Yamaha DX9 and save data sound in a digital recorder

This section is for all variants of the Yamaha DX series. DX1/DX100/DX11/DX21/DX27/DX27S/DX5/ DX7/DX7IID/DX7IIFD/DX7S/DX9/TX81Z/TX7

Moderators: Derek, parametric, Saul

User avatar Italy
newbiedx
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2019 4:14 pm
Contact:

Yamaha DX9 and save data sound in a digital recorder

Unread post by newbiedx » Tue Mar 12, 2019 4:29 pm

Hello guys, I'm new in this forum. I used a lot of synthesizers but none FM synth. I bought a Yamaha DX 9 and I'm starting to explore it.
My question: is it possibile to save the sound data on a digital recorder and re-load it? I tried with a sony PX-240 (https://www.sony.it/electronics/registr ... /icd-px240) and I hear the data sound but when I try to load in the DX 9 no way to load them. I tried with different volume setup but no way. Is it possibile? Any suggestion?
Thank you!

L.
User avatar Great Britain
parametric
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3623
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 1:00 am
Contact:

Re: Yamaha DX9 and save data sound in a digital recorder

Unread post by parametric » Wed Mar 13, 2019 2:10 am

Hi newbiedx and welcome to the forums . . .

I take it you mean to RECORD the digital "Shriek", that is the data stream that used to be done with a cassette (data) recorder?

Using THIS lead . . .?

Yamaha-style cassette data cable.jpg
Yamaha-style cassette data cable.jpg (8.84 KiB) Viewed 154 times
These are the connections, if you have to make your own . . . . .

IGNORE the 2.5mm <Remote> lead.

(Only when used with a Computer to control a Cassette DataRecorder - this is NOT Supported on the DXes)

data-cable-schematic-mm.jpg
data-cable-schematic-mm.jpg (14.21 KiB) Viewed 154 times

If so, then YES it can be done . . .

I did this with Yamaha's free DxClub cassette of Voices/Performances for the dx series of synths.

Like you, I recorded the stream as audio on my M-Audio MicroTrack 24/96, and sent the audio files as .mp3s to our member

Paul (<Sonus>) who converted them to SysEx. They are in here somewhere as a download.

These were recorded from a cassette (which I have) and so were dependent on the quality of the cassette recording.

We got most of them. Details are here: viewforum.php?f=182

You need to record a good level without distortion . . . Then, when playing the files back to the synth, make sure you

are plugged into the correct socket on the synth . . . it's then just a matter of getting the level right for the Synth to receive . . .

Remember you have to switch the Memory Protect OFF to do this . . .

I think when the Synth is switched ON, Memory Protect is ON by default . . . . ?

Hope that helps

parametric
Alesis Fusion 8SSD AND 6SSD - BOTH are 384Mb/120Gb SSD/Akai ADVANCE61/Yamaha MOXF6/1024Mb Flash Ram/Yamaha SY85/8.5mb vol/1024k non-vol/DX21/Roland MT32/Bachmann double overstrung Baby Grand Piano/Win10 Pro/Ubuntu MATE 15.0.4/iBook G4/Mac OS 10.4.6/ProTools 7.4/MBox2/M-Audio MicroTrack 24/96

NI Komplete11 Ultimate

Sector101 2x SYEMB06 / 4 x EXM-E3 128MB DRAM Module

BRAND NEW DSDD (720k) FLOPPY DISKS FOR SALE - http://www.yamahaforums.co.uk/forum/vie ... =22&t=9217

Watch out now! take care, BEWARE of the greedy leaders! They'll take you where you should not go - (George Harrison)

IT'S TRUE - "MONEY TALKS" - TO ME, IT MOSTLY SAYS "GOODBYE" ;-)
http://www.chrisnmiller.co.uk/Chris
User avatar Italy
newbiedx
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2019 4:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Yamaha DX9 and save data sound in a digital recorder

Unread post by newbiedx » Mon Mar 25, 2019 10:23 am

Hey, thanks for the answer!
Luckly the DX9 has the 3 tape ports on the rear (minijack).
I discovered the sony recorder I used has a bad quality, so I tried with a zoom H2n and everything is ok (I can save and read data on the zoom).
Long life to the DX9 :)
Many thanks!

Luca
User avatar Great Britain
parametric
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3623
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 1:00 am
Contact:

Re: Yamaha DX9 and save data sound in a digital recorder

Unread post by parametric » Mon Mar 25, 2019 4:09 pm

You're Welcome Luca . . .

Glad you got it working! ((i))

parametric
Alesis Fusion 8SSD AND 6SSD - BOTH are 384Mb/120Gb SSD/Akai ADVANCE61/Yamaha MOXF6/1024Mb Flash Ram/Yamaha SY85/8.5mb vol/1024k non-vol/DX21/Roland MT32/Bachmann double overstrung Baby Grand Piano/Win10 Pro/Ubuntu MATE 15.0.4/iBook G4/Mac OS 10.4.6/ProTools 7.4/MBox2/M-Audio MicroTrack 24/96

NI Komplete11 Ultimate

Sector101 2x SYEMB06 / 4 x EXM-E3 128MB DRAM Module

BRAND NEW DSDD (720k) FLOPPY DISKS FOR SALE - http://www.yamahaforums.co.uk/forum/vie ... =22&t=9217

Watch out now! take care, BEWARE of the greedy leaders! They'll take you where you should not go - (George Harrison)

IT'S TRUE - "MONEY TALKS" - TO ME, IT MOSTLY SAYS "GOODBYE" ;-)
http://www.chrisnmiller.co.uk/Chris
Post Reply

Return to “Yamaha DX & TX Forum”