Setting category for new performances

Covers the Yamaha MODX6, MODX7 and MODX8

Moderators: Derek, parametric, Saul

User avatar Germany
TotoFan
Member
Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2018 11:48 pm

Setting category for new performances

Unread post by TotoFan » Wed Dec 12, 2018 2:26 pm

Probably I'm just stupid - but could not find a way to assign a performance into a category. Could somebody point me to the right section of the UI?

Thanks
User avatar Germany
TotoFan
Member
Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2018 11:48 pm

Re: Setting category for new performances

Unread post by TotoFan » Wed Jan 16, 2019 6:22 pm

Tried again and again - no luck. Any suggestions?
User avatar Great Britain
mick_n
Member
Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 1:00 am

Re: Setting category for new performances

Unread post by mick_n » Tue Feb 19, 2019 3:43 pm

Same here, cannot for the life of me find how yp do this "simple" task.
EX5, W7, MU100R, Motif 6 classic, roland SC33, Motif rack ES, Akai MPK88,Casio PX5S, MOXF 6, MODX 8,
User avatar United States of America
Kurzweil
Member
Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2019 10:18 pm

Re: Setting category for new performances

Unread post by Kurzweil » Tue Feb 26, 2019 11:26 pm

How about the way we create documents when we like the formatting of an old one? Just pick a patch that is already in the desired category and edit by importing layers, etc. (I have not actually learned the MODX yet because I have not actually bought one YET.
User avatar Germany
TotoFan
Member
Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2018 11:48 pm

Re: Setting category for new performances

Unread post by TotoFan » Thu Feb 28, 2019 12:14 pm

I think I found something useful - basically the category of the first voice in the performance will determine the category. Or so is my understanding by reading docs and experimenting.
User avatar Australia
pax-eterna
Member
Member
Posts: 249
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2018 10:25 pm

Re: Setting category for new performances

Unread post by pax-eterna » Thu Feb 28, 2019 6:34 pm

The John Melas Editing apps can assign any category you want to a performance. Unfortunately Yamaha decided to not allow users to create their own.
http://www.jmelas.gr/montage/products.php

For example I would find a category of SPLITS to be very useful!
User avatar Great Britain
astrange4
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 08, 2019 9:59 pm

Re: Setting category for new performances

Unread post by astrange4 » Wed May 08, 2019 10:06 pm

Hi TotoFan,
I've been looking for exactly this feature. Just some way to assign a new performance to any category, or even the "unassigned" category.
Couldn't find it either and thought I was just missing something obvious!!

I'll try that "use the category of the first part of the performance" method and see if that works.

Thanks.

Alan.
Post Reply

Return to “Yamaha MODX Forum”