Yamaha DX9 Factory Sounds

4 OP FM derivative of the DX7, the DX9 is an interesting if slightly underwhelming synth that suffers from the same problematic user programming interface of it's more illustrious stablemate.

Moderators: Derek, parametric, Saul

Post Reply
User avatar
Saul
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13158
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2004 1:00 am
Location.: UK, West Sussex
Contact:

Yamaha DX9 Factory Sounds

Unread post by Saul »

Yamaha DX9.png
Not entirely sure what is in this collection although it says Factory Patches in the file name so I suppose there is a clue there :lol:

Don't ask me how you get these onto a DX9. As far as I know it would have been via cassette or sysex but I am sure someone can confirm?
DX9_Factory_Patches.zip
If your not that familiar with the DX9 here's a video from a chap who was selling one back in 2015.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z2M3z_K_RI8
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Saul
Site Admin

Appreciate the forum? Buy me a coffeeImage
Acoustic Guitar Reviews On Facebook
Subscribe To Our YouTube Channel!
Follow us on Twitter @YamahaMusicians
Follow Us On Facebook
Dowina Acoustic Guitars: Dowina Cabernet DC
Dowina Chardonnay GAC DS - Dowina Rustica GAC - Dowina Marus - Dowina Puella

Please Note: This site is at times supported by Amazon Associate and other affiliate links. Any links in my posts may lead to products on the Amazon website or other vendors websites. These will not incur any extra cost to you but may help support the running costs of the site via the generation of a small commission should you choose to purchase a product.
Music Software Bundles from Pluginboutique.com
User avatar
Derek
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 5293
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:00 am
Location.: Wales, UK
Contact:

VIP

Re: Yamaha DX9 Factory Sounds

Unread post by Derek »

Just had a quick look. Definitely SYSEX and it looks like they are Edit Buffer dumps (i.e. a single voice per file).

So they could be sent by using something like MIDIOX and they should appear in the Edit buffer where they can be saved to memory.


Regards
Derek Cook

http://www.carregddu.co.uk
http://www.echoes-music.co.uk
http://www.xfactory-librarians.co.uk
http://www.ex5tech.co.uk
User avatar
Saul
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13158
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2004 1:00 am
Location.: UK, West Sussex
Contact:

Re: Yamaha DX9 Factory Sounds

Unread post by Saul »

Thanks for confirming Derek. Hopefully they will be of use to someone and perhaps we can get a few more in here over time :)


Saul
Site Admin

Appreciate the forum? Buy me a coffeeImage
Acoustic Guitar Reviews On Facebook
Subscribe To Our YouTube Channel!
Follow us on Twitter @YamahaMusicians
Follow Us On Facebook
Dowina Acoustic Guitars: Dowina Cabernet DC
Dowina Chardonnay GAC DS - Dowina Rustica GAC - Dowina Marus - Dowina Puella

Please Note: This site is at times supported by Amazon Associate and other affiliate links. Any links in my posts may lead to products on the Amazon website or other vendors websites. These will not incur any extra cost to you but may help support the running costs of the site via the generation of a small commission should you choose to purchase a product.
User avatar
Derek
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 5293
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:00 am
Location.: Wales, UK
Contact:

VIP

Re: Yamaha DX9 Factory Sounds

Unread post by Derek »

Forgot to say that I confirmed by looking at a few of the files inside a HexEditor (the excellent 010 editor)


Regards
Derek Cook

http://www.carregddu.co.uk
http://www.echoes-music.co.uk
http://www.xfactory-librarians.co.uk
http://www.ex5tech.co.uk
User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Super Patch Creator
Super Patch Creator
Posts: 1818
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 7:37 pm

Re: Yamaha DX9 Factory Sounds

Unread post by monsterjazzlicks »

Hi,

Because the DX9 is 4OP, does this mean that the presets will load/play on a DX21 & DX27, please?

Ta,

Paul


User avatar
Derek
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 5293
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:00 am
Location.: Wales, UK
Contact:

VIP

Re: Yamaha DX9 Factory Sounds

Unread post by Derek »

No idea, but one way to find out.... ! :)

The DX7II could receive DX7 dumps, so maybe they will.


Regards
Derek Cook

http://www.carregddu.co.uk
http://www.echoes-music.co.uk
http://www.xfactory-librarians.co.uk
http://www.ex5tech.co.uk
User avatar
Saul
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13158
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2004 1:00 am
Location.: UK, West Sussex
Contact:

Re: Yamaha DX9 Factory Sounds

Unread post by Saul »

I have a couple of DX21/DX27 banks I will upload soon. I don't know what the content is and people may already have them but might as well stick them in the downloads anyway.


Saul
Site Admin

Appreciate the forum? Buy me a coffeeImage
Acoustic Guitar Reviews On Facebook
Subscribe To Our YouTube Channel!
Follow us on Twitter @YamahaMusicians
Follow Us On Facebook
Dowina Acoustic Guitars: Dowina Cabernet DC
Dowina Chardonnay GAC DS - Dowina Rustica GAC - Dowina Marus - Dowina Puella

Please Note: This site is at times supported by Amazon Associate and other affiliate links. Any links in my posts may lead to products on the Amazon website or other vendors websites. These will not incur any extra cost to you but may help support the running costs of the site via the generation of a small commission should you choose to purchase a product.
User avatar
EXer
Member
Member
Posts: 302
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 6:15 pm

Re: Yamaha DX9 Factory Sounds

Unread post by EXer »

monsterjazzlicks wrote:Because the DX9 is 4OP, does this mean that the presets will load/play on a DX21 & DX27, please?

The answer is on the forum: Image


EX5 EX5 EX5R FS1R TX81Z TX81Z TX7 A4000
EX5Tech Member #101

VVLNERANT OMNES VLTIMA NECAT
User avatar
Derek
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 5293
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:00 am
Location.: Wales, UK
Contact:

VIP

Re: Yamaha DX9 Factory Sounds

Unread post by Derek »

Thanks for pointing it out. The answer, just to make it obvious on this thread is "No" the DX21/DX727 are not compatible with the DX9, which is indeed a shame.


Regards
Derek Cook

http://www.carregddu.co.uk
http://www.echoes-music.co.uk
http://www.xfactory-librarians.co.uk
http://www.ex5tech.co.uk
User avatar
Saul
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13158
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2004 1:00 am
Location.: UK, West Sussex
Contact:

Re: Yamaha DX9 Factory Sounds

Unread post by Saul »

Thanks Derek, much prefer answers in the post where the question is asked :)


Saul
Site Admin

Appreciate the forum? Buy me a coffeeImage
Acoustic Guitar Reviews On Facebook
Subscribe To Our YouTube Channel!
Follow us on Twitter @YamahaMusicians
Follow Us On Facebook
Dowina Acoustic Guitars: Dowina Cabernet DC
Dowina Chardonnay GAC DS - Dowina Rustica GAC - Dowina Marus - Dowina Puella

Please Note: This site is at times supported by Amazon Associate and other affiliate links. Any links in my posts may lead to products on the Amazon website or other vendors websites. These will not incur any extra cost to you but may help support the running costs of the site via the generation of a small commission should you choose to purchase a product.
User avatar
DeXter9
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2020 5:36 am

Re: Yamaha DX9 Factory Sounds

Unread post by DeXter9 »

Greetings!

My apologies for posting on an older topic, however, I have questions. 8)

I recently purchased a DX Nine, (seems the numeral isn't working) but it did not come with the cassette of factory sounds. This is how I found this forum and this tread. I've downloaded the zip file in the original post but I have no prior experience with SysEx. Not sure what it is exactly.

I had hoped I could load the sounds onto a Zoom digital recorder and plug that into where the cassette tape would be and that would work. Not tried it as yet either. I do own a Korg Triton Studio as well, could I put the files on its hard drive and the DX load from there?

I guess I am curious how I can load the factory sounds and how can I do this consistently if needed.

Thanks all.


User avatar
parametric
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4605
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 1:00 am
Location.: Near Watford, United Kingdom
Contact:

VIP

Re: Yamaha DX9 Factory Sounds

Unread post by parametric »

Welcome to the Forums DeXter9 . . . . .

It should work ok if you have that lead for the cassette interface . . . . ?

Yamaha-style cassette data cable.jpg

Ignore the 2.5mm plug - it's for Motor control of the Cassette machine and was never implemented on Keyboards.

Otherwise you could make one up . . . . . .

data-cable-schematic-mm.jpg

Using the Zoom should be fine, though you might have to adjust the output level so it doesn't overload.

I did this with the DXClub Cassette which is in the D/L section. I recorded the "Screech", and another member

converted to SySeX.

I don't think there is any DX9 stuff amongst it though - they're all 4-OP IIRC (DX100/27/21/TX81z IIRC)

parametric
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Alesis Fusion 8SSD AND 6SSD - BOTH are 384Mb/120Gb SSD/Akai ADVANCE61/Yamaha MOXF6/1024Mb Flash Ram/Yamaha SY85/8.5mb vol/1024k non-vol/DX21/Roland MT32/Bachmann double overstrung Baby Grand Piano/Win10 Pro/Ubuntu MATE 15.0.4/iBook G4/Mac OS 10.4.6/ProTools 7.4/MBox2/M-Audio MicroTrack 24/96

NI Komplete11 Ultimate

Sector101 2x SYEMB06 / 4 x EXM-E3 128MB DRAM Module

BRAND NEW DSDD (720k) FLOPPY DISKS FOR SALE - https://yamahamusicians.com/720k-floppy-disks-for-sale/

Watch out now! take care, BEWARE of the greedy leaders! They'll take you where you should not go - (George Harrison)

IT'S TRUE - "MONEY TALKS" - TO ME, IT MOSTLY SAYS "GOODBYE" ;-)
http://www.chrisnmiller.co.uk/Chris
User avatar
DeXter9
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2020 5:36 am

Re: Yamaha DX9 Factory Sounds

Unread post by DeXter9 »

Sorry for the late response.

I'm new to this SysEx stuff. What do I need for it? I don't have the cassette nor the cable, just the board itself. At the moment its midi'd into my Triton as I don't want to mess with the sounds until I know I can reset it easily.


User avatar
parametric
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4605
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 1:00 am
Location.: Near Watford, United Kingdom
Contact:

VIP

Re: Yamaha DX9 Factory Sounds

Unread post by parametric »

I think you'll have to acquire or make the lead. Forget the control part - it only applies when connecting the DX9

to cassette recorders so equipped. See the manual

it's not relevant to the Zoom.

Using your Zoom recorder should work fine - just need to NOTE which recording is which Voice/Performance.

THAT should work for individual LOADs and SAVEs . . . . .

The DX9 appears to Load and Save a group of 20 voices at a time.

When you Save a group, it seems that the data stream will contain NUMBERs that the DX can recognise, so the entire

stream of 20 voices IS internally numbered.

This numbering is used to load a specific voice, by entering it's NUMBER. You then play the stream and it will load the requested voice when it comes to it . . .

Page 17 and 18 in the manual describe how this works.

DX9E.PDF

parametric
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Alesis Fusion 8SSD AND 6SSD - BOTH are 384Mb/120Gb SSD/Akai ADVANCE61/Yamaha MOXF6/1024Mb Flash Ram/Yamaha SY85/8.5mb vol/1024k non-vol/DX21/Roland MT32/Bachmann double overstrung Baby Grand Piano/Win10 Pro/Ubuntu MATE 15.0.4/iBook G4/Mac OS 10.4.6/ProTools 7.4/MBox2/M-Audio MicroTrack 24/96

NI Komplete11 Ultimate

Sector101 2x SYEMB06 / 4 x EXM-E3 128MB DRAM Module

BRAND NEW DSDD (720k) FLOPPY DISKS FOR SALE - https://yamahamusicians.com/720k-floppy-disks-for-sale/

Watch out now! take care, BEWARE of the greedy leaders! They'll take you where you should not go - (George Harrison)

IT'S TRUE - "MONEY TALKS" - TO ME, IT MOSTLY SAYS "GOODBYE" ;-)
http://www.chrisnmiller.co.uk/Chris
Post Reply