MODX Live Sets

Covers the Yamaha MODX6, MODX7 and MODX8

Moderators: Derek, parametric, Saul

User avatar United States of America
northridgedave
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2019 10:34 am

MODX Live Sets

Unread post by northridgedave » Wed Jan 02, 2019 10:47 am

If you edit a Performance that is in use in a number of different Live Sets, will that edit be re-recognized automatically in previously programed Live Sets. My logic mind says yes but I'd like to be certain.
User avatar Wales
Derek
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4535
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:00 am
Contact:

Re: MODX Live Sets

Unread post by Derek » Wed Jan 02, 2019 2:42 pm

Hi,

Yes is the answer. A live set slot is only a “pointer” to the performance. So it will pick up any edits to the performance. If you want two live set slots to be different then you will need to make a copy of the performance for one of them
Regards
Derek Cook

http://www.carregddu.co.uk
http://www.echoes-music.co.uk
http://www.xfactory-librarians.co.uk
http://www.ex5tech.co.uk
User avatar United States of America
northridgedave
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2019 10:34 am

Re: MODX Live Sets

Unread post by northridgedave » Wed Jan 02, 2019 5:47 pm

Thanks. Appreciate the quick response.
User avatar Germany
Stevie18
Product Specialist
Product Specialist
Posts: 225
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2018 4:49 pm

Re: MODX Live Sets

Unread post by Stevie18 » Wed Jan 02, 2019 5:59 pm

While Derek is over 99% right (not sure how many parameters are in a performance more than a hundred, one parameter is different, so more than 99% :-) ), there is one notable exception which lead to confusion in some cases. That's why I mention it: The overall performance volume is the exception. That volume is used if you recall the performance outside of the Live Set screen. It is also used when you store the performance to a Live Set. But if you change the volume it will not apply to any existing Live Set slot referencing that performance. This is a feature which may be quite useful when you want to edit the relative volumes of a number of performances in a Live Set. But it is important to note that you would have to manually go through all Live Sets using a performance if you want to change the volume for all of them.
User avatar United States of America
northridgedave
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2019 10:34 am

Re: MODX Live Sets

Unread post by northridgedave » Fri Jan 04, 2019 4:08 am

Thank you for that detail!
Post Reply

Return to “Yamaha MODX Forum”