MODX - yet more arp questions

Covers the Yamaha MODX6, MODX7 and MODX8

Moderators: Derek, parametric, Saul

Great Britain
mitya
Member
Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2018 12:26 pm

MODX - yet more arp questions

Unread post by mitya » Sat Dec 15, 2018 7:07 pm

Thanks for all the help so far, guys. I'm learning a lot but come across more questions as I go.

1) Is it possible in any way to have a part in arp mode BUT also respond to key presses? As far as I can see, if both arp part and arp master are on, the part will play in arp, and during that will not respond to key presses. My use case here is I'd like to play snare/toms to make fill-ins over drum arps.

2) Related to 1, if not the approach I was imagining, is there a way to trigger fill-ins on drum arps?

3) Is there a way in a drum arp to change the snare that's being used? I realise I can change the snare drum on the snare key for non-arp use via the drum key setting, but can I change the individual drum sounds in a drum arp?

4) Arps generally - is it possible to change, mid perforamnce, the arp number on a part? Sticking with drum arps, I might have arp 1 as a basic beat, and for a section of the song want to change to arp 2 which is a more involved beat, e.g. using a ride rather than high-hat symbol.

5) More a point of discusson, really... I find it really weird that all arp parts in a performance are tied to the same arp number; that is, if I have two parts set to arp, and I edit one of them and change it to arp 2, the other part will change to ITS arp 2 as well. This has caught me out a few times and seems a really strange design decision... can anyone more knowledgeable than I explain why they might have done this?

6) Drum keys - I notice you can't set the very highest or lowest keys (at least on the MODX8) to trigger drums; not sure if this was for certain keys only, but there was definitely a key where I wanted to set the very top note as the snare key, and it didn't register during key select - the highest note I could use was (for example), 5 or 6 notes lower. Why would that be?
Last edited by mitya on Sun Dec 16, 2018 12:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar Germany
Stevie18
Product Specialist
Product Specialist
Posts: 225
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2018 4:49 pm

Re: MODX - yet more arp questions

Unread post by Stevie18 » Sat Dec 15, 2018 9:04 pm

1+2) I believe you can achieve what you want if in the part's ARP screen you set the Key Mode to "Sort + Direct"
3) You would have to change the drum mapping to achieve that - or create an new ARP which has the right keys pressed.
4) You can do that using scenes. You can go to the Arpeggio -> Individual tab of each part and there can select which ARP to play for that part in the slots 1-8. Then you can select a specific ARP slot to play for all parts. Press Shift + Scene [1-8] to store the ARP slot for a scene. Then you can switch between scenes, the MODX will select the ARP slot for all parts and all parts will play whatever ARP is in that slot.
5) See number 4, it is to allow switching ARPs using scenes.
6) Sorry, I did not understand the question... :)
Great Britain
mitya
Member
Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2018 12:26 pm

Re: MODX - yet more arp questions

Unread post by mitya » Sun Dec 16, 2018 12:58 pm

Thanks again, Stevie. I get the feeling I should be paying you as a tutor :D
I believe you can achieve what you want if in the part's ARP screen you set the Key Mode to "Sort + Direct"
Ah, so that's what key mode does for arps - I had wondered. On this topic, could you tell me, or point me to something that explains, what the terms found here - sort, direct, thru - mean? I've read things like this, and these terms are referenced but not explained.
You would have to change the drum mapping to achieve that - or create an new ARP which has the right keys pressed.
Yeah I was thinking I could make a new drum arp. When you say change the drum mapping, could you elaborate at all or point me in the direction of something I could study? I'm not sure what that entails.

My assumption was that, by going to the snare element of the drum part and changing the snare sound, that would update the arp, but I was wrong.
Sorry, I did not understand the question... :)
My bad. I was just saying that, when you try to assign a drum key, and have the key selector button highlighted (to physically press the key you want to use for a certain drum), it doesn't seem to respond to/allow you to select the very highest notes on the 88 keybed. So I couldn't set the snare drum key as the very top note, for example (at least in my experience) - the highest note I could select was maybe four or five notes down from the highest note (I don't remember exactly.)

Thanks again.
User avatar Germany
Stevie18
Product Specialist
Product Specialist
Posts: 225
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2018 4:49 pm

Re: MODX - yet more arp questions

Unread post by Stevie18 » Sun Dec 16, 2018 7:19 pm

To be honest I was never much interested in arps, so I don't know much about them. Sorry. So I can only explain a bit (and that might not be totally correct).

The direct mode means that the keys you play are directly sounding. So far that's easy. What the other modes do depends really on the arpeggio if it was done if fixed mode, org mode, or normal mode. There is a tutorial about that:

https://www.yamahasynth.com/montage-cat ... 01-montage

Generally at

https://www.yamahasynth.com/montage-category

there are tons of tutorials which are very well done and very helpful.

In normal mode arps, the "sort" mode means that the notes you play on the keyboard are picked up, sorted by tone height and then fed to the arp notes in the order in which the arp notes sound. That means that only the keys which you pressed are taken into account and not the order in which they were pressed. In the "through" mode, the order in which you pressed the keys is taken into account. When adding "direct" the keys are fed into the arp but they also play directly.

You can totally create a new arp, the tutorial above should help there. If you want to use an existing arp but only change the drums which are sounding you have to change the individual drums programmed into the drum part.
My assumption was that, by going to the snare element of the drum part and changing the snare sound, that would update the arp, but I was wrong.
That's also my assumption and for me it works. I just tried. I selected some drum performance ("Real Drums Kit"), set an arp to part 1 (MA_Pop Rock1) and enabled the arp playing and triggered it. Then I edited part1 element1 which is the bass drum. Then I selected in the upper right corner the name of the drum sample. I could use the scroll wheel to change the sample.

Note that for drum parts you can really select one drum sample per key. So there is much more than bass, snare, tom, ... Maybe your edits did not work because you did not edit the right key but just one of the snares, but not the one which was sounding?

When you select the first element then the "Drum Key" in the right lower corner should show "C1" and the green light in that field should blink when the bass drum is sounding. Pressing "keyboard select" above "Drum Key" allows you to press a key and thus select which sample you edit. You then see the key and you see the little virtual led blinking when it is sounding. Try going through the keys to find which one is actually sounding in the arp. If it blinks when the snare sounds it is the right one. Try to edit that one...
Great Britain
mitya
Member
Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2018 12:26 pm

Re: MODX - yet more arp questions

Unread post by mitya » Wed Dec 26, 2018 3:29 pm

Stevie you've done it again.

This had me very perplexed. If you set up a performance with one part, the default drum kit, and give it its default arp, then the drum keys align to what the arp is playing, hence I was confused as to why this is NOT the case with Synthetic Kit / FA1 Big Beat 2 which, as you rightly suggest, is using other drums not already mapped to the drum keys. Hence I was confused as hell as to why, when trying to swap out the drum keys, the arp wasn't changing, even though the key light was lighting up.

Thanks as ever.

On a minor note, do you know of any way to remind yourself which kit a part is using after you've renamed the part? Highlighting it then going to category search doesn't default to the already-selected part (as it probably should), so that's no help. Can't seem to see a way.

Continued thanks and hope you had a good Christmas.
User avatar Germany
Stevie18
Product Specialist
Product Specialist
Posts: 225
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2018 4:49 pm

Re: MODX - yet more arp questions

Unread post by Stevie18 » Wed Dec 26, 2018 7:03 pm

Thanks, Christmas was great, hope it was the same for you!

Let's assume you added a drum part to some existing piano performance. For example let's assume you have chosen "Real Drums Kit". Then if you are in the performance home screen you can press on the little "Type/Name" button to the left of all the part names. Pressing that button toggles between the display of the type and the name of the part. You should then see the name "Real Drums Kit" in the slot for the drums. Not sure if that was the question you are asking, but maybe it helps...
Great Britain
mitya
Member
Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2018 12:26 pm

Re: MODX - yet more arp questions

Unread post by mitya » Wed Dec 26, 2018 8:54 pm

It does indeed, but not if you've renamed it... I was asking whether it was possible to discern later which kit you're using if you've renamed the part.
User avatar Germany
Stevie18
Product Specialist
Product Specialist
Posts: 225
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2018 4:49 pm

Re: MODX - yet more arp questions

Unread post by Stevie18 » Wed Dec 26, 2018 10:00 pm

Okay, then no, there is no way I know of. At that moment there is no connection back to the performance from where it came. It is a copy which is completely on its own.
User avatar Great Britain
parametric
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3490
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 1:00 am
Contact:

Re: MODX - yet more arp questions

Unread post by parametric » Thu Dec 27, 2018 12:46 am

Perhaps if you remember to ADD "RDK" (or whatever) to the end, when you rename the Part . . .

to remind you which kit is used?

parametric
Alesis Fusion 8SSD AND 6SSD - BOTH are 384Mb/120Gb SSD/Akai ADVANCE61/Yamaha MOXF6/1024Mb Flash Ram/Yamaha SY85/8.5mb vol/1024k non-vol/DX21/Roland MT32/Bachmann double overstrung Baby Grand Piano/Win10 Pro/Ubuntu MATE 15.0.4/iBook G4/Mac OS 10.4.6/ProTools 7.4/MBox2/M-Audio MicroTrack 24/96

NI Komplete11 Ultimate

Sector101 2x SYEMB06 / 4 x EXM-E3 128MB DRAM Module

BRAND NEW DSDD (720k) FLOPPY DISKS FOR SALE - http://www.yamahaforums.co.uk/forum/vie ... =22&t=9217

Watch out now! take care, BEWARE of the greedy leaders! They'll take you where you should not go - (George Harrison)

IT'S TRUE - "MONEY TALKS" - TO ME, IT MOSTLY SAYS "GOODBYE" ;-)
http://www.chrisnmiller.co.uk/Chris
Great Britain
mitya
Member
Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2018 12:26 pm

Re: MODX - yet more arp questions

Unread post by mitya » Thu Dec 27, 2018 10:48 am

Thanks guys. Yes it seems that's the only way.
Post Reply

Return to “Yamaha MODX Forum”