FZ-1 display cable

Casio have made some great keyboards over the years and not always received the credit they deserved. If you have a Casio this is your section. Post your reviews, questions and opinions here.

Moderators: Derek, parametric, Saul

User avatar
computterman
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2018 2:17 pm
France

FZ-1 display cable

Unread post by computterman » Fri Oct 19, 2018 2:22 pm

hello, i'm new in this forum, and i just acquired an Casio FZ-1 in good condition but lcd display has no light
i opened it to see it was not dirty or rusty and i discovered this cable coming from lcd display but not wired at anything
i looked for a place to plu in but i swa no place for it
can someone help me where i can plug this cable so i can maybe have the backlight of the screen?

thanx a lot
Attachments
4.jpg
5.jpg
User avatar
Saul
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10448
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2004 1:00 am
Contact:
Ireland

Re: FZ-1 display cable

Unread post by Saul » Fri Oct 19, 2018 2:45 pm

Hi computterman, welcome to the forums :)

Given the length of that cable I would guess it will plug into the main board somewhere...the one the keybed is attached to.

We have members who own the FZ-1 and may be able to help. Allow for time differences though as some are in the USA and others in Australia...I am sure there are more of course ;)
Saul
Site Admin
Subscribe To Our YouTube Channel!
Review Yamahamusicians.com on Trustpilot
Sign up to the Newsletter
Follow us on Twitter @YamahaMusicians
Follow Us On Facebook
Dowina Acoustic Guitars: Dowina Cabernet DC
Dowina Chardonnay GAC DS - Dowina Rustica GAC - Dowina Marus - Dowina Puella

Seagull S6 Original/Vintage VE2000GG Gordon Giltrap/Ashbury AG-160/Roland FA-07/Pianoteq 6 Pro/Amplitube 3.0/Apple iMac 27"/Logic Pro X/Cubase AI 9/Absynth 5/Ableton Live 9/KRK Rokit RP5 G3 Monitors
User avatar
Miks
Specialist Moderator
Specialist Moderator
Posts: 1702
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 1:00 am
Germany

Re: FZ-1 display cable

Unread post by Miks » Fri Oct 19, 2018 3:15 pm

Hi computterman,

please try to find the "PCB - M5336 - ASIM" board. Once you've located it, look for a connector named "CL" - must have 2 pins (poles). That's where that cable should be connected.

Hope it helps :wink:

Best,
Miks

EDIT: there's the ASIM board...
ASIM.jpg
ASIM.jpg (42.62 KiB) Viewed 1055 times
My (key related) gear (in alphabetical order):
Ferrofish: B4000+
Kawai: K1 II
Korg: M1 (up'd to EX, w/ 'Cool Blue'), M1REX (w/ 'Cool Blue'), Poly-800
Roland: D-50, D-110, D-550, PG-1000
Yamaha: AW1600, DX7IID (w/ 'Cool Blue'), EX5R, RM50, RX5, SY99 (w/ 'Cool Blue'), TG500, TX-802, YMM2
Sector101: SYEMB05 (5x), SYEMB06 (3x), EXFLM2 (1kit), MCD Sweet16 (1x), WaveBlade 8MB Card (1x) & 1x Programmer Unit for WaveBlade
User avatar
Saul
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10448
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2004 1:00 am
Contact:
Ireland

Re: FZ-1 display cable

Unread post by Saul » Fri Oct 19, 2018 3:21 pm

Nice one Miks (Y)
Saul
Site Admin
Subscribe To Our YouTube Channel!
Review Yamahamusicians.com on Trustpilot
Sign up to the Newsletter
Follow us on Twitter @YamahaMusicians
Follow Us On Facebook
Dowina Acoustic Guitars: Dowina Cabernet DC
Dowina Chardonnay GAC DS - Dowina Rustica GAC - Dowina Marus - Dowina Puella

Seagull S6 Original/Vintage VE2000GG Gordon Giltrap/Ashbury AG-160/Roland FA-07/Pianoteq 6 Pro/Amplitube 3.0/Apple iMac 27"/Logic Pro X/Cubase AI 9/Absynth 5/Ableton Live 9/KRK Rokit RP5 G3 Monitors
User avatar
Miks
Specialist Moderator
Specialist Moderator
Posts: 1702
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 1:00 am
Germany

Re: FZ-1 display cable

Unread post by Miks » Fri Oct 19, 2018 3:24 pm

I'm just doin' my job... 8) :lol:
My (key related) gear (in alphabetical order):
Ferrofish: B4000+
Kawai: K1 II
Korg: M1 (up'd to EX, w/ 'Cool Blue'), M1REX (w/ 'Cool Blue'), Poly-800
Roland: D-50, D-110, D-550, PG-1000
Yamaha: AW1600, DX7IID (w/ 'Cool Blue'), EX5R, RM50, RX5, SY99 (w/ 'Cool Blue'), TG500, TX-802, YMM2
Sector101: SYEMB05 (5x), SYEMB06 (3x), EXFLM2 (1kit), MCD Sweet16 (1x), WaveBlade 8MB Card (1x) & 1x Programmer Unit for WaveBlade
User avatar
computterman
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2018 2:17 pm
France

Re: FZ-1 display cable

Unread post by computterman » Fri Oct 19, 2018 8:23 pm

wow i really appreciate your contributions
and you're so fast!
tomorrow i open my fz-1, and maybe so i will have backlight, i hope
thanx again and again ((i)) ((i)) ((i)) ((i)) ((i))
User avatar
Miks
Specialist Moderator
Specialist Moderator
Posts: 1702
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 1:00 am
Germany

Re: FZ-1 display cable

Unread post by Miks » Sat Oct 20, 2018 12:17 pm

I'll keep my fingers crossed - let us know how you go on. 0-)
My (key related) gear (in alphabetical order):
Ferrofish: B4000+
Kawai: K1 II
Korg: M1 (up'd to EX, w/ 'Cool Blue'), M1REX (w/ 'Cool Blue'), Poly-800
Roland: D-50, D-110, D-550, PG-1000
Yamaha: AW1600, DX7IID (w/ 'Cool Blue'), EX5R, RM50, RX5, SY99 (w/ 'Cool Blue'), TG500, TX-802, YMM2
Sector101: SYEMB05 (5x), SYEMB06 (3x), EXFLM2 (1kit), MCD Sweet16 (1x), WaveBlade 8MB Card (1x) & 1x Programmer Unit for WaveBlade
User avatar
Buzzard
Specialist Moderator
Specialist Moderator
Posts: 2423
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 7:38 pm
Contact:
Denmark

Re: FZ-1 display cable

Unread post by Buzzard » Sat Oct 20, 2018 7:21 pm

With little or no experience on the subject, I truly enjoyed reading this topic. :D

Thumbs up and hats off to Miks for this brilliant and precise illustrated solution.

I'll keep my fingers crossed too.

Regards
Peter
Yamaholic, Guitars, Amps and Bikes. :idea: My Guitars: http://www.yamahamusicians.com/forum/vi ... =24&t=7004 :idea:
Rara
Member
Member
Posts: 249
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 4:34 pm
Australia

Re: FZ-1 display cable

Unread post by Rara » Sun Oct 21, 2018 3:21 am

Hi,
if you found that cable disconnected when you bought your FZ1, that usually means the back light has failed.
The previous owner has disconnected the backlight to prevent any further damage to the circuits.
FZ1's are known also to corrupt sample data when there is a failed back-light. FZ1's are also well known
for premature back-light failure. (also known for dead dead keys).
Best thing to do is find an Iphone 4 backlight light, and as Miks suggested in a post (my fz1 i think)
de-solder the inverter.

The EL foil is glued to the back of the screen holder. To replace the back-light means removal of the entire display assembly.
You need to be ***very*** careful as the ribbon cables are thermal glued to the LCD and it doesn't take much to damage the joint.
then gently pry apart the black plastic frame around the LCD then peel off the old EL foil off the back of the frame.

Then you can pop in an Iphone 4 back-light cut down to the same size and connect to the same existing connector,
some resistors will be needed with the same wire.
use a theatre light gel to change colour of back-light. (parametrics idea that one)

Rara 0-)
Yamaha: SY35, SY77, SY85, TX7, PSR 4600 - Roland: Juno106, D110, MC307, MKB200 (x2)
Kawai: XD5 / Korg: Poly800Mk2 (moog slayer mod)
Casio: CZ1000, CZ5000, FZ-1 / E-MU: ESI 2000
Digitech studio 400 / Alesis SR-16 / Boss: Dr550mk2, SE-70
Tascam Porta 5 HS, MM1 / Studiomaster Fusion
Modded SX Bass, fat wires, Dimarzio DP250 pickups, Ernie Ball strings / Gliga 1
User avatar
Miks
Specialist Moderator
Specialist Moderator
Posts: 1702
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 1:00 am
Germany

Re: FZ-1 display cable

Unread post by Miks » Sun Oct 21, 2018 11:36 am

Rara wrote:Hi,
if you found that cable disconnected when you bought your FZ1, that usually means the back light has failed. The previous owner has disconnected the backlight to prevent any further damage to the circuits.
FZ1's are known also to corrupt sample data when there is a failed back-light. FZ1's are also well known
for premature back-light failure. (also known for dead dead keys).
Good hint there Rara ((i))
My (key related) gear (in alphabetical order):
Ferrofish: B4000+
Kawai: K1 II
Korg: M1 (up'd to EX, w/ 'Cool Blue'), M1REX (w/ 'Cool Blue'), Poly-800
Roland: D-50, D-110, D-550, PG-1000
Yamaha: AW1600, DX7IID (w/ 'Cool Blue'), EX5R, RM50, RX5, SY99 (w/ 'Cool Blue'), TG500, TX-802, YMM2
Sector101: SYEMB05 (5x), SYEMB06 (3x), EXFLM2 (1kit), MCD Sweet16 (1x), WaveBlade 8MB Card (1x) & 1x Programmer Unit for WaveBlade
Rara
Member
Member
Posts: 249
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 4:34 pm
Australia

Re: FZ-1 display cable

Unread post by Rara » Mon Oct 22, 2018 6:11 am

Hopefully it can be of some help :-)
Yamaha: SY35, SY77, SY85, TX7, PSR 4600 - Roland: Juno106, D110, MC307, MKB200 (x2)
Kawai: XD5 / Korg: Poly800Mk2 (moog slayer mod)
Casio: CZ1000, CZ5000, FZ-1 / E-MU: ESI 2000
Digitech studio 400 / Alesis SR-16 / Boss: Dr550mk2, SE-70
Tascam Porta 5 HS, MM1 / Studiomaster Fusion
Modded SX Bass, fat wires, Dimarzio DP250 pickups, Ernie Ball strings / Gliga 1
User avatar
computterman
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2018 2:17 pm
France

Re: FZ-1 display cable

Unread post by computterman » Wed Oct 24, 2018 8:17 am

thank you all for suggestions
i re-plug the connector on ASIM, the only thing that change is i can now change the contrast of the lcd, but i have no backlight
i ordered one on ebay, and i replace it, the backlight does not work
the seller tells me to measure the AC Voltage on backlight contacts. Should be between 90 and 150 V AC.
Maybe inverter is dead.
i'll measure it
but finally if it does not work i will let without light i'm not electronician!
User avatar
computterman
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2018 2:17 pm
France

Re: FZ-1 display cable

Unread post by computterman » Mon Oct 29, 2018 2:21 pm

hello
i measured ac voltage i have nothing
inverter is dead? i can't have backlight?
User avatar
Miks
Specialist Moderator
Specialist Moderator
Posts: 1702
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 1:00 am
Germany

Re: FZ-1 display cable

Unread post by Miks » Mon Oct 29, 2018 4:24 pm

This is the circuitry of the inverter part:
Inverter2.jpg
Inverter2.jpg (26.27 KiB) Viewed 659 times
The green surrounded area acts as an electronic switch - if you turn on the synth the transistor is still 'blocking' the '+VDD' voltage. The electrolytic capacitor is empty and getting loaded across the 33 Ω resistor, temporarily dragging the transistor's base to the voltage's negative side (Ground). The more the capacitor gets loaded the more positive gets the base - and the transistor gets 'conductive' and lets pass the +VVD - the inverter is 'switched on! This process takes a little time so the backlight gets switched on with a little delay (a volitional behaviour).

The blue area is a filter against radio interferences.

The 47µ/16V capacitor is for 'stabilizing purposes' of the +VDD coming across the 'electronic switch'.

The red area is the inverter circuitry itself...

Maybe one (or more) of the three electrolytic capacitors is/are broken... if it were my synth I would try to replace them first and see if the voltage for the EL-foil comes 'back to life' again... :think:
My (key related) gear (in alphabetical order):
Ferrofish: B4000+
Kawai: K1 II
Korg: M1 (up'd to EX, w/ 'Cool Blue'), M1REX (w/ 'Cool Blue'), Poly-800
Roland: D-50, D-110, D-550, PG-1000
Yamaha: AW1600, DX7IID (w/ 'Cool Blue'), EX5R, RM50, RX5, SY99 (w/ 'Cool Blue'), TG500, TX-802, YMM2
Sector101: SYEMB05 (5x), SYEMB06 (3x), EXFLM2 (1kit), MCD Sweet16 (1x), WaveBlade 8MB Card (1x) & 1x Programmer Unit for WaveBlade
Post Reply

Return to “Casio Keyboard Forum - CT-X, MZ, VZ1, FZ-1, CZ-1, CZ-5000, XW-G1, XW-P1”