Change split in scenes

Covers the Yamaha MODX6, MODX7 and MODX8

Moderators: Derek, parametric, Saul

User avatar Netherlands
InternEd
Member
Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2019 9:37 am
Contact:

Change split in scenes

Unread post by InternEd » Sun Feb 17, 2019 6:03 pm

I'm trying to create a performance where the split I made changes per scene.
I looks like that doesn't work.
I want a first scene with only piano over the whole keyboard and a second scene where the upper part is brass.
But it looks like the keyboard range I set is global for the whole performance.

Is there a way to achieve this in any way?
User avatar Germany
Stevie18
Product Specialist
Product Specialist
Posts: 225
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2018 4:49 pm
Contact:

Re: Change split in scenes

Unread post by Stevie18 » Sun Feb 17, 2019 10:31 pm

You would have to use a third part. Duplicate the piano and set one to the lower keyboard range and the other to the upper range. Set the brass to the upper range. Then in the first scene mute the brass and unmute upper piano, in the second mute the upper piano and unmute the brass. Doing it this way allows the lower part to sustain when you switch scenes.

If you are using a piano with multiple parts that gets a bit tedious. Also you may run out of parts. So if you can use one of the pianos with only one part, e.g. a CFX. Or strip unimportant parts from the piano.
User avatar Netherlands
InternEd
Member
Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2019 9:37 am
Contact:

Re: Change split in scenes

Unread post by InternEd » Sun Feb 17, 2019 11:30 pm

Very good advice!
That’s a usable solution.
Post Reply

Return to “Yamaha MODX Forum”