The Yamaha MODX Sequencer - Performance Recorder

Covers the Yamaha MODX6, MODX7 and MODX8

Moderators: Derek, parametric, Saul

User avatar
Derek
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4195
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:00 am
Contact:
Wales

Re: The Yamaha MODX Sequencer - Performance Recorder

Unread post by Derek » Sun Oct 07, 2018 8:13 am

Mack wrote:
Thu Oct 04, 2018 8:38 pm
Hello

I´m new to the forum.

Today I bought the MODX7. I Love it!

But then there is the thing with the recorder. I for one like using a recorder/sequencer integrated in a synth.
I used to have the SY77 a long time ago. I had a PSR-500 and used that recorder (i think there was 5 "tracks") to the limit.

The recorder on the MODX have all the basic things I need to do some basic sequencing it seems, 16 tracks for one, punch in and out etc.
But what I cannot figure out is how I can record every track individually. What ever I record it reflects on all the tracks.
Is there anybody here that uses the recorder and can tell me how I for example select a bass sound for track1 and a piano sound for track etc. All I seem to be able to do is turn on or off the track for play back. Its like the MODX records on all the tracks simultaneously all the time. Or what am I missing here.

Thanks and best regards...
Hello.

Welcome and congrats on your purchase.

I do not think the Montage sequence has that sort of flexibility, as it is only intended as a scratch pad. TBH, I think Yamaha have muddied the waters by including a half way house. Either do a full sequencer, or leave it out completely.

Yamaha's philosophy is to nudge people towards computer based DAWs (they own Steinberg). Whether that is right or wrong of course depends on you preferences. Personally I have never used a sequencer on my SY77/SY99, EX5, Kronos or, now, Montage other than doing some playback on stage for backing tracks in my Kronos. But I did the backing tracks in Cubase.
Regards
Derek Cook

http://www.carregddu.co.uk
http://www.echoes-music.co.uk
http://www.xfactory-librarians.co.uk
http://www.ex5tech.co.uk
User avatar
Saul
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10191
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2004 1:00 am
Contact:
Ireland

Re: The Yamaha MODX Sequencer - Performance Recorder

Unread post by Saul » Sun Oct 07, 2018 1:50 pm

Hi Mack, welcome to the forums :)

Like Derek I rarely use an on-board sequencer as a computer based DAW is so much easier to use and of course a lot more powerful however I will test the recording on the MODX later today. I did briefly test recording when it first arrived but that was only on one track.

To my mind an on-board "performance recorder" should work like a simple multitrack tape deck. Arm a track, record to it deactivate recording to that track, arm another and record to that whilst playing back the first track and so on. It certainly should not be recording the same thing to all tracks so I am guessing that is just a simple setting that needs to be activated/deactivated.
Saul
Site Admin
Subscribe To Our YouTube Channel!
Review Yamahamusicians.com on Trustpilot
Sign up to the Newsletter
Follow us on Twitter @YamahaMusicians
Follow Us On Facebook
Dowina Acoustic Guitars: Dowina Cabernet DC
Dowina Chardonnay GAC DS - Dowina Rustica GAC.

Seagull S6 Original/Harley Benton CLA-15MCE/Ashbury AG-160/Roland FA-07/Pianoteq 6 Pro/Amplitube 3.0/Apple iMac 27"/GarageBand 10.0.3/Logic Pro X/Cubase AI 9/Absynth 5/Ableton Live 9/KRK Rokit RP5 G3 Monitors
User avatar
Derek
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4195
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:00 am
Contact:
Wales

Re: The Yamaha MODX Sequencer - Performance Recorder

Unread post by Derek » Sun Oct 07, 2018 2:23 pm

I think the issue might be that the Performance recorder is correctly recording on all channels (as a Montage performance could eb using them all, but you cannot lay down an individual channel. I suspect this, because it chimes with the MIDI limitations in real time which Yamaha are being lobbied about....
Regards
Derek Cook

http://www.carregddu.co.uk
http://www.echoes-music.co.uk
http://www.xfactory-librarians.co.uk
http://www.ex5tech.co.uk
User avatar
Saul
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10191
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2004 1:00 am
Contact:
Ireland

Re: The Yamaha MODX Sequencer - Performance Recorder

Unread post by Saul » Sun Oct 07, 2018 2:28 pm

Derek wrote:
Sun Oct 07, 2018 2:23 pm
I think the issue might be that the Performance recorder is correctly recording on all channels (as a Montage performance could eb using them all, but you cannot lay down an individual channel. I suspect this, because it chimes with the MIDI limitations in real time which Yamaha are being lobbied about....
That would make it unusable for most people I would guess?

Often in my case anyway, I will be playing something on piano, record it then have an idea for another track to go with it and want to record that..but not on the same channel. I would say that is a pretty low level requirement so if the MODX sequencer cannot do that I would be not only surprised but a little disappointed. Still, this IS software and something Yamaha might be able to address in a future update.

I use a DAW anyway so definitely not even close to a deal breaker for me :)
Saul
Site Admin
Subscribe To Our YouTube Channel!
Review Yamahamusicians.com on Trustpilot
Sign up to the Newsletter
Follow us on Twitter @YamahaMusicians
Follow Us On Facebook
Dowina Acoustic Guitars: Dowina Cabernet DC
Dowina Chardonnay GAC DS - Dowina Rustica GAC.

Seagull S6 Original/Harley Benton CLA-15MCE/Ashbury AG-160/Roland FA-07/Pianoteq 6 Pro/Amplitube 3.0/Apple iMac 27"/GarageBand 10.0.3/Logic Pro X/Cubase AI 9/Absynth 5/Ableton Live 9/KRK Rokit RP5 G3 Monitors
User avatar
Derek
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4195
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:00 am
Contact:
Wales

Re: The Yamaha MODX Sequencer - Performance Recorder

Unread post by Derek » Sun Oct 07, 2018 7:23 pm

me to. There is no way I would consider using a workstation sequencer when I have Cubase and two 21" Monitors!
Regards
Derek Cook

http://www.carregddu.co.uk
http://www.echoes-music.co.uk
http://www.xfactory-librarians.co.uk
http://www.ex5tech.co.uk
pax-eterna
Member
Member
Posts: 97
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2018 10:25 pm
Australia

Re: The Yamaha MODX Sequencer - Performance Recorder

Unread post by pax-eterna » Sun Oct 07, 2018 7:30 pm

Yes, agree!
User avatar
Mack
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 8:17 pm
Sweden

Re: The Yamaha MODX Sequencer - Performance Recorder

Unread post by Mack » Sun Oct 07, 2018 7:42 pm

Thank you all for your kind answers and input.

But ok, then I know and shall not try to do something the recorder won´t do.

Im really happy with the MODX7 nonetheless.

And Saul, the way you described how you would use the onboard sequencer is exactly how I wanted it to work.
anotherscott
Member
Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 6:36 pm
United States of America

Re: The Yamaha MODX Sequencer - Performance Recorder

Unread post by anotherscott » Thu Oct 11, 2018 4:56 pm

Mack wrote:
Thu Oct 04, 2018 8:38 pm
But what I cannot figure out is how I can record every track individually. What ever I record it reflects on all the tracks.
Is there anybody here that uses the recorder and can tell me how I for example select a bass sound for track1 and a piano sound for track etc...Its like the MODX records on all the tracks simultaneously all the time. Or what am I missing here.
Yes, the design is to record on all tracks all the time... but you can also make it do what you want. See https://www.yamahasynth.com/ask-a-quest ... ing-tracks
which discusses the design, and how to "go around" it, and what limitations to be aware of if you do.
pax-eterna
Member
Member
Posts: 97
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2018 10:25 pm
Australia

Re: The Yamaha MODX Sequencer - Performance Recorder

Unread post by pax-eterna » Thu Oct 11, 2018 6:24 pm

One thing I wonder is why Yamaha decided to restrict the transmitting of MIDI, to eight channels instead of the sixteen available?
User avatar
Mack
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 8:17 pm
Sweden

Re: The Yamaha MODX Sequencer - Performance Recorder

Unread post by Mack » Sat Oct 13, 2018 12:19 pm

anotherscott wrote:
Thu Oct 11, 2018 4:56 pm


Yes, the design is to record on all tracks all the time... but you can also make it do what you want. See https://www.yamahasynth.com/ask-a-quest ... ing-tracks
which discusses the design, and how to "go around" it, and what limitations to be aware of if you do.
Thank you. I found that tutorial very informative.
User avatar
deano7000
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2018 1:19 pm
Australia

Re: The Yamaha MODX Sequencer - Performance Recorder

Unread post by deano7000 » Tue Oct 16, 2018 2:56 pm

d2ba wrote:
Thu Sep 20, 2018 1:16 pm
Can i use it to record incoming midi not from the keyboard but from a midi track on my DAW ?
Thanks in advance
I'd personally like this feature. It would be great to record in the DAW then load the sequence onto the modx for live playback. I'd never need to record into the synth's sequencer, just load my pre-sequenced material from Logic.
User avatar
Saul
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10191
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2004 1:00 am
Contact:
Ireland

Re: The Yamaha MODX Sequencer - Performance Recorder

Unread post by Saul » Tue Oct 16, 2018 3:56 pm

deano7000 wrote:
Tue Oct 16, 2018 2:56 pm
d2ba wrote:
Thu Sep 20, 2018 1:16 pm
Can i use it to record incoming midi not from the keyboard but from a midi track on my DAW ?
Thanks in advance
I'd personally like this feature. It would be great to record in the DAW then load the sequence onto the modx for live playback. I'd never need to record into the synth's sequencer, just load my pre-sequenced material from Logic.
Maybe one for the suggestions thread?
viewtopic.php?f=186&t=11830
Saul
Site Admin
Subscribe To Our YouTube Channel!
Review Yamahamusicians.com on Trustpilot
Sign up to the Newsletter
Follow us on Twitter @YamahaMusicians
Follow Us On Facebook
Dowina Acoustic Guitars: Dowina Cabernet DC
Dowina Chardonnay GAC DS - Dowina Rustica GAC.

Seagull S6 Original/Harley Benton CLA-15MCE/Ashbury AG-160/Roland FA-07/Pianoteq 6 Pro/Amplitube 3.0/Apple iMac 27"/GarageBand 10.0.3/Logic Pro X/Cubase AI 9/Absynth 5/Ableton Live 9/KRK Rokit RP5 G3 Monitors
Post Reply

Return to “Yamaha MODX Forum”