member
Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2018 10:33 pm
France

Re: How to get a dry signal from Thr100d for recording?

Unread post by 314159 » Sun Oct 28, 2018 9:41 pm

Hi James,

I think it is possible to get the dry signal. One year ago I played with the Ardour DAW software, and I clearly remember it was possible to record either the dry either the wet signal. But I don't remember how I did that... I have not used this software since...

Vincent
User avatar
James de Sousa
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2018 12:15 pm
Portugal

Re: How to get a dry signal from Thr100d for recording?

Unread post by James de Sousa » Mon Oct 29, 2018 12:06 pm

314159 wrote:
Sun Oct 28, 2018 9:41 pm
Hi James,

I think it is possible to get the dry signal. One year ago I played with the Ardour DAW software, and I clearly remember it was possible to record either the dry either the wet signal. But I don't remember how I did that... I have not used this software since...

Vincent
Hi Vince
I meant to say the THR100HD
Thanks anyway
Last edited by James de Sousa on Wed Oct 31, 2018 6:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Buzzard
Specialist Moderator
Specialist Moderator
Posts: 2423
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 7:38 pm
Contact:
Denmark

Re: How to get a dry signal from THR100D for recording?

Unread post by Buzzard » Mon Oct 29, 2018 8:16 pm

James de Sousa wrote:
Sun Oct 28, 2018 6:08 pm
Hi how can I get a dry signal from my THR100D ?
Can I get a signal out of the effect send straight into the mixer ?
If yes what jacks should I use ?
I will be recording live
That's why I want a dry signal so I can mix reverb after
Thanks
:?: Is it a THR-100H , or a THR-100HD :?:
Yamaholic, Guitars, Amps and Bikes. :idea: My Guitars: http://www.yamahamusicians.com/forum/vi ... =24&t=7004 :idea:
User avatar
James de Sousa
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2018 12:15 pm
Portugal

Re: How to get a dry signal from THR100D for recording?

Unread post by James de Sousa » Tue Oct 30, 2018 1:13 pm

Buzzard wrote:
Mon Oct 29, 2018 8:16 pm
James de Sousa wrote:
Sun Oct 28, 2018 6:08 pm
Hi how can I get a dry signal from my THR100D ?
Can I get a signal out of the effect send straight into the mixer ?
If yes what jacks should I use ?
I will be recording live
That's why I want a dry signal so I can mix reverb after
Thanks
:?: Is it a THR-100H , or a THR-100HD :?:
Hi , its the THR100D
User avatar
Buzzard
Specialist Moderator
Specialist Moderator
Posts: 2423
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 7:38 pm
Contact:
Denmark

Re: How to get a dry signal from THR100D for recording?

Unread post by Buzzard » Tue Oct 30, 2018 5:45 pm

James de Sousa wrote:
Tue Oct 30, 2018 1:13 pm
Buzzard wrote:
Mon Oct 29, 2018 8:16 pm
James de Sousa wrote:
Sun Oct 28, 2018 6:08 pm
Hi how can I get a dry signal from my THR100D ?
Can I get a signal out of the effect send straight into the mixer ?
If yes what jacks should I use ?
I will be recording live
That's why I want a dry signal so I can mix reverb after
Thanks
:?: Is it a THR-100H , or a THR-100HD :?:
Hi , its the THR100D
James, my good man, unless you can prove me wrong, there's no such thing as a Yamaha THR-100D :?

The single amp is a THR-100H , and the double THR-100HD , check the manual.


Regards
Peter
Yamaholic, Guitars, Amps and Bikes. :idea: My Guitars: http://www.yamahamusicians.com/forum/vi ... =24&t=7004 :idea:
User avatar
James de Sousa
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2018 12:15 pm
Portugal

Re: How to get a dry signal from THR100D for recording?

Unread post by James de Sousa » Wed Oct 31, 2018 6:47 pm

Buzzard wrote:
Tue Oct 30, 2018 5:45 pm
James de Sousa wrote:
Tue Oct 30, 2018 1:13 pm
Buzzard wrote:
Mon Oct 29, 2018 8:16 pm


:?: Is it a THR-100H , or a THR-100HD :?:
Hi , its the THR100D
James, my good man, unless you can prove me wrong, there's no such thing as a Yamaha THR-100D :?

The single amp is a THR-100H , and the double THR-100HD , check the manual.


http___download.yamaha.com_api_asset_file__language=en&site=ca.yamaha.pdf


Regards
Peter
Sorry it's a THR100HD
User avatar
James de Sousa
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2018 12:15 pm
Portugal

Re: How to get a dry signal from THR100D for recording?

Unread post by James de Sousa » Wed Oct 31, 2018 6:50 pm

James de Sousa wrote:
Wed Oct 31, 2018 6:47 pm
Buzzard wrote:
Tue Oct 30, 2018 5:45 pm
James de Sousa wrote:
Tue Oct 30, 2018 1:13 pm


Hi , its the THR100HD
James, my good man, unless you can prove me wrong, there's no such thing as a Yamaha THR-100D :?

The single amp is a THR-100H , and the double THR-100HD , check the manual.


http___download.yamaha.com_api_asset_file__language=en&site=ca.yamaha.pdf


Regards
Peter
Sorry it's a THR100HD
If I send a line out of the effects send out with a mono jack into my desk , I should get a dry signal for recording yes ?
User avatar
Buzzard
Specialist Moderator
Specialist Moderator
Posts: 2423
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 7:38 pm
Contact:
Denmark

Re: How to get a dry signal from THR100HD for recording?

Unread post by Buzzard » Wed Oct 31, 2018 7:02 pm

The simple solution is to use a Boss LS-2 line selector pedal.

It will split your guitar signal to either your THR amp or dry signal to a mixer, OR BOTH.

Boss-LS-2-Line-Selector.jpg
Boss-LS-2-Line-Selector.jpg (20.45 KiB) Viewed 732 times

Boss LS-2 Line Selector

The LS-2 is all about connections.
It’s got two connection loops and 6 modes and can be used to connect and route the input and output signal in many different ways.
Like the NS-2 and TU-2, it can also be used with a daisy chain to distribute power to several other pedals.

Looping modes
•A<->B: Alternate between the two effect loops
•A<->Bypass: Effect loop A or bypass
•B<->Bypass: Effect loop B or bypass
•A->B->Bypass: Switch between loop A, loop B or bypass
•A+B Mix->Bypass: Switch between both loops in series or bypass
•Output Select: Input is alternately connected to Send A, Send B or Output

Specifications
•Controls: Level (A, B), 6-way Mode selector
•Connectors: Input, Output, AC Adaptor (In, Out), Send (A, B), Return (A, B)
•Current Draw: 25 mA (DC 9V)
•Weight: 410 g (15 oz.)
•Recommended AC Adaptor: PSA Series


Regards
Peter
Yamaholic, Guitars, Amps and Bikes. :idea: My Guitars: http://www.yamahamusicians.com/forum/vi ... =24&t=7004 :idea:
User avatar
James de Sousa
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2018 12:15 pm
Portugal

Re: How to get a dry signal from THR100HD for recording?

Unread post by James de Sousa » Fri Nov 02, 2018 4:45 pm

Buzzard wrote:
Wed Oct 31, 2018 7:02 pm
The simple solution is to use a Boss LS-2 line selector pedal.

It will split your guitar signal to either your THR amp or dry signal to a mixer, OR BOTH.


Boss-LS-2-Line-Selector.jpg


Boss LS-2 Line Selector

The LS-2 is all about connections.
It’s got two connection loops and 6 modes and can be used to connect and route the input and output signal in many different ways.
Like the NS-2 and TU-2, it can also be used with a daisy chain to distribute power to several other pedals.

Looping modes
•A<->B: Alternate between the two effect loops
•A<->Bypass: Effect loop A or bypass
•B<->Bypass: Effect loop B or bypass
•A->B->Bypass: Switch between loop A, loop B or bypass
•A+B Mix->Bypass: Switch between both loops in series or bypass
•Output Select: Input is alternately connected to Send A, Send B or Output

Specifications
•Controls: Level (A, B), 6-way Mode selector
•Connectors: Input, Output, AC Adaptor (In, Out), Send (A, B), Return (A, B)
•Current Draw: 25 mA (DC 9V)
•Weight: 410 g (15 oz.)
•Recommended AC Adaptor: PSA Series


Regards
Peter
Hi Peter
I don't really want to split my signal
I just want to know if I take a line out with a mono jack out of the effects send , will I get the sound I have on stage minus the reverb that I am using at the time .
I want to record the amp sound ( Sounds ) minus the reverb.
User avatar
Buzzard
Specialist Moderator
Specialist Moderator
Posts: 2423
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 7:38 pm
Contact:
Denmark

Re: How to get a dry signal from THR100HD for recording?

Unread post by Buzzard » Mon Nov 05, 2018 6:16 pm

Ok James, you want the guitar signal WITH amp simulation but without the reverb ?

When you asked for a DRY signal, I thought you wanted the dry/clean guitar signal as it is before entering the amp.

Using your amps "effects send" should work, give it a try.

Regards
Peter
Yamaholic, Guitars, Amps and Bikes. :idea: My Guitars: http://www.yamahamusicians.com/forum/vi ... =24&t=7004 :idea:
Post Reply

Return to “Yamaha THR Forum”