Plugging a microphone into the THR

Covers entire Yamaha THR range of guitar amps, heads and cabs.

Moderators: Derek, parametric, Buzzard, Saul

Krugg
Member
Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue May 31, 2016 8:13 pm

Plugging a microphone into the THR

Unread post by Krugg » Sun Jul 10, 2016 7:04 am

Hello guys.


Being plugged into the THR10 on the Flat setting, how would a condenser like the AT2020 sound? Would it sound proper--like it's supposed to?

What about a dynamic mic?


Cheers.
User avatar
Buzzard
Specialist Moderator
Specialist Moderator
Posts: 2421
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 7:38 pm
Contact:
Denmark

Re: Plugging a microphone into the THR

Unread post by Buzzard » Sun Jul 10, 2016 10:07 am

Hi Krugg.

Since the THR-10 is basically a compact hifi soundsystem with guitar amp emulation and effects,
I see no problem plugging in a microphone running the flat amp, as long as the signal (volume) from the mic is compatible.

You can use the THR-10 as a mini microphone/PA system, but limited by it's 5+5 watt output.

If the signal from the mic is too weak, you can boost the signal with a mixer/booster.

:idea: An Equalizer pedal will serve as a nice microphone booster too. :idea:

:idea: Using some of the onboard effects in the THR-10 , can enhance human voices too. :idea:

Regards
Peter
Yamaholic, Guitars, Amps and Bikes. :idea: My Guitars: http://www.yamahamusicians.com/forum/vi ... =24&t=7004 :idea:
User avatar
jenks80085
Member
Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 7:34 am

Re: Plugging a microphone into the THR

Unread post by jenks80085 » Mon Jul 11, 2016 4:14 pm

What do you mean by 'proper'? Are you thinking of miking an amp up or something and want to use the THR as a kind or mic pre?
Krugg
Member
Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue May 31, 2016 8:13 pm

Re: Plugging a microphone into the THR

Unread post by Krugg » Wed Jul 27, 2016 5:08 pm

Hello Buzz, jenks.


Plugged a 57 into it and, on the Flat setting, I can barely hear myself talk into the mic unless I put the mic right next to my mouth (even with Gain and Master at max), and there was a very good amount of white noise no matter what setting any knobs where on. Piercing feedback.

I was hoping to use the THR as a PC interface but at this point I'll just get a USB condenser.


Thanks all.
User avatar
Buzzard
Specialist Moderator
Specialist Moderator
Posts: 2421
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 7:38 pm
Contact:
Denmark

Re: Plugging a microphone into the THR

Unread post by Buzzard » Wed Jul 27, 2016 7:10 pm

Krugg wrote:Hello Buzz, jenks.


Plugged a 57 into it and, on the Flat setting, I can barely hear myself talk into the mic unless I put the mic right next to my mouth (even with Gain and Master at max), and there was a very good amount of white noise no matter what setting any knobs where on. Piercing feedback.

I was hoping to use the THR as a PC interface but at this point I'll just get a USB condenser.


Thanks all.
As mentioned in my post above: If the signal from the mic is too weak, you can boost the signal with a mixer/booster.

The THR input is set for guitar/bass signal, but can be boosted to work for a microphone as well.
If you want to use the AUX input for a microphone or an instrument, the signal needs boosting even more.

Regards
Peter
Yamaholic, Guitars, Amps and Bikes. :idea: My Guitars: http://www.yamahamusicians.com/forum/vi ... =24&t=7004 :idea:
User avatar
jenks80085
Member
Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 7:34 am

Re: Plugging a microphone into the THR

Unread post by jenks80085 » Thu Jul 28, 2016 11:00 am

I used my old (yellow) THR10 with a microphone a few times when recording some tunes - I never had any issues but to be 100% I can't remember if I was using a tube mic pre prior to the THR or not (if I was that would explain why I had no issue)
User avatar
jenks80085
Member
Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 7:34 am

Re: Plugging a microphone into the THR

Unread post by jenks80085 » Thu Jul 28, 2016 11:01 am

I'm in the middle of a house move at the moment but once I've moved I'll dig a mic out and see if my THR10X handles a direct mic to the input ok...
User avatar
jenks80085
Member
Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 7:34 am

Re: Plugging a microphone into the THR

Unread post by jenks80085 » Thu Jul 28, 2016 3:14 pm

Actually whilst packing up I found a behringer mic and plugged it straight into the THR10X on flat setting - it sounded perfectly 'normal'' and as I would have expected (no white noise). That was just from the speakers, not into a DAW via the DI.
Krugg
Member
Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue May 31, 2016 8:13 pm

Re: Plugging a microphone into the THR

Unread post by Krugg » Mon Aug 01, 2016 1:29 pm

Buzzard wrote:
Krugg wrote:Hello Buzz, jenks.


Plugged a 57 into it and, on the Flat setting, I can barely hear myself talk into the mic unless I put the mic right next to my mouth (even with Gain and Master at max), and there was a very good amount of white noise no matter what setting any knobs where on. Piercing feedback.

I was hoping to use the THR as a PC interface but at this point I'll just get a USB condenser.


Thanks all.
As mentioned in my post above: If the signal from the mic is too weak, you can boost the signal with a mixer/booster.

The THR input is set for guitar/bass signal, but can be boosted to work for a microphone as well.
If you want to use the AUX input for a microphone or an instrument, the signal needs boosting even more.

Regards
Peter

Like this http://www.musiciansfriend.com/pro-audi ... mic-preamp ?


If I would need something more expensive, I'm wondering if it wouldn't be better to simply get a new interface.

By the way... I was using an unbalanced XLR-6.3 mm cable. I wonder if that had a negative effect.
Krugg
Member
Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue May 31, 2016 8:13 pm

Re: Plugging a microphone into the THR

Unread post by Krugg » Mon Aug 01, 2016 1:55 pm

jenks80085 wrote:Actually whilst packing up I found a behringer mic and plugged it straight into the THR10X on flat setting - it sounded perfectly 'normal'' and as I would have expected (no white noise). That was just from the speakers, not into a DAW via the DI.

The white noise wasn't apparent until I pushed the input gain on the DAW.


How far could you have the mic from your mouth and maintain fairly audible volume?
User avatar
jenks80085
Member
Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 7:34 am

Re: Plugging a microphone into the THR

Unread post by jenks80085 » Mon Aug 01, 2016 2:45 pm

I did need to push the volume on the THR quite high - I suppose the mic was about an inch or so from my mouth. Point is I didn't feel like I had to do anything out of the ordinary.
User avatar
JoeSantos
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2018 1:19 am
Argentina

Re: Plugging a microphone into the THR

Unread post by JoeSantos » Fri Sep 14, 2018 8:12 pm

Hi all from Argentina!

Please correct me if im wrong:

1) AFAIK both guitar input and aux input have same input levels (-10dBu). So same gear could be plugged to each of them with same results?
2) The difference would be that AUX input is STEREO. So if you plug a guitar or a voice mic with the standard mono cables, that signal would only go to the left speaker?
3) The solution to this should be to use a mono/stereo guitar cable, or a XRL/stereo cable for the voice mic?
4) Due to impedances... is it possible to use a microphone for voices (sm58 or 57) without a mic-preamp?


What I have already tested is plugging my guitar to the guitar imput normally, with some pedals before the THR, so I can use those pedals + the THR effects. And I also plugged a SM57 to the AUX imput with a XLR/mono cable (after a TC Electronic pedal for voices, which I reckon works like a pre-amp, since mic signal was ok but MONO. I could hear my voice only on left speaker)

Next tests: same settings, but changing SM57 cable to an XLR/Stereo, to check if my voice sounds on both speakers of the amp.
Doing same tests without the TC electronic voice pedal, using shure sm57 and some condenser mic plugged directly to the THR, or after a DI-box or after a mic preamp.

Sorry if my english is not perfect! Cheers!
User avatar
Buzzard
Specialist Moderator
Specialist Moderator
Posts: 2421
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 7:38 pm
Contact:
Denmark

Re: Plugging a microphone into the THR

Unread post by Buzzard » Sat Sep 15, 2018 5:30 pm

Hi Joe.

Looks like you've been busy experimenting … ((i)) That's soo cool.

In general, mic outputs are the weakest signals followed by pickups, and AUX usually handle a higher level of volume.

I had to try it out too. :wink:
I used a simple stereo mini jack cable and a cheap sony microphone + a mini jack to 1/4" jack converter plug for testing.
Here are my observations:
JoeSantos wrote:
Fri Sep 14, 2018 8:12 pm
1) AFAIK both guitar input and aux input have same input levels (-10dBu). So same gear could be plugged to each of them with same results?
As long as you run the guitar preamp in FLAT mode, all controls at 12 o clock and no effects, the inputs are very similar.
If you use any of the other preamp models, frequencies and distortion levels change drastically.
In FLAT mode, you can also benefit from using the effects with a microphone plugged into the guitar input,
however, the mic signal needs boosting, it isn't very loud.


JoeSantos wrote:
Fri Sep 14, 2018 8:12 pm
2) The difference would be that AUX input is STEREO. So if you plug a guitar or a voice mic with the standard mono cables, that signal would only go to the left speaker?
Short answer: YES.
You can get a conversion plug that puts the mic signal to both channels in the AUX input,
or you can use a splitter and have two mics, one mic in each channel.
I still believe this calls for some kind af preamp to boost the mic signal.


JoeSantos wrote:
Fri Sep 14, 2018 8:12 pm
3) The solution to this should be to use a mono/stereo guitar cable, or a XRL/stereo cable for the voice mic?
At this point, you have more knowledge than me since I hardly ever use microphones or XLR cables,
but you can buy (or make your own) cable for just about any combination of sending/receiving signals.


JoeSantos wrote:
Fri Sep 14, 2018 8:12 pm
4) Due to impedances... is it possible to use a microphone for voices (sm58 or 57) without a mic-preamp?
You need a mic-preamp anyhow since the signal of a mic is rather weak for the THR inputs, yes, give it a boost.


JoeSantos wrote:
Fri Sep 14, 2018 8:12 pm
What I have already tested is plugging my guitar to the guitar imput normally, with some pedals before the THR, so I can use those pedals + the THR effects. And I also plugged a SM57 to the AUX imput with a XLR/mono cable (after a TC Electronic pedal for voices, which I reckon works like a pre-amp, since mic signal was ok but MONO. I could hear my voice only on left speaker)

Next tests: same settings, but changing SM57 cable to an XLR/Stereo, to check if my voice sounds on both speakers of the amp.
Doing same tests without the TC electronic voice pedal, using shure sm57 and some condenser mic plugged directly to the THR, or after a DI-box or after a mic preamp.
Cool observations, keep 'em coming. :D



Regards
Peter
Yamaholic, Guitars, Amps and Bikes. :idea: My Guitars: http://www.yamahamusicians.com/forum/vi ... =24&t=7004 :idea:
User avatar
Imran2Laden
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 5:53 pm
United States of America

Re: Plugging a microphone into the THR

Unread post by Imran2Laden » Sun Oct 28, 2018 4:34 pm

Buzzard wrote:
Sun Jul 10, 2016 10:07 am
Hi Krugg.

Since the THR-10 is basically a compact hifi soundsystem with guitar amp emulation and effects,
I see no problem plugging in a microphone running the flat amp, as long as the signal (volume) from the mic is compatible.

You can use the THR-10 as a mini microphone/PA system, but limited by it's 5+5 watt output.

If the signal from the mic is too weak, you can boost the signal with a mixer/booster.

:idea: An Equalizer pedal will serve as a microphone booster too. :idea:

:idea: Using some of the onboard effects in the THR-10 , can enhance human voices too. :idea:

Regards
Peter
Nice post thanks, I had to try it out too. :wink:
User avatar
parametric
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3188
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 1:00 am
Contact:
Great Britain

Re: Plugging a microphone into the THR

Unread post by parametric » Mon Oct 29, 2018 5:42 am

JoeSantos wrote:
Fri Sep 14, 2018 8:12 pm
4) Due to impedances... is it possible to use a microphone for voices (sm58 or 57) without a mic-preamp?
Buzzard wrote:
Sat Sep 15, 2018 5:30 pm
You need a mic-preamp anyhow since the signal of a mic is rather weak for the THR inputs, yes, give it a boost.
Peter is quite correct here . . .

Dynamic Mics such as the SM57/58 have too small a signal to be fed into a LINE-IN input.

They need to be matched to the required -10dBA.

This can either be done with using a mixer if you have one - or a more compact solution is a mic preamp:

Mic Preamp.jpg

My own is identical but Monacor® branded. Wall-Wart powered.

Using this, I was able to record a vocal with my SM58 direct to one of the 8 line inputs on my

Alesis Fusion's Hard Disk recorder.

Perfect matching.

parametric
Alesis Fusion 8SSD AND 6SSD - BOTH are 384Mb/120Gb SSD/Akai ADVANCE61/Yamaha MOXF6/1024Mb Flash Ram/Yamaha SY85/8.5mb vol/1024k non-vol/DX21/Roland MT32/Bachmann double overstrung Baby Grand Piano/Win10 Pro/Ubuntu MATE 15.0.4/iBook G4/Mac OS 10.4.6/ProTools 7.4/MBox2/M-Audio MicroTrack 24/96

NI Komplete11 Ultimate

Sector101 2x SYEMB06 / 4 x EXM-E3 128MB DRAM Module

BRAND NEW DSDD (720k) FLOPPY DISKS FOR SALE - http://www.yamahaforums.co.uk/forum/vie ... =22&t=9217

Watch out now! take care, BEWARE of the greedy leaders! They'll take you where you should not go - (George Harrison)

IT'S TRUE - "MONEY TALKS" - TO ME, IT MOSTLY SAYS "GOODBYE" ;-)
http://www.chrisnmiller.co.uk/Chris
Post Reply

Return to “Yamaha THR Forum”