Fantom XR os 2.0 upgrade from non-original card

All Roland Keyboard and equipment that doesn't have a dedicated section

Moderators: Derek, parametric, Saul

User avatar
dat
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2018 2:11 pm
Croatia

Fantom XR os 2.0 upgrade from non-original card

Unread post by dat » Wed Nov 21, 2018 3:36 pm

I got the contents of the upgrade kit FAN-XR-UP1.How can I upgrade my xr using non-original card? found this link http://forums.rolandclan.info/index.php ... d=1&page=1
but is dead (((((((
User avatar
dat
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2018 2:11 pm
Croatia

Re: Fantom XR os 2.0 upgrade from non-original card

Unread post by dat » Wed Nov 21, 2018 3:36 pm

I'm try all my cards but.... This is an invalid card
Image
User avatar
Saul
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10571
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2004 1:00 am
Contact:
Ireland

Re: Fantom XR os 2.0 upgrade from non-original card

Unread post by Saul » Wed Nov 21, 2018 4:06 pm

If I remember correctly the upgrade comes on a card supplied by Roland and they add something to it which makes it difficult to copy. It's been a long time since I owned the Fantom X so I am going on memory.

The only way to create a card that will work is if someone who already has the upgrade installed makes a backup from their Fantom X. Or at least that is how I remember it.

Have you contacted Roland to see if they can help?
Saul
Site Admin
Subscribe To Our YouTube Channel!
Review Yamahamusicians.com on Trustpilot
Sign up to the Newsletter
Follow us on Twitter @YamahaMusicians
Follow Us On Facebook
Dowina Acoustic Guitars: Dowina Cabernet DC
Dowina Chardonnay GAC DS - Dowina Rustica GAC - Dowina Marus - Dowina Puella

Seagull S6 Original/Vintage VE2000GG Gordon Giltrap/Ashbury AG-160/Roland FA-07/Pianoteq 6 Pro/Amplitube 3.0/Apple iMac 27"/Logic Pro X/Cubase AI 9/Absynth 5/Ableton Live 9/KRK Rokit RP5 G3 Monitors
User avatar
dat
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2018 2:11 pm
Croatia

Re: Fantom XR os 2.0 upgrade from non-original card

Unread post by dat » Wed Nov 21, 2018 5:18 pm

Yes, I contacted Roland in my country, in the USA and Japan. The answer is no (((

from USA:
Regarding the version 2 update for the Fantom-XR - this was only available using a memory card, which was sold separately. We (Roland US) no longer have these cards available (not for 10 years), so your best option is to try to find one on the used market, or to see if the Roland distributor for your area may have any available.
User avatar
Saul
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10571
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2004 1:00 am
Contact:
Ireland

Re: Fantom XR os 2.0 upgrade from non-original card

Unread post by Saul » Wed Nov 21, 2018 5:58 pm

That seems to be the common answer but they have not said why it needs to have a 'Roland' memory card. It would make far more sense to have the software available as a download which can be put on usb or card and the firmware updated that way. Of course Roland would much rather you bought a new keyboard than give you a reason to hold onto your old one so perhaps that has something to do with it.
Saul
Site Admin
Subscribe To Our YouTube Channel!
Review Yamahamusicians.com on Trustpilot
Sign up to the Newsletter
Follow us on Twitter @YamahaMusicians
Follow Us On Facebook
Dowina Acoustic Guitars: Dowina Cabernet DC
Dowina Chardonnay GAC DS - Dowina Rustica GAC - Dowina Marus - Dowina Puella

Seagull S6 Original/Vintage VE2000GG Gordon Giltrap/Ashbury AG-160/Roland FA-07/Pianoteq 6 Pro/Amplitube 3.0/Apple iMac 27"/Logic Pro X/Cubase AI 9/Absynth 5/Ableton Live 9/KRK Rokit RP5 G3 Monitors
Post Reply

Return to “Roland”