A Roland W 30 pots question

All Roland Keyboard and equipment that doesn't have a dedicated section

Moderators: Derek, parametric, Saul

Greece
OOS
Member
Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon May 01, 2017 10:25 pm

A Roland W 30 pots question

Unread post by OOS » Thu May 04, 2017 11:17 pm

Hi

I would like to know the specs of the
"value" potensiometer, how many ohm' etc since mine needs to be replaced. If anyone has that info just drop me a line here


Thanks in advance, Panos.
Advertisement
Ultimate Vocal Library
User avatar Germany
Miks
Specialist Moderator
Specialist Moderator
Posts: 1993
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 1:00 am

Re: A Roland W 30 pots question

Unread post by Miks » Thu May 04, 2017 11:43 pm

Hi Panos,

those Cursor and Value 'pots' aren't potentiometer - they are 'Rotary Encoders'! They're both of the same type:

Pot. EVQ-WQKF 1524B (13279910)

and here's an example I've found where you can get those:

maas-elektronik.com/Ersatzteil-UR0002-Poti-HVQ-WQGF-1524B.2.html

BTW: check your PM :wink:
My (key related) gear (in alphabetical order):
Ferrofish: B4000+
Kawai: K1 II
Korg: M1 (up'd to EX, w/ 'Cool Blue'), M1REX (w/ 'Cool Blue'), Poly-800
Roland: D-50, D-110, D-550, PG-1000
Yamaha: AW1600, DX7IID (w/ 'Cool Blue'), EX5R, RM50, RX5, SY99 (w/ 'Cool Blue'), TG500,
TX-802, YMM2
Sector101: SYEMB05 (5x), SYEMB06 (3x), EXFLM2 (1kit), MCD Sweet16 (1x), DataBlade32 (1x),
WaveBlade 8MB Card (1x) & 1x Programmer Unit for WaveBlade
Greece
OOS
Member
Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon May 01, 2017 10:25 pm

Re: A Roland W 30 pots question

Unread post by OOS » Fri May 05, 2017 5:28 am

Hi Miks and thanks for the instant reply

so this clears up the situation since i got to a couple of electronics stores here and was asking for a "pot" but this is not the case. So i am now asking for a "rotary encoder" which to be honest there is a litte chance to find in a simple and not a dedicated electronics store. The other way is to buy it from the link you provided me which is the thing i am gonna do. Also i have a ROLAND D 50 that is OK but needs LCD replacement - the whole screen, if you know where i could find this as well just drop me a line here.

Thanks again, best Panos.
User avatar Germany
Miks
Specialist Moderator
Specialist Moderator
Posts: 1993
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 1:00 am

Re: A Roland W 30 pots question

Unread post by Miks » Fri May 05, 2017 10:47 pm

OOS wrote:Also i have a ROLAND D 50 that is OK but needs LCD replacement - the whole screen, if you know where i could find this as well just drop me a line here.
Well - you may look here:
http://www.buydisplay.com/default/chara ... -character
and see if one of those will suit your needs...

IF you order: make sure you order the correct type: 5 volt (not 3.3!) and HD 44780 compatible 8O

I've got three of those (white on blue) displays from buydisplay - all working well :D
My (key related) gear (in alphabetical order):
Ferrofish: B4000+
Kawai: K1 II
Korg: M1 (up'd to EX, w/ 'Cool Blue'), M1REX (w/ 'Cool Blue'), Poly-800
Roland: D-50, D-110, D-550, PG-1000
Yamaha: AW1600, DX7IID (w/ 'Cool Blue'), EX5R, RM50, RX5, SY99 (w/ 'Cool Blue'), TG500,
TX-802, YMM2
Sector101: SYEMB05 (5x), SYEMB06 (3x), EXFLM2 (1kit), MCD Sweet16 (1x), DataBlade32 (1x),
WaveBlade 8MB Card (1x) & 1x Programmer Unit for WaveBlade
Greece
OOS
Member
Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon May 01, 2017 10:25 pm

Re: A Roland W 30 pots question

Unread post by OOS » Sun May 07, 2017 6:19 am

Hey Miks

These are dead cheap, i thought it would cost an amount that would make replacement really not worthing. All are 3.3/5 v as i can see i will chooso a couple of blue - white ones. Btw if any other guy needs this i copy - paste the message i got from MAAS electronics about the Roland W 30 encoder. They are not certain if this can be used on the sampler though.

"Hi Panos,

Yes the UR0002 spare part is in stock. We can send it to Athens. Shipping costs is 8 EUR. Total amount including shipping costs: 23,95 EUR

Are you sure that this spare part is the correct one for a Roland W-30 ??

Normally this spare part is for Transceivers / Radios of the brand ALINCO . I did not know that it is used also in keyboards ?"
Greece
OOS
Member
Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon May 01, 2017 10:25 pm

Re: A Roland W 30 pots question

Unread post by OOS » Sun May 07, 2017 6:21 am

I explained to Alex from MAAS that this specific encoder is mentioned EXACTLY on the service manual so there not gonna be any probs with that i think.
User avatar Germany
Miks
Specialist Moderator
Specialist Moderator
Posts: 1993
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 1:00 am

Re: A Roland W 30 pots question

Unread post by Miks » Sun May 07, 2017 11:57 am

Yes - it's definitely the correct spare part. If they're in doubt you might send them a copy of the W30 Service Notes and point them to page 4. The lower right corner lists the encoder(s)... so they too can be sure you're ordering the correct part :D

Re the displays: if I remember correct you can choose the 'operating voltage' during the ordering process...

Here's another pic of how those displays look on my M1 & M1R:
http://www.yamahaforums.co.uk/forum/vie ... 318#p51318
My (key related) gear (in alphabetical order):
Ferrofish: B4000+
Kawai: K1 II
Korg: M1 (up'd to EX, w/ 'Cool Blue'), M1REX (w/ 'Cool Blue'), Poly-800
Roland: D-50, D-110, D-550, PG-1000
Yamaha: AW1600, DX7IID (w/ 'Cool Blue'), EX5R, RM50, RX5, SY99 (w/ 'Cool Blue'), TG500,
TX-802, YMM2
Sector101: SYEMB05 (5x), SYEMB06 (3x), EXFLM2 (1kit), MCD Sweet16 (1x), DataBlade32 (1x),
WaveBlade 8MB Card (1x) & 1x Programmer Unit for WaveBlade
Greece
OOS
Member
Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon May 01, 2017 10:25 pm

Re: A Roland W 30 pots question

Unread post by OOS » Sun May 07, 2017 3:06 pm

Really thanks for the really informative answers to all my thread questions Miks, will sort this out asap, take care.

Panos
User avatar Germany
Miks
Specialist Moderator
Specialist Moderator
Posts: 1993
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 1:00 am

Re: A Roland W 30 pots question

Unread post by Miks » Sun May 07, 2017 4:09 pm

You're welcome! Keep us informed how you go on... :D
My (key related) gear (in alphabetical order):
Ferrofish: B4000+
Kawai: K1 II
Korg: M1 (up'd to EX, w/ 'Cool Blue'), M1REX (w/ 'Cool Blue'), Poly-800
Roland: D-50, D-110, D-550, PG-1000
Yamaha: AW1600, DX7IID (w/ 'Cool Blue'), EX5R, RM50, RX5, SY99 (w/ 'Cool Blue'), TG500,
TX-802, YMM2
Sector101: SYEMB05 (5x), SYEMB06 (3x), EXFLM2 (1kit), MCD Sweet16 (1x), DataBlade32 (1x),
WaveBlade 8MB Card (1x) & 1x Programmer Unit for WaveBlade
User avatar United States of America
bobbygouge
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2019 5:00 pm

Re: A Roland W 30 pots question

Unread post by bobbygouge » Wed Nov 06, 2019 5:02 pm

I just stumbled upon this thread and am trying to purchase these same 2 rotary encoders for my son's W-30. Hoping you might save me some time and let me know what parts you ordered and if they worked well. Thanks much
Post Reply

Return to “Roland”