Can't store a different master volume in MODX.

Covers the Yamaha MODX6, MODX7 and MODX8

Moderators: Derek, parametric, Saul

User avatar Portugal
redbaron
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2019 11:40 pm

Can't store a different master volume in MODX.

Unread post by redbaron » Mon Mar 11, 2019 12:08 am

Hello, I´m a new member, greetings everyone. I can't store a new master volume (only in parts) in the Mixing by creating a new performance. Help please! It's that a bug? Thank you all.
User avatar Germany
Stevie18
Product Specialist
Product Specialist
Posts: 225
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2018 4:49 pm

Re: Can't store a different master volume in MODX.

Unread post by Stevie18 » Mon Mar 11, 2019 4:38 am

Without knowing what exactly you are doing it’s difficult to answer the question. Be assured that this normally works!

Are you changing a preset performance? If yes then you cannot change the performance itself but you are storing it as a new user performance. If that’s what you are doing, then maybe you are actually accessing the preset performance again instead of recalling the new one?
This could easily happen, if you are accessing it from the Live Set screen... that one will still point to the preset!

Another common source of error is if you select it from a user Live Set and you have changed the volume in the Live Set screen. Then later changes to the performance ‘s volume won’t be visible when accessing the performance through the Live Set...
User avatar Portugal
redbaron
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2019 11:40 pm

Re: Can't store a different master volume in MODX.

Unread post by redbaron » Tue Mar 12, 2019 5:52 pm

Thank you Stevie18. Yes, I'm changing a default performance for live execution by adding new parts and modifying effects, key ranges, controls, part volumes, and so on. When I store it as a new performance in my Live Set bank, everything I did was kept. Only the master volume always remains the original.
Attachments
ModX.jpg
User avatar Germany
Stevie18
Product Specialist
Product Specialist
Posts: 225
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2018 4:49 pm

Re: Can't store a different master volume in MODX.

Unread post by Stevie18 » Tue Mar 12, 2019 9:24 pm

Okay, could it be that you first stored the new performance to a Live Set and then afterwards changed the master volume? Then it will stay the same if selected from the live set. You can then change the volume in the Live Set directly. Or store the same performance to the same Live Set Slot again.
Last edited by Stevie18 on Wed Mar 13, 2019 8:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar Portugal
redbaron
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2019 11:40 pm

Re: Can't store a different master volume in MODX.

Unread post by redbaron » Wed Mar 13, 2019 2:22 pm

Bingo! I have to load it from the the performance bank where it was stored and then restored as a new performance in the live set. The live set is not a bank it's an attachment list. That's it? Thank you very much Stevie18.
User avatar Germany
Stevie18
Product Specialist
Product Specialist
Posts: 225
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2018 4:49 pm

Re: Can't store a different master volume in MODX.

Unread post by Stevie18 » Wed Mar 13, 2019 8:20 pm

The Live Set is not containing the performances, it just points to the performances. Thus changes which are done to a performance will automatically be applied to all the places where a Live Set slot uses that performance. The only notable exception is the master volume. That one is copied to the Live Set slot at the moment the Live Set slot is written to. From that moment on all changes to the master volume of the performance will not have any effect when the performance is selected from the Live Set screen. In that case the master volume written to the Live Set slot prevails. The idea is most probably that you can use a performance for many songs but might need a different volume for different songs. I like that, but this has lead to a lot of confusion, you were not the only one...

Again, all other changes to a performance will have an effect even if the performance was selected from any of the Live Set slots pointing to that performance.
Post Reply

Return to “Yamaha MODX Forum”