Upgrading and restoring Casio FZ-1

All Casio keyboards and modules.

Moderators: Derek, parametric, Saul

User avatar
Rara
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 673
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 4:34 pm
Location.: Australia

VIP

Re: Upgrading and restoring Casio FZ-1

Unread post by Rara »

I have recently learned (chatting to someone via facebook who sounds like a Casio encyclopedia I learnt a lot :-) )
of another nightmare to this synth and that is the floppy drive.

Early models of the FZ1 have a Panasonic JU-386 Floppy drive which unlike Yamaha of
the time, is a direct drive high density floppy drive. Later versions of the FZ1 had a newer Panasonic
JU-255 floppy drive, with that there was a ROM revision. So, owners of the early FZ1 need to upgrade
the ROM to run the newer floppy drive.

Earlier in this thread I thought I had a bad belt in my drive, it turned out being so clogged with dust
and debris the motor driving the disk didn't spin. I Dismantled the floppy drive and gave it a blast with
compressed air at 60psi (a bit over kill ....) all was good.

However the JU-255 drive can not be speed switched. (I haven't seen any way of achieving this)
Casio in there infinite wisdom decided to use a non standard speed and disk format for there drive.

The disk format - IBM 300rpm 512bytes per sector 18 sectors per track 80 tracks per side
Casio - IIRC 360rpm 1024 bytes per sector 9 sectors per track 80 tracks per side,
which makes it impossible to back up floppys on pc or to load any samples via disk not made on FZ1.
Even if the sampling part of the FZ1 is ignored and only the synth part is used, there is still the issue
of having a non standard floppy drive for patch storage, as there is no battery backup for the ram.

I did try HXC floppy emulator software to read and dump my floppys in the hope I might be able
to convert some of them to my SY85 instead. Even that program was having a hard time
reading the disk. I canceled the floppy dump after 45 minutes, if this was anything to go by
I'll kill the floppy drive in my XP PC trying to read and dump the disks.
I attempted fz1 floppy tools for Linux from another website only to kill my Linux PC doing it.

Having midi sample dump as the only safe way of putting samples into this thing (except the audio in)
makes this synth more than redundant. Most of the drama could be alleviated by using the HXC floppy
emulator in the FZ1, with a dead LCD there is no point.

This has gotten to a point were I am spending more time fixing than playing.
As much as I love the cold dark gritty sound, spending anymore time
trying to keep this running has become pointless.

So, the FZ1 has been laid to rest. :/:

Rara 0-)
Last edited by Rara on Sat Jan 18, 2020 5:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.


Shop Solid Top Guitars Starting at $295
User avatar
parametric
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4596
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 1:00 am
Location.: Near Watford, United Kingdom
Contact:

VIP

Re: Upgrading and restoring Casio FZ-1

Unread post by parametric »

Very sorry to hear that the FZ has taken you to the limits of endurance over this . . .

It's almost as if it was designed to be unrepairable, from what you've described . . . .

What a nightmare - to use a non-standard drive speed. Surely using a standard drive would have been cheaper??? :roll:

When things like this happen - you start to deeply suspect the agenda of keeping "All things to themselves" -

which I HATE!

Apple did this famously with their early 800k floppy drives (VARIABLE read speed :roll: )

To my best knowledge - NOTHING was ever able to read the disks EXCEPT an apple drive . . . .

I don't know if you ever heard of Sydex? Back in the day, they made some softs that could do nifty things with Disks.

I found this in an archived document online . . .
SHAREWARE


Other Sydex Products


CON > FORMAT - Concurrent ''background' 1 diskette formatter. Features "pop-up"
operation and "hot key" activation. You’ve got to see it to believe. Supports all cur-
rent DOS formats. $15.00 ($50.00 site) registration fee.

22DISK - Transfer files, format, examine and erase files on "foreign" CP/M diskettes
on your PC. Includes tips on supporting 8" and 5.25" single-density diskettes. Con-
tains definitions for over 200 different formats. $15.00 ($40.00 site) registration fee.


22NICE - A CP/M 2.2 emulation package. Supports the NEC V-series chips or per-
forms emulation by software for both the 8080 and Z80 processors. Includes ter-
minal emulation and diskette handling for common CP/M systems. Includes
22DISK. $30.00 ($75.00 site) registration fee.

ANADISK - The compleat diskette utility. Nothing like it anywhere else; scan, edit,
repair and copy just about any kind of diskette. $15.00 ($50.00 site) registration fee.


COPYQM — Mass diskette duplicator. Format, copy and verify multiple diskettes
from a single master. Implements "no keyboard" interaction mode and drive "round
robin" servicing. Supports all standard DOS formats. $15.00 ($50.00 site) registra-
tion fee.

FORMATQM - Mass diskette formatter - format a box of diskettes at a single sitting.
Implements "no keyboard" interaction mode and drive "round robin" servicing. Sup-
ports all standard DOS formats. $10.00 ($40.00 site) registration fee.
When I first started with Computers - I was GIVEN an NEC PC8001 . . It was a CP/M beasty, with expanded

memory (to 64k :lol: ) with twin 5.25" DD Single-sided 180k floppy drives. When I eventually moved to DOS on a PC,

I used their SW to convert my data to be readable on PC Floppies . . . .

I just wonder if these old softs might enable you to get at your FZ floppies?

I still have loads of floppies from that time - possibly 22DISK and ANADISK . . . . . If I find them I could send them?

Do you know about DosBox? My partner Jan is a "Lemmings" fanatic. Her PC dual boots Win10 and WinXP

I got the Lemmings (DOS) games to run on one or the other, just fine - so these things ARE possible . . . .

I can fully sympathise that you've thrown in the towel - but I thought I'd mention it anyway ;)

ATB

parametric


Alesis Fusion 8SSD AND 6SSD - BOTH are 384Mb/120Gb SSD/Akai ADVANCE61/Yamaha MOXF6/1024Mb Flash Ram/Yamaha SY85/8.5mb vol/1024k non-vol/DX21/Roland MT32/Bachmann double overstrung Baby Grand Piano/Win10 Pro/Ubuntu MATE 15.0.4/iBook G4/Mac OS 10.4.6/ProTools 7.4/MBox2/M-Audio MicroTrack 24/96

NI Komplete11 Ultimate

Sector101 2x SYEMB06 / 4 x EXM-E3 128MB DRAM Module

BRAND NEW DSDD (720k) FLOPPY DISKS FOR SALE - https://yamahamusicians.com/720k-floppy-disks-for-sale/

Watch out now! take care, BEWARE of the greedy leaders! They'll take you where you should not go - (George Harrison)

IT'S TRUE - "MONEY TALKS" - TO ME, IT MOSTLY SAYS "GOODBYE" ;-)
http://www.chrisnmiller.co.uk/Chris
User avatar
Rara
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 673
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 4:34 pm
Location.: Australia

VIP

Re: Upgrading and restoring Casio FZ-1

Unread post by Rara »

Thanks,

All is not lost, the synth has been sold for scrap to another FZ1 owner, hoping to take the best bits of both
and make one working synth out of the two. His is not going, neither is mine.

I don't like having to chuck in the towel on a project I started, everything considered to get around the
hurdles with this, something else was in the way. it became frustrating, that was it.

The other fault (design) with the floppy drive was, it didn't stop spinning. From the moment it was inserted
to the time you were finished with it. Before I realized this, I wondered why I killed a few disks.
Load the sounds, start playing away, a few hours later I go to save, fz1 shows disk read error.

I do agree it seems as though this format of floppy was keeping it to themselves.
Yamaha was using IBM format IIRC in the DX7IIFD at the same time. even if only 720k it was a smart move.

When working, fz1 was a good synth capable of some very chilling sounds,
it's Achilles' heel was mostly the LCD,

Thanks for the offer of the programs :) What songs I did use my fz1 in,
I can redo sometime in the future with something else.

OMG Lemmings .... I was an addict for that :lol: and commander keen 4 :-D

Rara 0-)


User avatar
dmitrins
Member
Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2018 7:06 am

Re: Upgrading and restoring Casio FZ-1

Unread post by dmitrins »

Before I forget this, I want to tell a story about a strange malfunction in the FZ-1 and how it was fixed. I've tried to investigate the reasons why this happened, but it still not completely clear.
I got my instrument right away with a dead display and had never dealt with the FZ-1 before. Since I'm not a musician, but rather a technician, and the original goal was to create a new display, I didn't even bother checking the sound circuits. Digital circuits generally worked well, but sometimes the OS restarted spontaneously, especially after a long warm-up. Sometimes the FDD spontaneously start spinning with the gradually decreasing or increasing speed and then just as suddenly stop, so I disconnected the cables from it just in case.
I didn't pay attention to this for a long time, since I was debugging the adapter for the emulator at the time and I only needed to turn on the instrument for a couple of minutes to obtain data from the LCD port.
When I was finally able to see the user interface, I decided to sort out these mystical things.
My first thought, of course, was to check the power supply. I started measuring the voltages and the digital supply Vdd was too low, about 4.3v, and the FDD supply Vdf was about zero (+12v was ok at the same time). After a first look at the schematic, it became clear that the Vdf is produced by its own 7805 regulator connected to the same winding as the Vdd regulating circuit, but it turns on only after the Vdd reaches 4.5v.
That "Vdd OK" signal is generated by the M51954 voltage detector IC. When it becomes high, the Vdf regulator is turned on by T1 transistor and 5 volts is fed to the FDD. The same signal is used to generate a global reset signal (the pulse is generated using a series-connected cap)
After checking the operation of the M51954, I decided to disconnect the main Board and check the voltage on the power supply connectors.
And guess what I found?
VDD voltage was completely absent! Vdd and Vdf are both zero volts! But you probably ask how did something work at all? Most likely, +5v got to Vdd through some mixed signal ICs (probably ADC and DAC) that have a separate analog +5v (Vda). After a quick visual check, I found that the F1 fuse (orange winding) was blown out. Then I installed a new one, the Vdd voltage became +13v instead of +5v!!! No doubt that it had been even fed to digital circuits for some period of time while the fuse was good. Then I decided to remove the power supply board (and it wasn't easy :)) and find the problem. After checking the T2, T3, and two high-power 2SD1488 transistors, I found that the T3 (2SD400) is dead, C-E is shorted and board has turned black around its soldering points. Replaced it with 2SC2655, a few of which I found in the old ATX power supply. After switching on, all the voltages were spot on. To my surprise, no damage was done to the FZ1 and all mixed analog-digital circuits are working fine now.
The blackened area around the transistor T3 as well as the fact that the circuit has a current limiting feature (T2) and there are no visual signs of overheating of other components, most likely means that this fault was caused by a defective transistor that was overheating for a long time. Although this kind of problem is not very common, so I can't be 100% sure. Hope this details will be helpful for someone else.
ImageImageImage


User avatar
Rara
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 673
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 4:34 pm
Location.: Australia

VIP

Re: Upgrading and restoring Casio FZ-1

Unread post by Rara »

My rambling's on the floppy drive where perhaps a little TLDR.

I can tell another story on this saga now. I still have this FZ1.
Litigation believe it or not, prevented me from getting rid of this.
I had lined up some one to take it of me, I wrapped it up in plastic ready to be boxed up.
It sat in the shed in is plastic for almost 8 months.

The usual supplies of boxes IE, supermarkets would not let me have any because it was a health and safety risk ((i))
Local hardware stores would only allow one box per customer. ((i)) ((i)) meaning i would have had to go into store
a few time to make a few purchases enough to safely box the synth up. :roll: meanwhile on
the far side of the car park where empty pallets stacked up free for the taking. now what's a bigger safety risk? :lol:
Part of my problem with this was my biased views on this synth, add a serious dose of fibrofog. It is not a good
idea to be trying to tackle anything like this when the brain doesn't compute. It only leads to confusion then anxiety.

It was later discovered my FZ1 was developing a similar fault in the PSU to what was mentioned above in Dmitiri's post.
However there was no burnt out joints. I think this was nipped in the bud.
With a lot of his help the PSU was sorted out. T3 was flaky with fluctuating readings of Base to emitter and Base to collector.
Collector to emitter was showing a bad reading as well. a replacement 2SC2655 was ordered in the mean time
a temporary D400 was used, taken from the backlight inverter circuit. T2 was tested, unfortunately I broke a leg off it when straightening
the legs to put it back in after checking it, 2sc945 ordered for a replacement.

The previous floppy drive issue came down to the track zero sensor (first thought was the motor controller,
probing that revealed the 5v problem) and the 5v supply was dead, so to was 5v supply to the digital circuits.
There was a blown fuse, which had happened recently.
This has been ordered as well. At the moment with temporary patch ups the FZ1 is fully working and reading disks as it should.
There is still a bit more work to be done, the major hurdle is now out of the way.
Once the new parts arrive soon, it will be given a workout with a Zoom 9030 effects unit to go with it.

I have been very privileged to be able to trial a pre-production after market screen to weed out bugs (if any) with
the V1.1 ROM which my FZ has. So far things are looking very very good.

Casio_FZ1_new-lcd_Bootscreen.jpg
Casio_FZ1_new-lcd_menus_screen.jpg

Rara 0-)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


User avatar
parametric
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4596
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 1:00 am
Location.: Near Watford, United Kingdom
Contact:

VIP

Re: Upgrading and restoring Casio FZ-1

Unread post by parametric »

THAT display looks great Laura. I imagine you are delighted with the result . . .

So glad you have the FZ-1 back in the fold, so to speak . . . . .I think it was a firm favourite?

Chris


Alesis Fusion 8SSD AND 6SSD - BOTH are 384Mb/120Gb SSD/Akai ADVANCE61/Yamaha MOXF6/1024Mb Flash Ram/Yamaha SY85/8.5mb vol/1024k non-vol/DX21/Roland MT32/Bachmann double overstrung Baby Grand Piano/Win10 Pro/Ubuntu MATE 15.0.4/iBook G4/Mac OS 10.4.6/ProTools 7.4/MBox2/M-Audio MicroTrack 24/96

NI Komplete11 Ultimate

Sector101 2x SYEMB06 / 4 x EXM-E3 128MB DRAM Module

BRAND NEW DSDD (720k) FLOPPY DISKS FOR SALE - https://yamahamusicians.com/720k-floppy-disks-for-sale/

Watch out now! take care, BEWARE of the greedy leaders! They'll take you where you should not go - (George Harrison)

IT'S TRUE - "MONEY TALKS" - TO ME, IT MOSTLY SAYS "GOODBYE" ;-)
http://www.chrisnmiller.co.uk/Chris
User avatar
Rara
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 673
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 4:34 pm
Location.: Australia

VIP

Re: Upgrading and restoring Casio FZ-1

Unread post by Rara »

parametric wrote: Tue Aug 18, 2020 2:41 am THAT display looks great Laura. I imagine you are delighted with the result . . .

So glad you have the FZ-1 back in the fold, so to speak . . . . .I think it was a firm favourite?

Chris
Delighted :think: once i saw the screen light up and the boot screen.... :dance:
I am sure there will be a lot of FZ1 and HS1 owners eagerly awaiting a new screen.

FZ1 was a favourite, one of the very first synths I bought was CZ1000 may be this is the connection.
The flutes (Disc 58) on this fz1 sound like no other synth i have. played in a pentatonic scale with a bit of
delay, reverb sounds really nice. Kitaro might have something to do with that :)

This FZ1 still has a few minor issues to sort out, I get to those after I have spent more time
going over every function on the screen.

Rara 0-)


User avatar
Rara
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 673
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 4:34 pm
Location.: Australia

VIP

Re: Upgrading and restoring Casio FZ-1

Unread post by Rara »

I am still waiting for new components to arrive to finish the PSU and audio board,
It is taken an awful long time for these to get here.

I recently acquired a Zoom 9030 effects unit to go on this FZ1 and this needed minor work.
This effects unit had loose knobs, the pots particularly ,number 4 couldn't keep a steady value. it
always wandered a little bit. removal of the pots to clean and tighten them up did the trick,
while it was open all 6 knobs cleaned an tightened.

CasioFZ1-Zoom9030.jpg


FZ1 is working enough to record a short demo of the Dark Piano, which is on one of the casio disks.
This was an idea from noodling with the piano after the floppy was working.
This starts with dry piano and cross fades in wet with lots
of reverb, echo and EQ. post processing was idle gear noise removal.



Rara 0-)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


User avatar
dmitrins
Member
Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2018 7:06 am

Re: Upgrading and restoring Casio FZ-1

Unread post by dmitrins »

Rara wrote: Thu Sep 17, 2020 4:05 pm FZ1 is working enough to record a short demo of the Dark Piano, which is on one of the casio disks.
This was an idea from noodling with the piano after the floppy was working.
This starts with dry piano and cross fades in wet with lots
of reverb, echo and EQ. post processing was idle gear noise removal.
That is beautiful! ((i)) ((i)) ((i))


User avatar
parametric
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4596
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 1:00 am
Location.: Near Watford, United Kingdom
Contact:

VIP

Re: Upgrading and restoring Casio FZ-1

Unread post by parametric »

Very Nice Laura . . . .

I LOVE the way it BUILDS . . . .

That has a LOT of possibilities . . .

(welcome back FZ-1 - old friend . . . . )

Chris


Alesis Fusion 8SSD AND 6SSD - BOTH are 384Mb/120Gb SSD/Akai ADVANCE61/Yamaha MOXF6/1024Mb Flash Ram/Yamaha SY85/8.5mb vol/1024k non-vol/DX21/Roland MT32/Bachmann double overstrung Baby Grand Piano/Win10 Pro/Ubuntu MATE 15.0.4/iBook G4/Mac OS 10.4.6/ProTools 7.4/MBox2/M-Audio MicroTrack 24/96

NI Komplete11 Ultimate

Sector101 2x SYEMB06 / 4 x EXM-E3 128MB DRAM Module

BRAND NEW DSDD (720k) FLOPPY DISKS FOR SALE - https://yamahamusicians.com/720k-floppy-disks-for-sale/

Watch out now! take care, BEWARE of the greedy leaders! They'll take you where you should not go - (George Harrison)

IT'S TRUE - "MONEY TALKS" - TO ME, IT MOSTLY SAYS "GOODBYE" ;-)
http://www.chrisnmiller.co.uk/Chris
User avatar
Rara
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 673
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 4:34 pm
Location.: Australia

VIP

Re: Upgrading and restoring Casio FZ-1

Unread post by Rara »

dmitrins wrote: Fri Sep 18, 2020 10:27 pm
That is beautiful! ((i)) ((i)) ((i))
parametric wrote: Sat Sep 19, 2020 2:23 am Very Nice Laura . . . .

I LOVE the way it BUILDS . . . .

That has a LOT of possibilities . . .

(welcome back FZ-1 - old friend . . . . )

Chris
Thanks :-) I may do something with this I had a few ideas for it.

Rara 0-)


Post Reply