Yamaha DX21 (Help?)

This section is for all variants of the Yamaha DX series. DX1/DX100/DX11/DX21/DX27/DX27S/DX5/ DX7/DX7IID/DX7IIFD/DX7S/DX9/TX81Z/TX7

Moderators: Derek, parametric, Saul

User avatar
Miks
Specialist Moderator
Specialist Moderator
Posts: 2131
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 1:00 am
Location.: Germany

Re: Yamaha DX21 (Help?)

Unread post by Miks »

Here's a nice display that (electrically) will fit.
https://www.buydisplay.com/default/1602 ... -backlight
I have just checked the pin-out against the schematic - 1-14 is exactly the same pin-out as of the old display. Pin 15 & 16 is for the LED backlight (which the old one doesn't have). Take care for the mechanical dimensions - maybe this display is a little thicker (due to the backlight) 8O . But maybe the metal frame (carrying the display) could be worked on so the new display fits... that's what I would do if I were in this situation... 8)

Oh, and make sure to order a display for the correct supply voltage if you want to order one of these - you'll need a 5 volt type - NOT a 3.3 volt!
My (key related) gear (in alphabetical order):
Ferrofish: B4000+
Kawai: K1 II
Korg: M1 (up'd to EX, w/ 'Cool Blue'), M1REX (w/ 'Cool Blue'), Poly-800
Roland: D-50, D-110, D-550, PG-1000
Yamaha: AW1600, DX7IID (w/ 'Cool Blue'), EX5R, RM50, RX5, SY99 (w/ 'Cool Blue'), TG500,
TX-802, YMM2
Sector101: SYEMB05 (5x), SYEMB06 (3x), EXFLM2 (1kit), MCD Sweet16 (1x), DataBlade32 (1x),
WaveBlade 8MB Card (1x) & 1x Programmer Unit for WaveBlade

User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Super Patch Creator
Super Patch Creator
Posts: 1735
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 7:37 pm

Re: Yamaha DX21 (Help?)

Unread post by monsterjazzlicks »

Saul wrote:
Sun Jul 15, 2018 8:20 pm
Yet another very weird and completely nonsensical idea to leave out LOCAL OFF on the DX21. If someone can explain the rationale behind that decision I would love to hear it.
Saul,

I think it was because the DX21 was not designed to be a CONTROLLER type of keyboard. It would be more of a RECEIVER. Whereas the DX7 is touch-sensitive and able to transmit more parameters.

Ta,

Paul

User avatar
Saul
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12743
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2004 1:00 am
Location.: UK, West Sussex
Contact:

Re: Yamaha DX21 (Help?)

Unread post by Saul »

Even the simplest of keyboards has Local ON/OFF. Every keyboard I have owned or used had this function and I am going way back over 30 years or so. The Early PSR's that came out at the same time as the DX21 had Local ON/OFF so really there is no sensible reason why something like the DX21 or DX27 should not have it especially since they have MIDI In/Out/Thru ports.
Saul
Site Admin
#masks4all

Subscribe To Our YouTube Channel!
Review Yamahamusicians.com on Trustpilot
Sign up to the Newsletter
Follow us on Twitter @YamahaMusicians
Follow Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Tumblr
Dowina Acoustic Guitars: Dowina Cabernet DC
Dowina Chardonnay GAC DS - Dowina Rustica GAC - Dowina Marus - Dowina Puella

Please Note: This site is supported by Amazon Associate advertising links. Any links in my posts may lead to products on the Amazon website. These will not incur any extra cost to you but may help me via the generation of a small commission should you choose to purchase a product.

User avatar
parametric
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4403
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 1:00 am
Location.: Near Watford, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Yamaha DX21 (Help?)

Unread post by parametric »

Looking at the midi Implementation chart in the Manual, it does list Local on/off as an "Auxiliary Function",

but the "x" indicates that the DX21 neither transmits or recognises that function. 8O

So you are left with the Midi on/off switch.

So if you want to have the DX21 itself controlled by midi, you can, just set the midi switch to ON

and don't play the keys . . . . :roll:

parametric
Alesis Fusion 8SSD AND 6SSD - BOTH are 384Mb/120Gb SSD/Akai ADVANCE61/Yamaha MOXF6/1024Mb Flash Ram/Yamaha SY85/8.5mb vol/1024k non-vol/DX21/Roland MT32/Bachmann double overstrung Baby Grand Piano/Win10 Pro/Ubuntu MATE 15.0.4/iBook G4/Mac OS 10.4.6/ProTools 7.4/MBox2/M-Audio MicroTrack 24/96

NI Komplete11 Ultimate

Sector101 2x SYEMB06 / 4 x EXM-E3 128MB DRAM Module

BRAND NEW DSDD (720k) FLOPPY DISKS FOR SALE - http://www.yamahaforums.co.uk/forum/vie ... =22&t=9217

Watch out now! take care, BEWARE of the greedy leaders! They'll take you where you should not go - (George Harrison)

IT'S TRUE - "MONEY TALKS" - TO ME, IT MOSTLY SAYS "GOODBYE" ;-)
http://www.chrisnmiller.co.uk/Chris

User avatar
Saul
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12743
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2004 1:00 am
Location.: UK, West Sussex
Contact:

Re: Yamaha DX21 (Help?)

Unread post by Saul »

So really if you wanted to use the DX21 purely to control another synth and by control I am only talking about actually playing the notes, your only option is to not connect the audio out of the DX21 or turn the volume down whilst using it to play another keyboard or piece of software. Who at Yamaha thought that was a great way to construct a MIDI enabled keyboard?
Saul
Site Admin
#masks4all

Subscribe To Our YouTube Channel!
Review Yamahamusicians.com on Trustpilot
Sign up to the Newsletter
Follow us on Twitter @YamahaMusicians
Follow Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Tumblr
Dowina Acoustic Guitars: Dowina Cabernet DC
Dowina Chardonnay GAC DS - Dowina Rustica GAC - Dowina Marus - Dowina Puella

Please Note: This site is supported by Amazon Associate advertising links. Any links in my posts may lead to products on the Amazon website. These will not incur any extra cost to you but may help me via the generation of a small commission should you choose to purchase a product.

User avatar
Miks
Specialist Moderator
Specialist Moderator
Posts: 2131
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 1:00 am
Location.: Germany

Re: Yamaha DX21 (Help?)

Unread post by Miks »

parametric wrote:Looking at the midi Implementation chart in the Manual, it does list Local on/off as an "Auxiliary Function", but the "x" indicates that the DX21 neither transmits or recognises that function. 8O
If you look at the midi implementation chart of the DX7IID/FD it shows exact the same - but the DX7IID/FD indeed HAS the 'Local ON/OFF' feature implemented... 8O
My (key related) gear (in alphabetical order):
Ferrofish: B4000+
Kawai: K1 II
Korg: M1 (up'd to EX, w/ 'Cool Blue'), M1REX (w/ 'Cool Blue'), Poly-800
Roland: D-50, D-110, D-550, PG-1000
Yamaha: AW1600, DX7IID (w/ 'Cool Blue'), EX5R, RM50, RX5, SY99 (w/ 'Cool Blue'), TG500,
TX-802, YMM2
Sector101: SYEMB05 (5x), SYEMB06 (3x), EXFLM2 (1kit), MCD Sweet16 (1x), DataBlade32 (1x),
WaveBlade 8MB Card (1x) & 1x Programmer Unit for WaveBlade

User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Super Patch Creator
Super Patch Creator
Posts: 1735
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 7:37 pm

Re: Yamaha DX21 (Help?)

Unread post by monsterjazzlicks »

parametric wrote:
Tue Jul 17, 2018 2:08 am
Looking at the midi Implementation chart in the Manual, it does list Local on/off as an "Auxiliary Function",

but the "x" indicates that the DX21 neither transmits or recognises that function. 8O

So you are left with the Midi on/off switch.

So if you want to have the DX21 itself controlled by midi, you can, just set the midi switch to ON

and don't play the keys . . . . :roll:
That is correct, all joking apart.

User avatar
cake100
Member
Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2018 5:55 am

Re: Yamaha DX21 (Help?)

Unread post by cake100 »

Hello,
I picked up a replacement LCD and installed it having to cut and modify the steel encasing thing to fit it in.

Now how do I get the factory settings back as I only have the INIT voice?

Cheers.

User avatar
Miks
Specialist Moderator
Specialist Moderator
Posts: 2131
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 1:00 am
Location.: Germany

Re: Yamaha DX21 (Help?)

Unread post by Miks »

Please see user's manual page 19: A11 'Load Internal Memory' - it shows how to load the voices from the internal ROM to the internal RAM 8)
My (key related) gear (in alphabetical order):
Ferrofish: B4000+
Kawai: K1 II
Korg: M1 (up'd to EX, w/ 'Cool Blue'), M1REX (w/ 'Cool Blue'), Poly-800
Roland: D-50, D-110, D-550, PG-1000
Yamaha: AW1600, DX7IID (w/ 'Cool Blue'), EX5R, RM50, RX5, SY99 (w/ 'Cool Blue'), TG500,
TX-802, YMM2
Sector101: SYEMB05 (5x), SYEMB06 (3x), EXFLM2 (1kit), MCD Sweet16 (1x), DataBlade32 (1x),
WaveBlade 8MB Card (1x) & 1x Programmer Unit for WaveBlade

User avatar
cake100
Member
Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2018 5:55 am

Re: Yamaha DX21 (Help?)

Unread post by cake100 »

Thanks. I figured it out.

User avatar
Miks
Specialist Moderator
Specialist Moderator
Posts: 2131
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 1:00 am
Location.: Germany

Re: Yamaha DX21 (Help?)

Unread post by Miks »

My pleasure! 0-)
My (key related) gear (in alphabetical order):
Ferrofish: B4000+
Kawai: K1 II
Korg: M1 (up'd to EX, w/ 'Cool Blue'), M1REX (w/ 'Cool Blue'), Poly-800
Roland: D-50, D-110, D-550, PG-1000
Yamaha: AW1600, DX7IID (w/ 'Cool Blue'), EX5R, RM50, RX5, SY99 (w/ 'Cool Blue'), TG500,
TX-802, YMM2
Sector101: SYEMB05 (5x), SYEMB06 (3x), EXFLM2 (1kit), MCD Sweet16 (1x), DataBlade32 (1x),
WaveBlade 8MB Card (1x) & 1x Programmer Unit for WaveBlade

User avatar
Abux
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2019 3:14 am

Re: Yamaha DX21 (Help?)

Unread post by Abux »

cake100 wrote:
Mon Jul 23, 2018 2:35 pm
Hello,
I picked up a replacement LCD and installed it having to cut and modify the steel encasing thing to fit it in.

Now how do I get the factory settings back as I only have the INIT voice?

Cheers.
How difficult was the modification, I’m thinking of doing the same thing

Post Reply