RE: Suitable Metronome Replacement (help?)

Kick back and talk about anything here. Music or non Music related..Anything goes....within reason!

Moderators: Derek, parametric, Saul

User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Super Patch Creator
Super Patch Creator
Posts: 1739
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 7:37 pm

RE: Suitable Metronome Replacement (help?)

Unread post by monsterjazzlicks »

Hi folks,

Since lockdown I have been practising every day for around 30 mins; just scales and similar.

I have used, for many years, a Korg MA30 metronome. It has always been OK-isk in that it kinda' does the job. But it's gettin' a bit tired now.

When I hit 50 my hearing began to deteriorate (age and wear and tear I guess!).

I am looking for a replacement at around the 20GBP mark if possible (I don't want/need anything anywhere near as complex as a drum-machine - it would just be a waste of money). The Korg one I currently own has an awful mini-jack output which is in 'mono'. I can't hear the thing very well (via it's speaker) if I start playing my keyboard loudly. Plus, it only goes down to 'one-beat = 40'. I had though of using Cubase to practice alongside but it's just going to be a pain in the butt, logistically, having to keep jumping up and down, and faffing around with leads etc; I preferably need the device in front of me.

I have been looking at this one (by Boss) on Amazon (please see link):

It goes down to 'one-beat = 30'. Has stereo output (looks like 1/4" jack?). The display looks bigger than on my Korg (my eyesight is also going downhill!). There are an array of functions I will never use (like 'tuning') but I think it has the meat and potatoes of what I require. Unless, of course, anyone else can offer a more suitable suggestion?

Running on batteries is fine because they always seem to last forever.

Many thanks in advance for any kind assistance offered here.

Best,

Paul David Seaman (UK)

https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00 ... 1OLE&psc=1


Cubase 9.5 / Sibelius 8.5

Dell Inspiron N5040, Windows 10 Home, 16GB RAM, 64-bit, 2.13gHz, Service Pack 1.

User avatar
parametric
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4424
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 1:00 am
Location.: Near Watford, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: RE: Suitable Metronome Replacement (help?)

Unread post by parametric »

Don't discount one of these, Paul . . .

26 Quid off amazon . . .



The swinging arm also gives you a VISUAL Beat to follow . . . .

. . and the Bell can be set to mark the first beat of the bar . . . .or [Off]

+ NO batteries required . . . . :lol:

THIS is also interesting.

Keeping in time is so crucial to what we all (try) to do - that rhythm is often overlooked, and as individuals, we are all

MORE or LESS good at it . . .

This vid starts of Easy - but gets more complex as it goes along . . . . :o




Chris
Alesis Fusion 8SSD AND 6SSD - BOTH are 384Mb/120Gb SSD/Akai ADVANCE61/Yamaha MOXF6/1024Mb Flash Ram/Yamaha SY85/8.5mb vol/1024k non-vol/DX21/Roland MT32/Bachmann double overstrung Baby Grand Piano/Win10 Pro/Ubuntu MATE 15.0.4/iBook G4/Mac OS 10.4.6/ProTools 7.4/MBox2/M-Audio MicroTrack 24/96

NI Komplete11 Ultimate

Sector101 2x SYEMB06 / 4 x EXM-E3 128MB DRAM Module

BRAND NEW DSDD (720k) FLOPPY DISKS FOR SALE - http://www.yamahaforums.co.uk/forum/vie ... =22&t=9217

Watch out now! take care, BEWARE of the greedy leaders! They'll take you where you should not go - (George Harrison)

IT'S TRUE - "MONEY TALKS" - TO ME, IT MOSTLY SAYS "GOODBYE" ;-)
http://www.chrisnmiller.co.uk/Chris

User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Super Patch Creator
Super Patch Creator
Posts: 1739
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 7:37 pm

Re: RE: Suitable Metronome Replacement (help?)

Unread post by monsterjazzlicks »

Hi Chris,

Thanks for your response.

I forgot to include a couple more preferences (my bad!).

The metronome will need to be placed (ie. balacne) on top of the Nord's front panel. There are many knobs and dials (ie. uneven) which is why my current design is suffice in this regard. Secondly, on the Nord Electro there in a mini-jack 'monitor in' of which you can hook up an iPod, or similar. Because I always practice with headphones on, it is my desire to feed the output of the new metronome into the 'monitor in' (of the Nord) so that I will be able to hear both the piano sound and the metronome's click.

Personally, I have never favoured the the traditional wind-up type models simply because they (obviously) start to drag after a certain amount of time (ie. when they approach needing to be wound-up again).

Ta,

Paul

User avatar
Rara
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 548
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 4:34 pm
Location.: Australia

Re: RE: Suitable Metronome Replacement (help?)

Unread post by Rara »

I have something that would probably suit. (not for sale though, Its no longer working until i fix it)
If ever you can find one of these, (which is probably older than I am)
or something like it, i think this would be perfect.

This is small about 8cms square, 5cm deep and runs on a 9v battery.
There is a little speaker on the back, it wouldn't be difficult
to put a little mini socket on it somewhere to plug into your nord.

This one is a MetroTone I by Pulse Designs.
20200519_225730b.jpg
20200519_225730b.jpg (63.5 KiB) Viewed 335 times
Rara 0-)

User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Super Patch Creator
Super Patch Creator
Posts: 1739
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 7:37 pm

Re: RE: Suitable Metronome Replacement (help?)

Unread post by monsterjazzlicks »

Hi Rara,

Thanks a lot.

But I need a device which goes as slow as '30', or even slower. In fact I never set it faster than '48'!

Ta,

Paul

User avatar
parametric
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4424
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 1:00 am
Location.: Near Watford, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: RE: Suitable Metronome Replacement (help?)

Unread post by parametric »

monsterjazzlicks wrote:
Mon May 18, 2020 6:44 pm
I forgot to include a couple more preferences (my bad!).
My bad . . . .? . . . . . Leg? . . . . . .back? . . . . . feet? :confusion-confused:

I've not come across this before?

Chris
Alesis Fusion 8SSD AND 6SSD - BOTH are 384Mb/120Gb SSD/Akai ADVANCE61/Yamaha MOXF6/1024Mb Flash Ram/Yamaha SY85/8.5mb vol/1024k non-vol/DX21/Roland MT32/Bachmann double overstrung Baby Grand Piano/Win10 Pro/Ubuntu MATE 15.0.4/iBook G4/Mac OS 10.4.6/ProTools 7.4/MBox2/M-Audio MicroTrack 24/96

NI Komplete11 Ultimate

Sector101 2x SYEMB06 / 4 x EXM-E3 128MB DRAM Module

BRAND NEW DSDD (720k) FLOPPY DISKS FOR SALE - http://www.yamahaforums.co.uk/forum/vie ... =22&t=9217

Watch out now! take care, BEWARE of the greedy leaders! They'll take you where you should not go - (George Harrison)

IT'S TRUE - "MONEY TALKS" - TO ME, IT MOSTLY SAYS "GOODBYE" ;-)
http://www.chrisnmiller.co.uk/Chris

User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Super Patch Creator
Super Patch Creator
Posts: 1739
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 7:37 pm

Re: RE: Suitable Metronome Replacement (help?)

Unread post by monsterjazzlicks »

Hi Chris,

"My bad", I am pretty certain, is an American colloquialism.

The opposite ("my good") does not exist, to the best of my knowledge - I would say it's a bit nonsensical.

Ta.

User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Super Patch Creator
Super Patch Creator
Posts: 1739
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 7:37 pm

Re: RE: Suitable Metronome Replacement (help?)

Unread post by monsterjazzlicks »

... does anyone have any thoughts, or insight, into the 'Boss' model I originally posted, please?

Ta.

Paul

https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00 ... musicia-21

User avatar
Rara
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 548
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 4:34 pm
Location.: Australia

Re: RE: Suitable Metronome Replacement (help?)

Unread post by Rara »

I looked the DB30 up on the boss website.
it has what you are after, goes down to 30bpm, has a headphone mini jack
stereo to from what was mentioned in the video
(you could plug that into your keyboards monitor in)
and lights flash with the time, I think that'd be the one to get :-)

Rara 0-)

User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Super Patch Creator
Super Patch Creator
Posts: 1739
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 7:37 pm

Re: RE: Suitable Metronome Replacement (help?)

Unread post by monsterjazzlicks »

Hi Rara,

Do you think it has a mini-jack or 1/4"-jack output, please? I seemed to think the latter for some reason?

Ta,

Paul

User avatar
Rara
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 548
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 4:34 pm
Location.: Australia

Re: RE: Suitable Metronome Replacement (help?)

Unread post by Rara »

I am not used to the older measurements, I was a tad confused for bit, made me think what is a 1/4 inch... :doh:
anyway....
Boss website states "PHONES Jack (Stereo miniature phone type)"
That will be 3.5mm or 1/8th inch,
you'll see headphone jack at 1:21 in the video below.



Rara 0-)

User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Super Patch Creator
Super Patch Creator
Posts: 1739
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 7:37 pm

Re: RE: Suitable Metronome Replacement (help?)

Unread post by monsterjazzlicks »

Hi Rara,

Thanks a lot for the link. Yes, I would say that you are correct regarding the 1/8" output.

Ta,

Paul

Post Reply