Using the THR10 under Linux

Covers entire Yamaha THR range of guitar amps, heads and cabs.

Moderators: Buzzard, parametric, Derek, Saul

User avatar France
314159
Member
Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2018 10:33 pm

Using the THR10 under Linux

Unread post by 314159 » Fri Jan 04, 2019 5:55 pm

thr10-linux.jpg

The THR10 is recognized by Linux both as USB device and as an external soundcard. There is no version of the THR Editor for Linux, but I will show you in this post how to install the Windows version using the Wine emulator. The examples in this post were made with a Kubuntu 18.10 64 bits distribution.

0) Plug your THR using the USB cable.
1) Install Wine using your package software (or use the command: sudo apt install wine)
2) Download the THR Editor V1.1.0 for Windows on https://usa.yamaha.com/support/updates/57648_en.html
3) Extract the files from the archive with the command:

Code: Select all

$ unzip THR_Editor_V110_Win.zip
Archive:  THR_Editor_V110_Win.zip
  inflating: THR_Editor_V110_Win/Install_Guide_en.pdf  
  inflating: THR_Editor_V110_Win/Install_Guide_jp.pdf  
  inflating: THR_Editor_V110_Win/Presets/THR10C.YDL  
  inflating: THR_Editor_V110_Win/Presets/THR10X.YDL  
  inflating: THR_Editor_V110_Win/Presets/THR5A.YDL  
  inflating: THR_Editor_V110_Win/Presets/THR5_10.YDL  
  inflating: THR_Editor_V110_Win/THR_EditorSetup.msi  
4) Go into the created directory:

Code: Select all

$ cd THR_Editor_V110_Win
5) Install the THR Editor under Wine:

Code: Select all

$ msiexec /i THR_EditorSetup.msi
003d:err:menubuilder:convert_to_native_icon error 0x80004005 getting frame 3
003d:err:menubuilder:convert_to_native_icon error 0x88982F04 committing encoder
003f:err:menubuilder:convert_to_native_icon error 0x80004005 getting frame 3
003f:err:menubuilder:convert_to_native_icon error 0x88982F04 committing encoder
/tmp/THR_Editor_V110_Win$ 003f:err:menubuilder:convert_to_native_icon error 0x80004005 getting frame 3
003f:err:menubuilder:convert_to_native_icon error 0x88982F04 committing encoder
003f:err:menubuilder:InvokeShellLinker failed to extract icon from L"C:\\windows\\Installer\\{ECC6D4D5-EBD7-4117-BBA1-B76D93DD2A76}\\_8CD22ED9F731E9CA8249AF.exe"
003d:err:menubuilder:convert_to_native_icon error 0x80004005 getting frame 3
003d:err:menubuilder:convert_to_native_icon error 0x88982F04 committing encoder
003d:err:menubuilder:InvokeShellLinker failed to extract icon from L"C:\\windows\\Installer\\{ECC6D4D5-EBD7-4117-BBA1-B76D93DD2A76}\\_9A904B432E9D8595BB52F2.exe"
Don't worry with those errors due to some unfound icons.
5) Click on the THR Editor icon on your Desktop. Some seconds later the software should run perfectly !
6) Go into "Edit > Preferences...", and in DATA IN and DATA OUT fields, choose THR10 - THR10 MIDI 1 and validate.
7) Play guitar ! :music-guitarred:

I am using the THR Editor under Linux for two years, without any problem. I can help you if you encounter some difficulties.
Vincent <->
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar Russia
JD72
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2018 4:07 am

Re: Using the THR10 under Linux

Unread post by JD72 » Mon Feb 11, 2019 11:47 pm

Hi! I'm on Arch Linux. THR10C's in and out work good but THR editor can't see any MIDI devices.
Please give me advice, what should I check in my system trying to solve the problem?
User avatar France
314159
Member
Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2018 10:33 pm

Re: Using the THR10 under Linux

Unread post by 314159 » Tue Feb 12, 2019 10:06 am

Welcome JD72,

first, use the lsusb command to see if the THR10 is detected by your Linux:

Code: Select all

$ lsusb
...
Bus 001 Device 004: ID 0499:1507 Yamaha Corp. 
...
Note that these values are for the THR10, not THR10C (I have found 0499:150c on another site).

Then to know if it is recognized as a MIDI device:

Code: Select all

$ amidi -l
Dir Device Name
IO hw:1,0,0 THR10 MIDI 1
Under Ubuntu, the amidi command is in the alsa-utils package.
User avatar Russia
JD72
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2018 4:07 am

Re: Using the THR10 under Linux

Unread post by JD72 » Tue Feb 12, 2019 1:25 pm

Code: Select all

$ lsusb
...
Bus 002 Device 017: ID 0499:150c Yamaha Corp.
...

Code: Select all

amidi -l
Dir Device    Name
...
IO  hw:3,0,0  THR10C MIDI 1
User avatar France
314159
Member
Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2018 10:33 pm

Re: Using the THR10 under Linux

Unread post by 314159 » Tue Feb 12, 2019 7:20 pm

OK, so it is recognized by your Kernel. If you type the following command and turn the knobs of the THR10C, you should see the MIDI SysEx (System-Exclusive messages) sent by the amp:

Code: Select all

$ amidi -p hw:3,0,0 -d

F0 43 7D 60 44 54 41 31 F7
F0 43 7D 60 44 54 41 31 F7
F0 43 7D 60 44 54 41 31 F7
F0 43 7D 10 41 30 01 01 00 1C F7
F0 43 7D 10 41 30 01 01 00 1D F7
F0 43 7D 10 41 30 01 01 00 1E F7
F0 43 7D 10 41 30 01 01 00 1F F7
[...]
When you go into "Edit > Preferences..." in the THR Editor software, you don't see "THR10 - THR10 MIDI 1" in the DATA IN and DATA OUT fields ? And so probably the icon in the bottom right says "Disconnected" ?

Perhaps a Wine issue ? On my PC I use wine-development (version 3.18) to launch the Editor:

Code: Select all

$ wine-development "THR Editor.exe"
User avatar Russia
JD72
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2018 4:07 am

Re: Using the THR10 under Linux

Unread post by JD72 » Tue Feb 12, 2019 8:17 pm

314159 wrote:
Tue Feb 12, 2019 7:20 pm
When you go into "Edit > Preferences..." in the THR Editor software, you don't see "THR10 - THR10 MIDI 1" in the DATA IN and DATA OUT fields ? And so probably the icon in the bottom right says "Disconnected" ?
Exactly that.
I have Wine 4.1-1 installed. I think there is some system restrictions and I don't have any idea how to reveal them yet.

Code: Select all

$ ls -l ~/.wine/dosdevices/
total 0
lrwxrwxrwx 1 john_doe john_doe 10 Nov  2  2017 c: -> ../drive_c
lrwxrwxrwx 1 john_doe john_doe 10 Feb 12 01:11 com1 -> /dev/ttyS0
lrwxrwxrwx 1 john_doe john_doe 10 Feb 12 01:11 com2 -> /dev/ttyS1
lrwxrwxrwx 1 john_doe john_doe 10 Feb 12 01:11 com3 -> /dev/ttyS2
lrwxrwxrwx 1 john_doe john_doe 10 Feb 12 01:11 com4 -> /dev/ttyS3
lrwxrwxrwx 1 john_doe john_doe 13 Feb  9 03:42 d: -> ...
...
User avatar France
314159
Member
Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2018 10:33 pm

Re: Using the THR10 under Linux

Unread post by 314159 » Tue Feb 12, 2019 9:23 pm

Yes, probably a problem of rights. I don't know how Wine is accessing USB devices. Note that in ~/.wine/dosdevices/ I see the same kind of things as you, I don't see anything named *USB*.

Perhaps you should have a look here:
https://forum.winehq.org/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=27320
https://forum.winehq.org/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=29627
https://wiki.winehq.org/Wine_User%27s_G ... llel_Ports
User avatar Russia
JD72
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2018 4:07 am

Re: Using the THR10 under Linux

Unread post by JD72 » Thu Feb 21, 2019 11:36 pm

JD72 wrote:
Mon Feb 11, 2019 11:47 pm
THR10C's in and out work good but THR editor can't see any MIDI devices.
The problem has been solved by installing lib32-libpulse package.
User avatar France
314159
Member
Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2018 10:33 pm

Re: Using the THR10 under Linux

Unread post by 314159 » Fri Feb 22, 2019 10:11 am

JD72 wrote:
Thu Feb 21, 2019 11:36 pm
The problem has been solved by installing lib32-libpulse package.
Fine ! Enjoy your THR10C under Linux ! :music-guitarred:
User avatar Aruba
joejoe2
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2019 3:18 am

Re: Using the THR10 under Linux

Unread post by joejoe2 » Sat Feb 23, 2019 4:32 am

Hey, thanks for this.

I just got the THR editor going on my linux box! Now I can really tweak my THR10C. This is great b/c I can play at night and use the editor interface on the computer instead of the knobs, which you can't see.

One note:

If you get this error: "bash: msiexec: command not found"

Then put "wine" in front of the command like this: wine msiexec /i THR_EditorSetup.msi

thanks again!

Joejoe
User avatar France
314159
Member
Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2018 10:33 pm

Re: Using the THR10 under Linux

Unread post by 314159 » Sat Feb 23, 2019 9:56 am

Welcome Joejoe,

I am happy to see that my post is useful ! Now, I know I am not the only linuxian with a guitar and a THR10 !
Be careful playing in the dark ! :confusion-seeingstars:
User avatar Aruba
joejoe2
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2019 3:18 am

Re: Using the THR10 under Linux

Unread post by joejoe2 » Sun Feb 24, 2019 6:46 am

Vincent,

the THR editor works great, *but* I can't read or write the YDL files. If I try to save a preset I get an error "Failed to write library file."

Any ideas?

Thanks,

joejoe
User avatar France
314159
Member
Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2018 10:33 pm

Re: Using the THR10 under Linux

Unread post by 314159 » Sun Feb 24, 2019 10:16 am

joejoe2 wrote:
Sun Feb 24, 2019 6:46 am
the THR editor works great, *but* I can't read or write the YDL files. If I try to save a preset I get an error "Failed to write library file."
Any ideas?
Hi Joejoe,
and if you try to "File>Save As..." in another directory ?
User avatar Aruba
joejoe2
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2019 3:18 am

Re: Using the THR10 under Linux

Unread post by joejoe2 » Mon Feb 25, 2019 12:16 am

same thing: Failed to write. I can't load a file either. The app can't write or read from the computer.
User avatar France
314159
Member
Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2018 10:33 pm

Re: Using the THR10 under Linux

Unread post by 314159 » Mon Feb 25, 2019 9:35 pm

joejoe2 wrote:
Mon Feb 25, 2019 12:16 am
same thing: Failed to write. I can't load a file either. The app can't write or read from the computer.
What is your distribution ? Which version of wine do you use ?

Code: Select all

wine --version
If you use the stable version (wine), you can try to install the wine-development version. Do you see other warnings if you launch the THR Editor in a terminal:

Code: Select all

$ wine-development "THR Editor.exe"
Have you installed the THR Editor as a normal user ?
Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Yamaha THR Forum”