Casio FZ-1/VZ-1 Aftermarket screen?

Classic synths & pianos

Moderators: Derek, parametric, Saul

User avatar Denmark
Buzzard
Specialist Moderator
Specialist Moderator
Posts: 2466
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 7:38 pm
Contact:

Re: Casio FZ-1/VZ-1 Aftermarket screen?

Unread post by Buzzard » Tue Jul 10, 2018 4:53 pm

Miks wrote:
Tue Jul 10, 2018 9:04 am
Wow - nice craftsmanship! (Y) :D
EXACTLY ((i))
Even though I barely understand what it's all about, I appreciate the effort and craftmanship. GOOD JOB dmitrins :D
Yamaholic, Guitars, Amps and Bikes. :idea: My Guitars: http://www.yamahamusicians.com/forum/vi ... =24&t=7004 :idea:
User avatar Russia
dmitrins
Member
Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2018 7:06 am

Re: Casio FZ-1/VZ-1 Aftermarket screen?

Unread post by dmitrins » Wed Jul 11, 2018 7:52 am

Thanks guys! This board is quite simple and i didn't take into account many details that will be important in the final version, that's why it didn't take much time. But now comes the hard part - writing firmware :D
User avatar Russia
Rusynth
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2018 10:01 pm

Re: Casio FZ-1/VZ-1 Aftermarket screen?

Unread post by Rusynth » Wed Jul 11, 2018 10:07 pm

What about to make a Video-out to external VGA monitor (or RGB) like in S-760... :wink: maybe easy than adapt any new screen?
Australia
Rara
Member
Member
Posts: 304
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 4:34 pm

Re: Casio FZ-1/VZ-1 Aftermarket screen?

Unread post by Rara » Thu Jul 12, 2018 7:32 am

Welcome to the forum Rusynth, :)
Rusynth wrote:
Wed Jul 11, 2018 10:07 pm
What about to make a Video-out to external VGA monitor (or RGB) like in S-760... :wink: maybe easy than adapt any new screen?
Same idea as the S-33O.



I think something like that might need re-writing the original firmware in the FZ-1. the resolution of the original
screen is only 96x64, or for the adapter card to upscale the text/original graphics. Who knows how an upscaled screen
would work when the FZ-1 is in wavefrom view edit/loop mode 96,64 ---> 320x240 it may look a bit crude.

Rara 0-)
Yamaha: SY35, SY85, TX7, PSR 4600 - Roland: Juno106, MC307, MKB200
Kawai: XD5, Korg: Poly800Mk2 (moog slayer mod)
Digitech studio 400
Tascam Porta 5 HS, MM1, Studiomaster: Fusion
Modded SX Bass, fat wires, Dimarzio DP250 pickups, Ernie Ball strings / Gliga 1

To be resurrected: SY77,FZ1,CZ1000,CZ5000, MKB200
Retired: Dr550mk2,SE-70,SR-16,D110
Boat anchors: ESI2000 :angry-banghead:
User avatar
Dr. Woland
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2017 8:15 pm

Re: Casio FZ-1/VZ-1 Aftermarket screen?

Unread post by Dr. Woland » Thu Aug 09, 2018 4:43 pm

Wow, Thank you guys for all your efforts :D
I'm already drooling over the prospect of replacing the dreaded display!
Keep it up! ((i))
User avatar Russia
dmitrins
Member
Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2018 7:06 am

Re: Casio FZ-1/VZ-1 Aftermarket screen?

Unread post by dmitrins » Thu Aug 09, 2018 5:28 pm

Sorry for being silent all this time, the project has slowed down because of my main job, but hope soon I will make some progress.
User avatar Ireland
Saul
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10879
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2004 1:00 am
Contact:

Re: Casio FZ-1/VZ-1 Aftermarket screen?

Unread post by Saul » Thu Aug 09, 2018 5:36 pm

Fantastic to watch the progress on this, especially as the VZ-1 was one of the nicest keyboards I owned over the past 40 years. All I need really is the spare cash and the right timing for me to pick one up again and of course if it needed a new display there is now somewhere to go in order to get that sorted. Top job ((i)) ((i)) ((i))
Saul
Site Admin
Subscribe To Our YouTube Channel!
Review Yamahamusicians.com on Trustpilot
Sign up to the Newsletter
Follow us on Twitter @YamahaMusicians
Follow Us On Facebook
Dowina Acoustic Guitars: Dowina Cabernet DC
Dowina Chardonnay GAC DS - Dowina Rustica GAC - Dowina Marus - Dowina Puella

Yamaha FS-TA/Vintage VE2000GG Gordon Giltrap/Ibanez AE245/Arturia Keylab 61 MKII/Arturia Analog Lab 3/Arturia Piano V2/Pianoteq 6 Pro/Apple iMac 27"/Logic Pro X/Ableton Live 10/Behringer QX1202USB Mixer/Presonus Eris 4.5 Active Monitors
User avatar Russia
dmitrins
Member
Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2018 7:06 am

Re: Casio FZ-1/VZ-1 Aftermarket screen?

Unread post by dmitrins » Thu Aug 09, 2018 5:53 pm

Someday it will become true! I hope :lol:
Australia
Rara
Member
Member
Posts: 304
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 4:34 pm

Re: Casio FZ-1/VZ-1 Aftermarket screen?

Unread post by Rara » Fri Aug 10, 2018 12:04 pm

I have just recently become acquainted with how you made the PCB previously pictured,
quite simple and clever I wouldn't have thought of it myself initially. ((i))
nice work. :-)

Rara 0-)
Yamaha: SY35, SY85, TX7, PSR 4600 - Roland: Juno106, MC307, MKB200
Kawai: XD5, Korg: Poly800Mk2 (moog slayer mod)
Digitech studio 400
Tascam Porta 5 HS, MM1, Studiomaster: Fusion
Modded SX Bass, fat wires, Dimarzio DP250 pickups, Ernie Ball strings / Gliga 1

To be resurrected: SY77,FZ1,CZ1000,CZ5000, MKB200
Retired: Dr550mk2,SE-70,SR-16,D110
Boat anchors: ESI2000 :angry-banghead:
User avatar Russia
dmitrins
Member
Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2018 7:06 am

Re: Casio FZ-1/VZ-1 Aftermarket screen?

Unread post by dmitrins » Fri Aug 10, 2018 12:22 pm

Rara wrote:
Fri Aug 10, 2018 12:04 pm
I have just recently become acquainted with how you made the PCB previously pictured,
quite simple and clever I wouldn't have thought of it myself initially. ((i))
nice work. :-)

Rara 0-)
Btw, i didn't mention that before, but the board was made on CNC router.
Last edited by dmitrins on Fri Aug 10, 2018 2:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Australia
Rara
Member
Member
Posts: 304
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 4:34 pm

Re: Casio FZ-1/VZ-1 Aftermarket screen?

Unread post by Rara » Fri Aug 10, 2018 1:05 pm

Ah ha ....
My bad, i thought it was the Etched version, which i just recently found out about when i was in a store asking/looking
for bits and pieces and that was mentioned. :)
Yamaha: SY35, SY85, TX7, PSR 4600 - Roland: Juno106, MC307, MKB200
Kawai: XD5, Korg: Poly800Mk2 (moog slayer mod)
Digitech studio 400
Tascam Porta 5 HS, MM1, Studiomaster: Fusion
Modded SX Bass, fat wires, Dimarzio DP250 pickups, Ernie Ball strings / Gliga 1

To be resurrected: SY77,FZ1,CZ1000,CZ5000, MKB200
Retired: Dr550mk2,SE-70,SR-16,D110
Boat anchors: ESI2000 :angry-banghead:
User avatar Russia
dmitrins
Member
Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2018 7:06 am

Re: Casio FZ-1/VZ-1 Aftermarket screen?

Unread post by dmitrins » Fri Aug 10, 2018 3:09 pm

I made a lot of etching before i got the cnc router. You can get pretty good results if you lucky. I mean when you have a lot of hair-thikness traces, it's difficult to keep all them intact at toner transfer stage, while CNC gives more predictable results and you can always stop it if something seems wrong. Another bad thing about etching is using chemicals which is messy (like ferric chloride) or dangerous (ammonia persulfate). And of course you can't do mechanical parts - mounts, holders, braces, panels, whatever.
User avatar Russia
dmitrins
Member
Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2018 7:06 am

Re: Casio FZ-1/VZ-1 Aftermarket screen?

Unread post by dmitrins » Thu Aug 30, 2018 6:10 pm

Got a pair of 2.9" COG LCD Modules, which supposed to fit the casio's display window
DSC00030.JPG
I used 1.8 LCD before (i already had a couple) but they are fully compatible. The longer cable should allow me to make more elegant PCB design in next revision. Unfortunately I still don't have much time to complete the firmware, but i'm sure step by step it will be done someday :)
User avatar Germany
Miks
Specialist Moderator
Specialist Moderator
Posts: 1768
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 1:00 am

Re: Casio FZ-1/VZ-1 Aftermarket screen?

Unread post by Miks » Thu Aug 30, 2018 6:27 pm

Hi dmitrins,

despite owning no Casio keyboard myself I'm looking forward to your progress on this ((i)) ((i))
My (key related) gear (in alphabetical order):
Ferrofish: B4000+
Kawai: K1 II
Korg: M1 (up'd to EX, w/ 'Cool Blue'), M1REX (w/ 'Cool Blue'), Poly-800
Roland: D-50, D-110, D-550, PG-1000
Yamaha: AW1600, DX7IID (w/ 'Cool Blue'), EX5R, RM50, RX5, SY99 (w/ 'Cool Blue'), TG500, TX-802, YMM2
Sector101: SYEMB05 (5x), SYEMB06 (3x), EXFLM2 (1kit), MCD Sweet16 (1x), WaveBlade 8MB Card (1x) & 1x Programmer Unit for WaveBlade
User avatar
Dr. Woland
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2017 8:15 pm

Re: Casio FZ-1/VZ-1 Aftermarket screen?

Unread post by Dr. Woland » Sat Oct 06, 2018 3:53 pm

dmitrins wrote:
Thu Aug 30, 2018 6:10 pm
Got a pair of 2.9" COG LCD Modules, which supposed to fit the casio's display window
DSC00030.JPG
I used 1.8 LCD before (i already had a couple) but they are fully compatible. The longer cable should allow me to make more elegant PCB design in next revision. Unfortunately I still don't have much time to complete the firmware, but i'm sure step by step it will be done someday :)
Hello dmintrins, have you made any progress? (don't want to sound impatient :p)
Post Reply

Return to “Other Casio Keyboards - MZ, VZ1, FZ-1, CZ-1, CZ-5000, XW-G1, XW-P1”