Modx7 Help! Saving different MASTER fader level in each Performance & other issues

Covers the Yamaha MODX6, MODX7 and MODX8

Moderators: Derek, parametric, Saul

User avatar Mexico
Luis
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2018 4:06 am
Contact:

Modx7 Help! Saving different MASTER fader level in each Performance & other issues

Unread post by Luis » Tue Dec 11, 2018 4:43 am

Hi!

I recently purchased a Modx7 and Im quite happy with it. I own an Xf6 and Im starting to use the Modx 7 instead. I compared them both with the same sound banks and the truth is I find the xf has a bit of more Low end or body in the voices, is it just me?

Anyway I have a couple problems with my Modx which I haven't been able to find any info in the user manual or online...

1,
The first one would be mixing between performances. I want to carefully level all my performances between my live set so I don't have to adjust the physical master knob on the keyboard. I noticed going to the mixer in each performance theres a master level but every time I adjust it to level I want, and save the performance, whenever I switch the performance it goes back to where it was without my Save. I noticed that If a make a Brass Split the master sets to max 127 but for other sounds is around 80. This is a problem because I have a couple of Performances that resulted a bit down in volume compared to others and im afraid that if I lower all levels I´ll end up having a low gain output. I`d like to know if theres a way to save a custom level in the master fader for each performance?

2,
My other issue is when having a Mic connected to the ADinput. I mainly use it for vocoder but I also use it for backing vocals in some songs and Im having trouble since the level varies between performances and is active in some and inactive in others. I have it set to mic in utilities and have the adinput switch next to the gain knob activated. How can I balance it in each performance? I haven't found a signal path for the mic or a level other than the knob.
The vocoder I use is the preset "funky Vocoder" I like it because it doesn't let the main voice through only the processed vocoder voice but if I use it in a split sometimes the same preset lets my real voice through when combined with other parts. How can I deactivate it? Or is there a way to select which parts let the ad input through?

It would be amazing if someone could help me in this matter!

Thanks!

Luis
User avatar Bulgaria
Kal1n_M
Member
Member
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2018 6:23 am
Contact:

Re: Modx7 Help! Saving different MASTER fader level in each Performance & other issues

Unread post by Kal1n_M » Fri Dec 21, 2018 4:55 am

The answer to your first question has been already covered several times in this forum. The best way to approach different performances output levels is not by setting their individual master faders, but by their Live Set slot Volume. Look at the Reference Manual, Live Set Edit section.
While I cannot answer the second question directly, I am pretty sure the answer is also somewhere in the Reference manual...
User avatar Mexico
Luis
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2018 4:06 am
Contact:

Re: Modx7 Help! Saving different MASTER fader level in each Performance & other issues

Unread post by Luis » Wed Dec 26, 2018 4:52 pm

Thank You! will def look into that!
User avatar Germany
Stevie18
Product Specialist
Product Specialist
Posts: 234
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2018 4:49 pm
Contact:

Re: Modx7 Help! Saving different MASTER fader level in each Performance & other issues

Unread post by Stevie18 » Wed Dec 26, 2018 6:55 pm

For question 2: If you are in the performance home screen press the edit button. Then on the left you have the various tabs. One is named "Audio In". You can adjust the volume for the A/D in and also for the Digital In. And also various other settings can be adjusted there. In the "Ins A" and "Ins B", "Routing", and "EQ" sub-tabs you can also adjust the effects which are used exclusively by the A/D in, set an EQ for the A/D in and decide how the effects are connected.

All those settings are by default saved with the performance. However, if you do not want that you can press "Utility", go to the "Effect Switch" tab and set the "Global A/D" to "On". Then all the A/D settings are not switched with the performance. For some for me unfathomable reason, this setting is not saved but lost when you switch the instrument off. Also the settings for the volume and effects are not remembered in the "Global A/D" mode. I hope Yamaha changes that with some update.

One addition to question 1: If you have dealt with preset performances and change their settings and save them, then you need to understand, that they are saved to a different place - in the user bank. So any Live Set slots which use them will still use the preset performance and you won't see any of your changes. You have to let a Live Set slot point to the user bank performances. Then in the future the Live Set slot will see the changes in the performances. The only notable exception is the master volume which is is Kal1n_M writes stored in the Live Set directly.
Post Reply

Return to “Yamaha MODX Forum”