THR Editor not working

Covers entire Yamaha THR range of guitar amps, heads and cabs.

Moderators: Derek, parametric, Buzzard, Saul

User avatar Slovenia
Jackie
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2018 9:38 pm

THR Editor not working

Unread post by Jackie » Sun Dec 16, 2018 9:41 pm

My THR Editor is simply not running. When I double-click the icon, right-click "Run/Run as admin", open from taskbar, nothing happens. Amp works fine, Windows recognizes it as THR10, works fine in Reaper.

I'm running Windows 10 Pro. I uninstalled then reinstalled the proper drivers (latest version) and editor and reset the PC after each action, nothing helps.

I suspect it has something to do with the Windows update 1809, but I'm not rolling that back because of other software.
France
314159
Member
Member
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2018 10:33 pm

Re: THR Editor not working

Unread post by 314159 » Tue Dec 18, 2018 7:09 pm

Hi Jackie,
I do not have Windows 10. Is there not some options to run old apps compatible with Windows 7 or Windows XP ?
User avatar Great Britain
parametric
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3490
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 1:00 am
Contact:

Re: THR Editor not working

Unread post by parametric » Wed Dec 19, 2018 4:33 am

IIRC, Win7 and XP . . . . .if you right-click on the program icon, there is a <run in compatibility mode> option

which used to lead to a dropdown with a LIST of earlier Windows versions . . .so you could try them one by one . . .

In Windows 10 - Microsoft have done it's "Nanny State" thing and replaced it with a

<troubleshoot compatibility> option.

This removes your control over what to try - and if the troubleshooter CAN'T figure it out - You're Stuffed . . . . :x

parametric
Alesis Fusion 8SSD AND 6SSD - BOTH are 384Mb/120Gb SSD/Akai ADVANCE61/Yamaha MOXF6/1024Mb Flash Ram/Yamaha SY85/8.5mb vol/1024k non-vol/DX21/Roland MT32/Bachmann double overstrung Baby Grand Piano/Win10 Pro/Ubuntu MATE 15.0.4/iBook G4/Mac OS 10.4.6/ProTools 7.4/MBox2/M-Audio MicroTrack 24/96

NI Komplete11 Ultimate

Sector101 2x SYEMB06 / 4 x EXM-E3 128MB DRAM Module

BRAND NEW DSDD (720k) FLOPPY DISKS FOR SALE - http://www.yamahaforums.co.uk/forum/vie ... =22&t=9217

Watch out now! take care, BEWARE of the greedy leaders! They'll take you where you should not go - (George Harrison)

IT'S TRUE - "MONEY TALKS" - TO ME, IT MOSTLY SAYS "GOODBYE" ;-)
http://www.chrisnmiller.co.uk/Chris
User avatar Slovenia
Jackie
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2018 9:38 pm

Re: THR Editor not working

Unread post by Jackie » Fri Dec 21, 2018 6:59 pm

Thanks for the replies folks, I think the Pro version of Win10 still has compatibility mode, so I'll try that and see what happens.
User avatar Slovenia
Jackie
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2018 9:38 pm

Re: THR Editor not working

Unread post by Jackie » Fri Dec 21, 2018 7:07 pm

Right, so I tried launching the compatibility troubleshooter and it recommended Win7 compatibility mode. Didn't work. So I tried right-clicking the app in Program Files, selected every single Windows version from the Compatibility drop-down menu, still nothing.

What weirds me out is that the process doesn't even appear in the Task Manager. Also, in the Program Files install folder, there are no files, just some library files and the shortcut. Could someone check their install folder for the THR editor and see if there are any files? I'll try adding an exception in Windows Defender, maybe it thinks it's a virus and deletes any install files the installer makes.
France
314159
Member
Member
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2018 10:33 pm

Re: THR Editor not working

Unread post by 314159 » Sun Dec 23, 2018 11:28 am

Jackie wrote:
Fri Dec 21, 2018 7:07 pm
I'll try adding an exception in Windows Defender, maybe it thinks it's a virus and deletes any install files the installer makes.
Hi Jackie,

it could be a good idea to try launching the THR Editor after having stopped every Antivirus and security softwares (especially the firewall...) that could prevent the Editor to communicate with the amp. Of course, if you try that, you should momentarily disconnect physically your PC from the internet...

It could be related to the following post:
viewtopic.php?f=135&t=11589&p=71295&hil ... rus#p71295
France
314159
Member
Member
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2018 10:33 pm

Re: THR Editor not working

Unread post by 314159 » Sun Dec 23, 2018 11:33 am

Another solution would be to install the THR Editor in a Linux system, using the Wine emulator. That is how I use it, so I can help you, but it is another adventure if you are not familiar with Linux...
User avatar Slovenia
Jackie
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2018 9:38 pm

Re: THR Editor not working

Unread post by Jackie » Sun Mar 17, 2019 2:22 am

I tried again after looking at the thread someone above posted. Works now! It was Windows's antivirus software.

1) I disconnected my PC from the internet
2) I disabled firewall
3) I disabled Windows Defender real-time protection
4) Installed THR Editor again
5) Works!

Thanks a lot guys!
User avatar Ireland
Saul
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11179
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2004 1:00 am
Contact:

Re: THR Editor not working

Unread post by Saul » Sun Mar 17, 2019 11:25 am

Glad to hear you got this sorted Jackie and also that a suggestion from 314159 helped:)

Not sure who to blame here. Yamaha or Microsoft. Obviously lack of communication between the two. There is no way defender should be flagging the THR editor as malware. I guess it is deleting some files on install but it SHOULD ask you if you want to run the program or not.

Will run this by Yamaha and see what they say because I am sure you are not the only one experiencing this problem.
Saul
Site Admin
Subscribe To Our YouTube Channel!
Review Yamahamusicians.com on Trustpilot
Sign up to the Newsletter
Follow us on Twitter @YamahaMusicians
Follow Us On Facebook
Dowina Acoustic Guitars: Dowina Cabernet DC
Dowina Chardonnay GAC DS - Dowina Rustica GAC - Dowina Marus - Dowina Puella

Yamaha FS-TA/Vintage VE2000GG Gordon Giltrap/Ibanez AE245/Arturia Keylab 61 MKII/Arturia Analog Lab 3/Arturia Piano V2/Pianoteq 6 Pro/Apple iMac 27"/Logic Pro X/Ableton Live 10/Behringer QX1202USB Mixer/Presonus Eris 4.5 Active Monitors
France
314159
Member
Member
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2018 10:33 pm

Re: THR Editor not working

Unread post by 314159 » Sun Mar 17, 2019 12:34 pm

Hi Saul,
I suggest that an administrator change the title of this post with a more explicit title referring to WIndows and antivirus software or that we create a new post with an explicit title. The problem seems to be recurrent and it could help new forum members to find the information... and play :music-guitarred:

And yes, there is probably a lack of communication between Yamaha and software editors :/: From a technical point of view it is very easy to detect the THR10. Each USB device in the world has an ID. Under Linux, it's very easy to find that ID:

Code: Select all

$ lsusb
...
Bus 001 Device 004: ID 0499:1507 Yamaha Corp. 
...
The first four hexadecimal digits are the vendor: 0499 is Yamaha. The last four digits identify the device: 1507 is the THR10, 150C is the THR10C...
:techie-hiding:
User avatar Ireland
Saul
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11179
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2004 1:00 am
Contact:

Re: THR Editor not working

Unread post by Saul » Sun Mar 17, 2019 12:56 pm

Doesn't really need a thread title change because if you Google any of the following terms

"THR Editor Windows 10 Antivirus" we are second only to Yamaha themselves.
"THR Editor Windows 10" we are second to Yamaha.
"THR Editor Not working" we are third.
"THR Editor Antivirus" again we are second to Yamaha.

So any number of combinations will normally bring people to this thread.

However if people want to start a new thread specifically dealing with the THR editor and problems with antivirus software I think that would be a pretty good idea :)
Saul
Site Admin
Subscribe To Our YouTube Channel!
Review Yamahamusicians.com on Trustpilot
Sign up to the Newsletter
Follow us on Twitter @YamahaMusicians
Follow Us On Facebook
Dowina Acoustic Guitars: Dowina Cabernet DC
Dowina Chardonnay GAC DS - Dowina Rustica GAC - Dowina Marus - Dowina Puella

Yamaha FS-TA/Vintage VE2000GG Gordon Giltrap/Ibanez AE245/Arturia Keylab 61 MKII/Arturia Analog Lab 3/Arturia Piano V2/Pianoteq 6 Pro/Apple iMac 27"/Logic Pro X/Ableton Live 10/Behringer QX1202USB Mixer/Presonus Eris 4.5 Active Monitors
Post Reply

Return to “Yamaha THR Forum”