So, NAMM has been and gone - and...

Covers the Yamaha MODX6, MODX7 and MODX8

Moderators: parametric, Derek, Saul

User avatar Germany
Stevie18
Product Specialist
Product Specialist
Posts: 225
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2018 4:49 pm

Re: So, NAMM has been and gone - and...

Unread post by Stevie18 » Fri Feb 01, 2019 10:43 pm

anotherscott wrote:
Fri Feb 01, 2019 10:38 pm
Motif XF and MOXF had the same sound set.
Yes, that's correct. But the UI was very different as far as I remember. The display was much smaller in the MOXF as well. So the software to implement the UI was different - at least. The Montage and the MODX in contrast are really the same interface. I think they are a couple of #ifdef's in the C/C++ code which do the differentiation betweeen the models - similar for Montage 6/7/8.
User avatar Germany
Stevie18
Product Specialist
Product Specialist
Posts: 225
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2018 4:49 pm

Re: So, NAMM has been and gone - and...

Unread post by Stevie18 » Fri Feb 01, 2019 10:45 pm

Derek wrote:
Fri Feb 01, 2019 5:24 pm
Agree on the cost of software, as I used to run a software engineering team, and I have pointed it out before. Some changes are trivial five minute fixes, others can get very expensive. But even the five minute fixes need testing.
Very true. I am still running a software engineering team and there's no uncertainty about that. Still, what I mean is that there is a fundamental difference in complexity between implementing a new synth engine, a full blown sequencer, a full blown sampler or something like adding a display that the transpose function is on. Or something like making the kbd control switchable between scenes.
Last edited by Stevie18 on Fri Feb 01, 2019 10:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar Ireland
Saul
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11395
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2004 1:00 am
Contact:

Re: So, NAMM has been and gone - and...

Unread post by Saul » Fri Feb 01, 2019 10:50 pm

The software development world is a pretty foggy area for most consumers. The end results are often trivial in nature for us but the work that goes into bringing these seemingly small changes to the great masses is very often both monumental and costly!
Saul
Site Admin
Subscribe To Our YouTube Channel!
Review Yamahamusicians.com on Trustpilot
Sign up to the Newsletter
Follow us on Twitter @YamahaMusicians
Follow Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Tumblr
Dowina Acoustic Guitars: Dowina Cabernet DC
Dowina Chardonnay GAC DS - Dowina Rustica GAC - Dowina Marus - Dowina Puella

Yamaha FS-TA/Vintage VE2000GG Gordon Giltrap/Ibanez AE245/Arturia Keylab 61 MKII/Arturia Analog Lab 3/Arturia Piano V2/Pianoteq 6 Pro/Apple iMac 27"/Logic Pro X/Ableton Live 10/Behringer QX1202USB Mixer/Presonus Eris 4.5 Active Monitors
User avatar Canada
vertig0spin
Member
Member
Posts: 143
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2018 3:15 am

Re: So, NAMM has been and gone - and...

Unread post by vertig0spin » Sun Feb 03, 2019 2:02 am

Stevie18 wrote:
Fri Feb 01, 2019 10:45 pm
Very true. I am still running a software engineering team and there's no uncertainty about that. Still, what I mean is that there is a fundamental difference in complexity between implementing a new synth engine, a full blown sequencer, a full blown sampler or something like adding a display that the transpose function is on. Or something like making the kbd control switchable between scenes.
But even the major complexity of software engineering a new synth engine, sequencer, etc., I would think that is still less expensive to implement than a full hardware & software redesign (i.e. A completely new upgraded Montage or MODX hardware release - new hardware)...

I would think just the software engineering on the same hardware, would be much less time and expense than engineering a hardware upgrade and re-programming the software for it, like between the Korg Kronos and the Kronos 2.
User avatar United States of America
anotherscott
Member
Member
Posts: 296
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 6:36 pm

Re: So, NAMM has been and gone - and...

Unread post by anotherscott » Sun Feb 03, 2019 2:35 am

vertig0spin wrote:
Sun Feb 03, 2019 2:02 am
I would think just the software engineering on the same hardware, would be much less time and expense than engineering a hardware upgrade and re-programming the software for it
It depends. Sometimes it's easier to start with a clean slate and do something from scratch than it is to bolt something new into existing code.
User avatar Australia
pax-eterna
Member
Member
Posts: 249
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2018 10:25 pm

Re: So, NAMM has been and gone - and...

Unread post by pax-eterna » Sun Feb 03, 2019 3:47 am

Well for something like the LED when keyboard is transposed wouldn't be that difficult...it already comes on when in Octave shift and both buttons have LED's so there has to be a "0" command there somewhere that just needs to be changed to a 1 when the transpose function is accessed surely?

And having the Category selected "held" until changed by the user, I cannot see that being that complicated either..for similar reasons to above. Although it's be easier as it is only a software tab.
User avatar United States of America
anotherscott
Member
Member
Posts: 296
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 6:36 pm

Re: So, NAMM has been and gone - and...

Unread post by anotherscott » Sun Feb 03, 2019 4:11 am

pax-eterna wrote:
Sun Feb 03, 2019 3:47 am
Well for something like the LED when keyboard is transposed wouldn't be that difficult...it already comes on when in Octave shift and both buttons have LED's so there has to be a "0" command there somewhere that just needs to be changed to a 1 when the transpose function is accessed surely?
Ah, you triggered my truism: Whenever someone says "surely" it means they have no clue. ;-)

Anyway, there is no "0" command telling the system not to light on the transpose function. You don't program something NOT to happen, especially if you haven't even created a circumstance where it COULD happen. So what you're suggesting involves a bunch of new code, not simply changing one byte from a 0 to a 1,

Secondarily, it's not a great idea. Those LEDs already illuminate differently depending on how many octaves away you're shifting. What light state would you want it to use to indicate that the transpose function has been invoked instead of octave shift? And then what happens if you transpose and then you ALSO want to octave shift, what should the lights do then? And how are we supposed to keep track of all the permutations? IMO, a much better idea would be to change something on the primary display. Like put "TRANSPOSED +2" in bold red letters at the top of the display, or something like that.
User avatar Australia
pax-eterna
Member
Member
Posts: 249
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2018 10:25 pm

Re: So, NAMM has been and gone - and...

Unread post by pax-eterna » Sun Feb 03, 2019 4:17 am

yeah that works too - just something somewhere to remind the user the keyboard is transposed. Instead of having to waste valuable performance slots on a doubled up performance JUST to get a transposed version. Another alternative would be to allow a certain transpose value in a Live Set slot...it already allows a different volume to the performance so why not a transpose? I believe the Kronos Set system does this doesn't it?
Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Yamaha MODX Forum”