sample robot for MODX

Covers the Yamaha MODX6, MODX7 and MODX8

Moderators: Derek, parametric, Saul

d2ba
Member
Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2018 9:07 am
New Zealand

sample robot for MODX

Unread post by d2ba » Fri Sep 21, 2018 8:06 pm

Sample Robot For Yamaha Montage.png
Sample Robot For Yamaha Montage.png (261.26 KiB) Viewed 1116 times
Anyone tested to see if will work on MODX?

SampleRobot Pro MONTAGE Edition allows automatic sampling from any acoustic or electronic instrument. SampleRobot turns the samples it captures into a ready-to-play Montage Performance. The integrated WaveRobot software also finds ideal loop points, even for whole multi-samples with different velocity layers during recording.

Features:

Fully automatic sampling of MIDI sound devices
Semi-automatic sampling of sound sources that are not equipped with a MIDI interface
Fully automated sampling of VST- and AU-instruments
Streamlined and easy to use graphical interface
Windows WDM support
Core Audio support
ASIO 2.2 support
Preset manager: over 80 sampling presets for different instruments and situations included; user presets can be created easily
Automatic output of velocity, after touch, MIDI controllers, program change to record all sound nuances
Non-destructive graphical loop and marker editing with full zoom functionality (including overlapping the stereo left and right waveforms)
MIDI monitor
Auto functions and user macros for recording format and length, editing, normalizing, fading samples
Automatic creation of crossfade loops, backward-forward loops and combinations
Auto arrangement and mapping of multi-samples and release-samples including key maps with velocity splits and real time MIDI controller assignment
Release-sample support
Sampling of Windows audio streams, played by other applications in the background
Pitch information read and write (WAV files)
Pricing and Availability

SampleRobot Pro MONTAGE Edition will be available in April, 2018 as a free download from the Yamaha site.
https://www.yamahamusicsoft.com/samplerobot
User avatar
Saul
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10559
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2004 1:00 am
Contact:
Ireland

Re: sample robot for MODX

Unread post by Saul » Fri Sep 21, 2018 8:53 pm

Interesting. I bought SampleRobot years ago but never got on with it. Sounds easy to use but actually it was quite convoluted. Didn't know Yamaha had acquired the software. Could be worth another look then :)
Saul
Site Admin
Subscribe To Our YouTube Channel!
Review Yamahamusicians.com on Trustpilot
Sign up to the Newsletter
Follow us on Twitter @YamahaMusicians
Follow Us On Facebook
Dowina Acoustic Guitars: Dowina Cabernet DC
Dowina Chardonnay GAC DS - Dowina Rustica GAC - Dowina Marus - Dowina Puella

Seagull S6 Original/Vintage VE2000GG Gordon Giltrap/Ashbury AG-160/Roland FA-07/Pianoteq 6 Pro/Amplitube 3.0/Apple iMac 27"/Logic Pro X/Cubase AI 9/Absynth 5/Ableton Live 9/KRK Rokit RP5 G3 Monitors
User avatar
SeaGtGruff
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 672
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2014 4:24 am
United States of America

Re: sample robot for MODX

Unread post by SeaGtGruff » Fri Sep 21, 2018 11:16 pm

I could be wrong, but I don't think Yamaha acquired the software, just cooperated with the developer on the MONTAGE edition. :)
Michael Rideout
Current keyboards: Yamaha YPT-400, PSR-E433, PSR-E443, PSR-EW400, MX49 BK
Current controllers: M-Audio Axiom 61-II
Previous keyboards: Farfisa Matador 611; Casio CTK-710
User avatar
Saul
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10559
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2004 1:00 am
Contact:
Ireland

Re: sample robot for MODX

Unread post by Saul » Fri Sep 21, 2018 11:25 pm

SeaGtGruff wrote:
Fri Sep 21, 2018 11:16 pm
I could be wrong, but I don't think Yamaha acquired the software, just cooperated with the developer on the MONTAGE edition. :)
Ahh ok that makes more sense. Although I am not sure why there would need to be a special Montage edition. The whole point of SampleRobot is that it can sample any synth. Did they restrict it in some way so you can only use it with Montage? Don't really see how that would work but it is possible I guess?
Saul
Site Admin
Subscribe To Our YouTube Channel!
Review Yamahamusicians.com on Trustpilot
Sign up to the Newsletter
Follow us on Twitter @YamahaMusicians
Follow Us On Facebook
Dowina Acoustic Guitars: Dowina Cabernet DC
Dowina Chardonnay GAC DS - Dowina Rustica GAC - Dowina Marus - Dowina Puella

Seagull S6 Original/Vintage VE2000GG Gordon Giltrap/Ashbury AG-160/Roland FA-07/Pianoteq 6 Pro/Amplitube 3.0/Apple iMac 27"/Logic Pro X/Cubase AI 9/Absynth 5/Ableton Live 9/KRK Rokit RP5 G3 Monitors
ZT Scheer
Member
Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2018 7:01 pm
United States of America

Re: sample robot for MODX

Unread post by ZT Scheer » Sat Sep 22, 2018 6:09 pm

SeaGtGruff wrote:
Fri Sep 21, 2018 11:16 pm
I could be wrong, but I don't think Yamaha acquired the software, just cooperated with the developer on the MONTAGE edition. :)
That's how it was explained by Yamaha at NAMM2018. The developer was present, and did live demos of quickly creating multisample sets from some monosynth they had there (don't recall brand/model). Of course, you have to go on and do the work of creating a program from that multisample.
anotherscott
Member
Member
Posts: 112
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 6:36 pm
United States of America

Re: sample robot for MODX

Unread post by anotherscott » Mon Oct 01, 2018 1:12 am

Saul wrote:
Fri Sep 21, 2018 11:25 pm
I am not sure why there would need to be a special Montage edition. The whole point of SampleRobot is that it can sample any synth.
I think it's not a matter of what synths you can sample (you can still sample any synth), it's a matter of what you can use the samples on (in this case, I assume they are saved strictly in Montage format). i.e. you can still sample anything, but you can only play the samples from a Montage.
Saul wrote:
Fri Sep 21, 2018 11:25 pm
Did they restrict it in some way so you can only use it with Montage? Don't really see how that would work but it is possible I guess?
I think it's the format it saves in.

I think the idea is that they will give Montage owners a free version to create samples that work on a Montage, but if you also want your samples to work on your Kronos or whatever else, you still need to buy the full version.

But to get back to the topic, I assume the Montage version will work on the MODX (as long as you don't exceed available space, which there is more of on the Montage), since the file formats are the same. But will a MODX owner be eligible for the free download? If not, it's a moot point, unless someone also owns a Montage. You might have to buy the full version, if the Montage-specific version is not made available to people who own a MODX but not a Montage.
User avatar
Stevie18
Product Specialist
Product Specialist
Posts: 138
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2018 4:49 pm
Germany

Re: sample robot for MODX

Unread post by Stevie18 » Mon Oct 01, 2018 7:40 pm

anotherscott is correct in all aspects.

I do have a Montage and now a MODX, so I was able to download the sample robot Montage edition. The Montage edition can only export in the Montage format. It creates Montage performances in a Montage library. But loading those libraries into the MODX works also fine - the MODX should be able to load any Montage library, including those created from sample robot. Other formats would require upgrading to the full version of sample robot 6.
User avatar
Stevie18
Product Specialist
Product Specialist
Posts: 138
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2018 4:49 pm
Germany

Re: sample robot for MODX

Unread post by Stevie18 » Mon Oct 01, 2018 7:41 pm

anotherscott is correct in all aspects.

I do have a Montage and now a MODX, so I was able to download the sample robot Montage edition. The Montage edition can only export in the Montage format. It creates Montage performances in a Montage library. But loading those libraries into the MODX works also fine - the MODX should be able to load any Montage library, including those created from sample robot. Other formats would require upgrading to the full version of sample robot 6.
User avatar
Derek
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4305
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:00 am
Contact:
Wales

Re: sample robot for MODX

Unread post by Derek » Mon Oct 01, 2018 7:42 pm

You can still sample anything, but I think the free Montage edition will only save to Montage file formats. I have it downloaded, but still need to try it out.....
Regards
Derek Cook

http://www.carregddu.co.uk
http://www.echoes-music.co.uk
http://www.xfactory-librarians.co.uk
http://www.ex5tech.co.uk
d2ba
Member
Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2018 9:07 am
New Zealand

Re: sample robot for MODX

Unread post by d2ba » Sat Oct 06, 2018 8:39 pm

Tip:For MODX Owners you can punch your serial # in and get the free Montage Sample Robert edition
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SVMfIkVyqGY
User avatar
shappy1010
Member
Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2018 6:21 pm
Netherlands

Re: sample robot for MODX

Unread post by shappy1010 » Thu Nov 29, 2018 4:34 pm

Anyone working this? I find it pretty frustrating. No undo function, not easy to map a .wav to a key etc.

Any other tools on the market for this purpose?
User avatar
Saul
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10559
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2004 1:00 am
Contact:
Ireland

Re: sample robot for MODX

Unread post by Saul » Thu Nov 29, 2018 4:38 pm

I never found Sample Robot to be that intuitive to use myself. The advertising for it makes it sound a LOT easier to use than it actually is but maybe that is just me and I perhaps expected too much.
Saul
Site Admin
Subscribe To Our YouTube Channel!
Review Yamahamusicians.com on Trustpilot
Sign up to the Newsletter
Follow us on Twitter @YamahaMusicians
Follow Us On Facebook
Dowina Acoustic Guitars: Dowina Cabernet DC
Dowina Chardonnay GAC DS - Dowina Rustica GAC - Dowina Marus - Dowina Puella

Seagull S6 Original/Vintage VE2000GG Gordon Giltrap/Ashbury AG-160/Roland FA-07/Pianoteq 6 Pro/Amplitube 3.0/Apple iMac 27"/Logic Pro X/Cubase AI 9/Absynth 5/Ableton Live 9/KRK Rokit RP5 G3 Monitors
User avatar
teethy
Member
Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2018 7:03 am
Australia

Re: sample robot for MODX

Unread post by teethy » Thu Nov 29, 2018 9:37 pm

Not quite the same but John Melas has his waveform editor
User avatar
SeaGtGruff
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 672
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2014 4:24 am
United States of America

Re: sample robot for MODX

Unread post by SeaGtGruff » Fri Nov 30, 2018 5:27 am

I recently learned of the following two programs, which are from the same developer and can be bought together for a discount:

www extranslator com
www samplelord com

(Replace the spaces with periods.) The second one sounds like it could be an alternative to Sample Robot.

EDIT: Actually, I think it might be the first one that sounds like a possible alternative to Sample Robot.
Michael Rideout
Current keyboards: Yamaha YPT-400, PSR-E433, PSR-E443, PSR-EW400, MX49 BK
Current controllers: M-Audio Axiom 61-II
Previous keyboards: Farfisa Matador 611; Casio CTK-710
anotherscott
Member
Member
Posts: 112
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 6:36 pm
United States of America

Re: sample robot for MODX

Unread post by anotherscott » Fri Nov 30, 2018 2:46 pm

There are numerous sampling apps. Extreme Sample Converter which you mention is supposed to be very good, though I don't believe it's been updated in 5-10 years, and it's Windows only. There's also Samplit (cross platform), and Apple has the functionality in Logic (added after they bought Redmatica). But Sample Robot is good and actually creates a MODX-compatible file. With the others, I think you'd still look to the Melas Waveform Editor to create the final files.
Post Reply

Return to “Yamaha MODX Forum”