EX5R SD Card

The EX5 features a unique Extended Synthesis system which incorporates a number of advanced tone generator technologies. AWM2, AN, FDSP and VL. The EX5 is one of the best keyboard Yamaha ever produced.

Moderators: Derek, parametric, Saul

Post Reply
User avatar
petras
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2020 11:43 pm

EX5R SD Card

Unread post by petras »

Hello,
i own sound module Yamaha EX5r. I bought SCSI2SD 3.5" 50-Pin SCSI To SD Card Adaptor itead.cc -V5.0a
I updated scsi2sd Win 7 - update v4.8.4,
installing by viewtopic.php?f=29&t=8493

I can't format sd card on Yamaha EX5r

The EX5R seem to recognize the drive as it shows me 'FD0' and 'MO0' as the two connected drive options to choose from.
Disk menu and format the M0.
but the EX5R always says '--NoMedia--' 'Disk not ready!'
EX5R Device= MO [ --NoMedia- ]
I set the drive to SCSI ID 1 and the EX5R is on the default ID 2. no other SCSI devices are connected to the EX5R. The Termination switch on the EX5R SCSI card is set to 'on'.
I've tried 3 different cards-2,4,8GB,always says '--NoMedia--' 'Disk not ready!'

I'd like some advice or recommendation how to make it work

Thank you



User avatar
parametric
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4530
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 1:00 am
Location.: Near Watford, United Kingdom
Contact:

VIP

Re: EX5R SD Card

Unread post by parametric »

Hi Petras - and welcome to the forums . . . . .

I've never owned one of these - but, looking at the Manual . . . .regarding SCSI
Since the “TOOL” disk included in the ZIP/JAZ drives has a special type of processing, the EX5/5R/7 cannot format these disks. Therefore use a computer to format the disk using the ZIP/JAZ included software. In general, theEX5/5R/7 can format normal ZIP/JAZ disks. For more information on ZIP/JAZ disks, refer to the owner’s manual for the respective products
Since the SCSI-SD interface is an aftermarket solution, the manual can't be of much help.

I would try formatting the SD card on your computer and then try again in the EX5r

I can't say what format though. Try FAT16 and FAT32?

There's a number of users in here who I'm sure can be more help than I . . . . :wink:

ATB

parametric


Alesis Fusion 8SSD AND 6SSD - BOTH are 384Mb/120Gb SSD/Akai ADVANCE61/Yamaha MOXF6/1024Mb Flash Ram/Yamaha SY85/8.5mb vol/1024k non-vol/DX21/Roland MT32/Bachmann double overstrung Baby Grand Piano/Win10 Pro/Ubuntu MATE 15.0.4/iBook G4/Mac OS 10.4.6/ProTools 7.4/MBox2/M-Audio MicroTrack 24/96

NI Komplete11 Ultimate

Sector101 2x SYEMB06 / 4 x EXM-E3 128MB DRAM Module

BRAND NEW DSDD (720k) FLOPPY DISKS FOR SALE - http://www.yamahaforums.co.uk/forum/vie ... =22&t=9217

Watch out now! take care, BEWARE of the greedy leaders! They'll take you where you should not go - (George Harrison)

IT'S TRUE - "MONEY TALKS" - TO ME, IT MOSTLY SAYS "GOODBYE" ;-)
http://www.chrisnmiller.co.uk/Chris

User avatar
petras
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2020 11:43 pm

Re: EX5R SD Card

Unread post by petras »

Hello,

thank you for your tips and advice, unfortunately i tried it and it still isn't working

I'll keep trying anyway, maybe someone else have some advice!

Thanks again!



User avatar
petras
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2020 11:43 pm

Re: EX5R SD Card

Unread post by petras »

Hello All
How do you prepare the card for SCSI2SD ?
Actually I've checked the log of scsi util and it reports

13:16:15: Programming flash array 1 row 250
13:16:15: Programming flash array 1 row 251
13:16:15: Save Complete.
13:16:17: SCSI2SD Ready, firmware version 4.8.4
13:16:17: SD Capacity (512-byte sectors): 0
SD CSD Register: 00000000000000000000000000000000
SD CID Register: 00000000000000000000000000000000

SD Capacity: 0 ?
Is this normal?



User avatar
parametric
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4530
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 1:00 am
Location.: Near Watford, United Kingdom
Contact:

VIP

Re: EX5R SD Card

Unread post by parametric »

No, capacity 0 does not sound normal . . . .

The fact that SCSI util IS giving a result would seem to indicate that it is SEEING the card, but there is something that

it is NOT happy about.

This is the problem with these sort of undertakings . . . .

You have a 30 year-old controller looking at a device that is perhaps only a few years old . . . .

If it can't see something it is familiar with, it will refuse to work as expected . . . .

Standards are wonderful things - which is why there are so many of them :roll:

A small tweak in the spec of the SCSI-SD could be enough to make it unintelligible to the controller IYSWIM?

I had this same Question when I sought to upgrade my Alesis Fusions to SSD internal drives.

They arrived with 80GB PATA IDE Hard Disks. - So the internal controller was PATA . . . .

I had to source PATA SSDs from China - and it worked - they now have 128GB SSDs.

The internal controllers would only format to 120GB (That's set in Stone!) but hey, it's not a problem . . .

I feel sure that EX5r - SCSI-SD HAS been done . . . You need to find and talk to someone who has done this . . . .

Perhaps <Derek> might know?

ATB

parametric


Alesis Fusion 8SSD AND 6SSD - BOTH are 384Mb/120Gb SSD/Akai ADVANCE61/Yamaha MOXF6/1024Mb Flash Ram/Yamaha SY85/8.5mb vol/1024k non-vol/DX21/Roland MT32/Bachmann double overstrung Baby Grand Piano/Win10 Pro/Ubuntu MATE 15.0.4/iBook G4/Mac OS 10.4.6/ProTools 7.4/MBox2/M-Audio MicroTrack 24/96

NI Komplete11 Ultimate

Sector101 2x SYEMB06 / 4 x EXM-E3 128MB DRAM Module

BRAND NEW DSDD (720k) FLOPPY DISKS FOR SALE - http://www.yamahaforums.co.uk/forum/vie ... =22&t=9217

Watch out now! take care, BEWARE of the greedy leaders! They'll take you where you should not go - (George Harrison)

IT'S TRUE - "MONEY TALKS" - TO ME, IT MOSTLY SAYS "GOODBYE" ;-)
http://www.chrisnmiller.co.uk/Chris

User avatar
tux
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2012 1:42 am
Location.: Europe

Re: EX5R SD Card

Unread post by tux »

petras wrote:
Sat Jan 18, 2020 1:31 pm
How do you prepare the card for SCSI2SD ?
Did you actually run the SCSI2SD utility on your PC with the SCSI2SD connected via USB to the PC and the SD card inserted to prepare it?

This needs to be done first before you connect the SCSI2SD to your EX5R.


My Yamaha RM50 page
My Yamaha synths: RM50, TG77, TG500, CS6R (with PLG150-AN and PLG150-DX)

User avatar
petras
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2020 11:43 pm

Re: EX5R SD Card

Unread post by petras »

I did exactly what you wrote before but it gave me the report with SD Capacity (512-byte sectors): 0 I posted above.
I think the problem is with SCSI2SD



Post Reply