Yamaha DX9 Factory Sounds

4 OP FM derivative of the DX7, the DX9 is an interesting if slightly underwhelming synth that suffers from the same problematic user programming interface of it's more illustrious stablemate.

Moderators: Derek, parametric, Saul

User avatar Ireland
Saul
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12331
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2004 1:00 am
Contact:

Yamaha DX9 Factory Sounds

Unread post by Saul » Thu Mar 22, 2018 9:51 pm

Yamaha DX9.png
Not entirely sure what is in this collection although it says Factory Patches in the file name so I suppose there is a clue there :lol:

Don't ask me how you get these onto a DX9. As far as I know it would have been via cassette or sysex but I am sure someone can confirm?
DX9_Factory_Patches.zip
(22.8 KiB) Downloaded 272 times
If your not that familiar with the DX9 here's a video from a chap who was selling one back in 2015.
Saul
Site Admin
Subscribe To Our YouTube Channel!
Review Yamahamusicians.com on Trustpilot
Sign up to the Newsletter
Follow us on Twitter @YamahaMusicians
Follow Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Tumblr
Dowina Acoustic Guitars: Dowina Cabernet DC
Dowina Chardonnay GAC DS - Dowina Rustica GAC - Dowina Marus - Dowina Puella

CASIO PX-S1000/Vintage VE2000GG Gordon Giltrap/Ibanez AE245/Novation ReMote 61SL/Arturia Analog Lab 3/Arturia Piano V2/Pianoteq 6 Pro/Apple iMac 27"/Logic Pro X/Ableton Live 10/Behringer QX1202USB Mixer/Presonus Eris 4.5 Active Monitors. Minelab Equinox, Golden Mask One 15 kHz.
Advertisement
Loopcloud Music App from Loopmasters.com
User avatar Wales
Derek
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4986
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:00 am
Contact:

Re: Yamaha DX9 Factory Sounds

Unread post by Derek » Sat Mar 24, 2018 9:23 am

Just had a quick look. Definitely SYSEX and it looks like they are Edit Buffer dumps (i.e. a single voice per file).

So they could be sent by using something like MIDIOX and they should appear in the Edit buffer where they can be saved to memory.
Regards
Derek Cook

http://www.carregddu.co.uk
http://www.echoes-music.co.uk
http://www.xfactory-librarians.co.uk
http://www.ex5tech.co.uk
User avatar Ireland
Saul
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12331
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2004 1:00 am
Contact:

Re: Yamaha DX9 Factory Sounds

Unread post by Saul » Sat Mar 24, 2018 10:45 am

Thanks for confirming Derek. Hopefully they will be of use to someone and perhaps we can get a few more in here over time :)
Saul
Site Admin
Subscribe To Our YouTube Channel!
Review Yamahamusicians.com on Trustpilot
Sign up to the Newsletter
Follow us on Twitter @YamahaMusicians
Follow Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Tumblr
Dowina Acoustic Guitars: Dowina Cabernet DC
Dowina Chardonnay GAC DS - Dowina Rustica GAC - Dowina Marus - Dowina Puella

CASIO PX-S1000/Vintage VE2000GG Gordon Giltrap/Ibanez AE245/Novation ReMote 61SL/Arturia Analog Lab 3/Arturia Piano V2/Pianoteq 6 Pro/Apple iMac 27"/Logic Pro X/Ableton Live 10/Behringer QX1202USB Mixer/Presonus Eris 4.5 Active Monitors. Minelab Equinox, Golden Mask One 15 kHz.
User avatar Wales
Derek
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4986
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:00 am
Contact:

Re: Yamaha DX9 Factory Sounds

Unread post by Derek » Sat Mar 24, 2018 12:32 pm

Forgot to say that I confirmed by looking at a few of the files inside a HexEditor (the excellent 010 editor)
Regards
Derek Cook

http://www.carregddu.co.uk
http://www.echoes-music.co.uk
http://www.xfactory-librarians.co.uk
http://www.ex5tech.co.uk
User avatar Great Britain
monsterjazzlicks
Super Patch Creator
Super Patch Creator
Posts: 1689
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 7:37 pm

Re: Yamaha DX9 Factory Sounds

Unread post by monsterjazzlicks » Sat Mar 24, 2018 7:58 pm

Hi,

Because the DX9 is 4OP, does this mean that the presets will load/play on a DX21 & DX27, please?

Ta,

Paul
User avatar Wales
Derek
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4986
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:00 am
Contact:

Re: Yamaha DX9 Factory Sounds

Unread post by Derek » Sat Mar 24, 2018 8:14 pm

No idea, but one way to find out.... ! :)

The DX7II could receive DX7 dumps, so maybe they will.
Regards
Derek Cook

http://www.carregddu.co.uk
http://www.echoes-music.co.uk
http://www.xfactory-librarians.co.uk
http://www.ex5tech.co.uk
User avatar Ireland
Saul
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12331
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2004 1:00 am
Contact:

Re: Yamaha DX9 Factory Sounds

Unread post by Saul » Sat Mar 24, 2018 10:06 pm

I have a couple of DX21/DX27 banks I will upload soon. I don't know what the content is and people may already have them but might as well stick them in the downloads anyway.
Saul
Site Admin
Subscribe To Our YouTube Channel!
Review Yamahamusicians.com on Trustpilot
Sign up to the Newsletter
Follow us on Twitter @YamahaMusicians
Follow Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Tumblr
Dowina Acoustic Guitars: Dowina Cabernet DC
Dowina Chardonnay GAC DS - Dowina Rustica GAC - Dowina Marus - Dowina Puella

CASIO PX-S1000/Vintage VE2000GG Gordon Giltrap/Ibanez AE245/Novation ReMote 61SL/Arturia Analog Lab 3/Arturia Piano V2/Pianoteq 6 Pro/Apple iMac 27"/Logic Pro X/Ableton Live 10/Behringer QX1202USB Mixer/Presonus Eris 4.5 Active Monitors. Minelab Equinox, Golden Mask One 15 kHz.
User avatar France
EXer
Member
Member
Posts: 290
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 6:15 pm

Re: Yamaha DX9 Factory Sounds

Unread post by EXer » Mon Mar 26, 2018 9:34 am

monsterjazzlicks wrote:Because the DX9 is 4OP, does this mean that the presets will load/play on a DX21 & DX27, please?

The answer is on the forum: Image
EX5 EX5 EX5R FS1R TX81Z TX81Z TX7 A4000
EX5Tech Member #101

VVLNERANT OMNES VLTIMA NECAT
User avatar Wales
Derek
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4986
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:00 am
Contact:

Re: Yamaha DX9 Factory Sounds

Unread post by Derek » Mon Mar 26, 2018 7:38 pm

Thanks for pointing it out. The answer, just to make it obvious on this thread is "No" the DX21/DX727 are not compatible with the DX9, which is indeed a shame.
Regards
Derek Cook

http://www.carregddu.co.uk
http://www.echoes-music.co.uk
http://www.xfactory-librarians.co.uk
http://www.ex5tech.co.uk
User avatar Ireland
Saul
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12331
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2004 1:00 am
Contact:

Re: Yamaha DX9 Factory Sounds

Unread post by Saul » Mon Mar 26, 2018 7:47 pm

Thanks Derek, much prefer answers in the post where the question is asked :)
Saul
Site Admin
Subscribe To Our YouTube Channel!
Review Yamahamusicians.com on Trustpilot
Sign up to the Newsletter
Follow us on Twitter @YamahaMusicians
Follow Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Tumblr
Dowina Acoustic Guitars: Dowina Cabernet DC
Dowina Chardonnay GAC DS - Dowina Rustica GAC - Dowina Marus - Dowina Puella

CASIO PX-S1000/Vintage VE2000GG Gordon Giltrap/Ibanez AE245/Novation ReMote 61SL/Arturia Analog Lab 3/Arturia Piano V2/Pianoteq 6 Pro/Apple iMac 27"/Logic Pro X/Ableton Live 10/Behringer QX1202USB Mixer/Presonus Eris 4.5 Active Monitors. Minelab Equinox, Golden Mask One 15 kHz.
User avatar Canada
DeXter9
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2020 5:36 am

Re: Yamaha DX9 Factory Sounds

Unread post by DeXter9 » Mon Jan 13, 2020 5:44 am

Greetings!

My apologies for posting on an older topic, however, I have questions. 8)

I recently purchased a DX Nine, (seems the numeral isn't working) but it did not come with the cassette of factory sounds. This is how I found this forum and this tread. I've downloaded the zip file in the original post but I have no prior experience with SysEx. Not sure what it is exactly.

I had hoped I could load the sounds onto a Zoom digital recorder and plug that into where the cassette tape would be and that would work. Not tried it as yet either. I do own a Korg Triton Studio as well, could I put the files on its hard drive and the DX load from there?

I guess I am curious how I can load the factory sounds and how can I do this consistently if needed.

Thanks all.
User avatar Great Britain
parametric
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4033
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 1:00 am
Contact:

Re: Yamaha DX9 Factory Sounds

Unread post by parametric » Mon Jan 13, 2020 6:55 am

Welcome to the Forums DeXter9 . . . . .

It should work ok if you have that lead for the cassette interface . . . . ?

Yamaha-style cassette data cable.jpg
Yamaha-style cassette data cable.jpg (8.84 KiB) Viewed 51 times

Ignore the 2.5mm plug - it's for Motor control of the Cassette machine and was never implemented on Keyboards.

Otherwise you could make one up . . . . . .

data-cable-schematic-mm.jpg
data-cable-schematic-mm.jpg (14.25 KiB) Viewed 51 times

Using the Zoom should be fine, though you might have to adjust the output level so it doesn't overload.

I did this with the DXClub Cassette which is in the D/L section. I recorded the "Screech", and another member

converted to SySeX.

I don't think there is any DX9 stuff amongst it though - they're all 4-OP IIRC (DX100/27/21/TX81z IIRC)

parametric
Alesis Fusion 8SSD AND 6SSD - BOTH are 384Mb/120Gb SSD/Akai ADVANCE61/Yamaha MOXF6/1024Mb Flash Ram/Yamaha SY85/8.5mb vol/1024k non-vol/DX21/Roland MT32/Bachmann double overstrung Baby Grand Piano/Win10 Pro/Ubuntu MATE 15.0.4/iBook G4/Mac OS 10.4.6/ProTools 7.4/MBox2/M-Audio MicroTrack 24/96

NI Komplete11 Ultimate

Sector101 2x SYEMB06 / 4 x EXM-E3 128MB DRAM Module

BRAND NEW DSDD (720k) FLOPPY DISKS FOR SALE - http://www.yamahaforums.co.uk/forum/vie ... =22&t=9217

Watch out now! take care, BEWARE of the greedy leaders! They'll take you where you should not go - (George Harrison)

IT'S TRUE - "MONEY TALKS" - TO ME, IT MOSTLY SAYS "GOODBYE" ;-)
http://www.chrisnmiller.co.uk/Chris
Post Reply

Return to “Yamaha DX9 Downloads”