Upgrading and restoring Casio FZ-1

Classic synths & pianos

Moderators: Derek, parametric, Saul

db7

Re: Upgrading and restoring Casio FZ-1

Unread post by db7 » Tue Jul 23, 2013 1:35 pm

Great work, very resourceful/clever! Since you said the camera over-exposed the LEDs, I guess they’re not so distractingly bright in person?

But are those some lines of dead pixels on the LCD? :/
User avatar Australia
Rara
Member
Member
Posts: 373
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 4:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Upgrading and restoring Casio FZ-1

Unread post by Rara » Tue Jul 23, 2013 2:16 pm

LEDs aren't as bright viewed in person.
the lines of dead pixels are caused by the bad connection between the ribbon cable opposite the leds
and the driver board. I was told the cable is heat pressed onto the board with thermal glue,
then on top of that super sticky tape that looks like masking tape.
If I put gentle pressure on the cable/board joint the pixels come back.
over time starts to detach itself. I am looking at ways of clamping the cables to the board.
Casio really went el cheapo on the display.
db7

Re: Upgrading and restoring Casio FZ-1

Unread post by db7 » Tue Jul 23, 2013 5:03 pm

Ah yes, I thought it might be due to the loose connection that you mentioned before. Glad to hear the problems aren’t permanent! Hopefully you’ll find a way to sort the connection. I’ll keep checking back anyway as it’s very interesting to read about projects like this, and if your progress continues at this rate, you’ll have a fully fixed and future-proofed FZ-1 in no time. :D
User avatar Great Britain
parametric
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3670
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 1:00 am
Contact:

Re: Upgrading and restoring Casio FZ-1

Unread post by parametric » Tue Jul 23, 2013 11:34 pm

mscott wrote:I was told the cable is heat pressed onto the board with thermal glue,
then on top of that super sticky tape that looks like masking tape.
If I put gentle pressure on the cable/board joint the pixels come back.
over time starts to detach itself. I am looking at ways of clamping the cables to the board.
Casio really went el cheapo on the display.
That sounds horrendous . . . .

Well done for getting thus far - seems you now have an instruments that is useable ((i))

You refer to the display being also used in a graphing calculator from Casio - any hope of a replacement via that route?

I can well understand any reticence you have in "undoing" what you have done thus far, but there again it would indeed be NICE to have a pristine display, seeing as you have elegantly sorted out the illumination.

I'm sure Casio would never have dreamed that their instruments would be taken this far to prolong their lives 8O

This is exciting stuff. Do keep us posted . . .

parametric
Alesis Fusion 8SSD AND 6SSD - BOTH are 384Mb/120Gb SSD/Akai ADVANCE61/Yamaha MOXF6/1024Mb Flash Ram/Yamaha SY85/8.5mb vol/1024k non-vol/DX21/Roland MT32/Bachmann double overstrung Baby Grand Piano/Win10 Pro/Ubuntu MATE 15.0.4/iBook G4/Mac OS 10.4.6/ProTools 7.4/MBox2/M-Audio MicroTrack 24/96

NI Komplete11 Ultimate

Sector101 2x SYEMB06 / 4 x EXM-E3 128MB DRAM Module

BRAND NEW DSDD (720k) FLOPPY DISKS FOR SALE - http://www.yamahaforums.co.uk/forum/vie ... =22&t=9217

Watch out now! take care, BEWARE of the greedy leaders! They'll take you where you should not go - (George Harrison)

IT'S TRUE - "MONEY TALKS" - TO ME, IT MOSTLY SAYS "GOODBYE" ;-)
http://www.chrisnmiller.co.uk/Chris
User avatar Australia
Rara
Member
Member
Posts: 373
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 4:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Upgrading and restoring Casio FZ-1

Unread post by Rara » Wed Jul 24, 2013 4:38 am

Thanks :)

Some photos to show how Casio did it.

I thought about getting a screen from a calculator, after seeing how this screen is attached
in the FZ-1, I thought otherwise. In a calculator, (fx-7000g) screen is "floating"
on rubber contact strips, same as a boss drum machine.

Not just the display that has the copper/mylar cables, adjacent boards are joined by a similar
type of cable, only they are soldered to the boards. Unlike an Yamaha that have socketed
ribbon cables between boards. in any Casio, (all CZ's for example) one problem on one board, all of them have to come out and doesn't take much to break the copper tracks.

Unfortunately there's no aftermarket equivalent, on this display, Casio only uses 4 data bit lines
and so far there is no equivalent to the controller chips Casio used 44350 and 44351
FZ-1-screen-003.jpg
FZ-1-screen-002.jpg
FZ-1-screen-001.jpg
User avatar Australia
Rara
Member
Member
Posts: 373
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 4:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Upgrading and restoring Casio FZ-1

Unread post by Rara » Wed Jul 24, 2013 4:40 am

A little pressure ont he joint on the board and the dead pixels come back.
After I have sussed out how to fix that the contrast might need a tweak.
FZ-1-screen-005.jpg
User avatar Great Britain
parametric
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3670
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 1:00 am
Contact:

Re: Upgrading and restoring Casio FZ-1

Unread post by parametric » Wed Jul 24, 2013 3:29 pm

Hmm. That display look in good shape. Just a question of devising a permanent way to apply some pressure . . . . .

One of these perhaps - of a suitable size (always assuming there is enough room for it to live inside and still close her up . . . . .

Once fitted - I THINK the "handles" can be removed - for a more compact arrangement . . .

These are capable of considerable pressure - which might be enough to achieve what you want?

Perhaps thin wood (lolly-stick?) for insulation and protection between to clip and the pcb, top and bottom IYSWIM . . .
Stationar Clip.JPG
Stationar Clip.JPG (55.02 KiB) Viewed 1074 times
parametric
Alesis Fusion 8SSD AND 6SSD - BOTH are 384Mb/120Gb SSD/Akai ADVANCE61/Yamaha MOXF6/1024Mb Flash Ram/Yamaha SY85/8.5mb vol/1024k non-vol/DX21/Roland MT32/Bachmann double overstrung Baby Grand Piano/Win10 Pro/Ubuntu MATE 15.0.4/iBook G4/Mac OS 10.4.6/ProTools 7.4/MBox2/M-Audio MicroTrack 24/96

NI Komplete11 Ultimate

Sector101 2x SYEMB06 / 4 x EXM-E3 128MB DRAM Module

BRAND NEW DSDD (720k) FLOPPY DISKS FOR SALE - http://www.yamahaforums.co.uk/forum/vie ... =22&t=9217

Watch out now! take care, BEWARE of the greedy leaders! They'll take you where you should not go - (George Harrison)

IT'S TRUE - "MONEY TALKS" - TO ME, IT MOSTLY SAYS "GOODBYE" ;-)
http://www.chrisnmiller.co.uk/Chris
User avatar Australia
Rara
Member
Member
Posts: 373
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 4:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Upgrading and restoring Casio FZ-1

Unread post by Rara » Wed Jul 24, 2013 4:17 pm

Thanks :-) brilliant ... looking at that picture you gave me an idea.

6 lengths of aluminum perhaps 3mm thick cut to about 10mm wider than the ribbon cables
with holes drilled through each end. same hole drilled through the board
bevel the edges of the aluminum strips and insulate them with heat shrink tube
clamp them together with small screws and nuts on spring washers.
So the cables and board is sandwiched between the two. x3
I'll off to a scrap metal yard later on ... weekend maybe ..... :-D
User avatar Australia
Rara
Member
Member
Posts: 373
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 4:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Upgrading and restoring Casio FZ-1

Unread post by Rara » Tue Aug 06, 2013 3:37 pm

Schematic is the midi inverter board and what I did to disconnect inverter power
and still have midi working.
Vdd to this board powers both midi and inverter, so disconnecting the vdd
to run the back light also disables midi.
Doing this has an audio out that is clean, barley any noise audible.

As for the cable to the display board, I think I'll use strips of balsa wood
(medium hard strip) with the heat shrink. not as brutal as strips of aluminum,
also because I cant find little strips of aluminum anywhere.
FZ-1_midi_inverter_board.jpg
one other thing, Floppy drive in the FZ-1 has a dodgy belt, just like the SY77.
PC floppy conversion to be done after the screen is finished. although not as simple
as a floppy conversion in an SY77. What was casio smoking when they designed this :)
User avatar Germany
Miks
Specialist Moderator
Specialist Moderator
Posts: 1858
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 1:00 am
Contact:

Re: Upgrading and restoring Casio FZ-1

Unread post by Miks » Tue Aug 06, 2013 4:31 pm

mscott wrote:
What was casio smoking when they designed this
Well... I think it was something that isn't available nowadays :mrgreen:

Nice piece of restoring so far. Some years ago I replaced the EL-foil on a friend's FZ-1... took me a while, but after that he was quite happy to be able to read the display again :D

Keep on with the restoration, it's worth you while. :wink:
My (key related) gear (in alphabetical order):
Ferrofish: B4000+
Kawai: K1 II
Korg: M1 (up'd to EX, w/ 'Cool Blue'), M1REX (w/ 'Cool Blue'), Poly-800
Roland: D-50, D-110, D-550, PG-1000
Yamaha: AW1600, DX7IID (w/ 'Cool Blue'), EX5R, RM50, RX5, SY99 (w/ 'Cool Blue'), TG500, TX-802, YMM2
Sector101: SYEMB05 (5x), SYEMB06 (3x), EXFLM2 (1kit), MCD Sweet16 (1x), WaveBlade 8MB Card (1x) & 1x Programmer Unit for WaveBlade
User avatar Great Britain
parametric
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3670
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 1:00 am
Contact:

Re: Upgrading and restoring Casio FZ-1

Unread post by parametric » Wed Aug 07, 2013 12:34 am

mscott wrote:As for the cable to the display board, I think I'll use strips of balsa wood
(medium hard strip) with the heat shrink. not as brutal as strips of aluminum,
also because I cant find little strips of aluminum anywhere.
Seems like you're making good progress - nice job!

Small pieces of metal are hard to source these days - which is why I scavenge any stuff I chuck for anything small and useful looking (the missus really hates this! :( )

B&Q USED to carry a range of small section stuff for modellers, steel, Aluminium and Brass, but smallest pieces are usually 1m.

A walk round the local £-Shop can be beneficial. With your project "in mind" - something may leap out at you - which you can butcher for your purposes - and it will only be a quid . . . .

Treat yourself to Magnum ice cream and you'll get a free thin wooden stick . . . ((i))

parametric
Alesis Fusion 8SSD AND 6SSD - BOTH are 384Mb/120Gb SSD/Akai ADVANCE61/Yamaha MOXF6/1024Mb Flash Ram/Yamaha SY85/8.5mb vol/1024k non-vol/DX21/Roland MT32/Bachmann double overstrung Baby Grand Piano/Win10 Pro/Ubuntu MATE 15.0.4/iBook G4/Mac OS 10.4.6/ProTools 7.4/MBox2/M-Audio MicroTrack 24/96

NI Komplete11 Ultimate

Sector101 2x SYEMB06 / 4 x EXM-E3 128MB DRAM Module

BRAND NEW DSDD (720k) FLOPPY DISKS FOR SALE - http://www.yamahaforums.co.uk/forum/vie ... =22&t=9217

Watch out now! take care, BEWARE of the greedy leaders! They'll take you where you should not go - (George Harrison)

IT'S TRUE - "MONEY TALKS" - TO ME, IT MOSTLY SAYS "GOODBYE" ;-)
http://www.chrisnmiller.co.uk/Chris
User avatar Australia
Rara
Member
Member
Posts: 373
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 4:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Upgrading and restoring Casio FZ-1

Unread post by Rara » Mon Aug 19, 2013 1:37 pm

Miks wrote:mscott wrote:
What was casio smoking when they designed this
Well... I think it was something that isn't available nowadays :mrgreen:

Keep on with the restoration, it's worth you while. :wink:
What ever it was must have been something good :-)
Thanks, resto is going well so far
parametric wrote:
A walk round the local £-Shop can be beneficial. With your project "in mind" - something may leap out at you - which you can butcher for your purposes - and it will only be a quid . . . .

Treat yourself to Magnum ice cream and you'll get a free thin wooden stick . . . ((i))

parametric
Thanks for the idea, ice cream sticks worked well :D
I did go to a hobby store for a piece of Balsa to fill the extra gap between the two halves of the
screen frame/bracket from the new back light.
User avatar Australia
Rara
Member
Member
Posts: 373
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 4:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Upgrading and restoring Casio FZ-1

Unread post by Rara » Wed Aug 28, 2013 11:25 am

How the screen looks back in synth.
went through all the menu now the screen is readable. screen is in temporarily now.
front panel boards have to come out and replace all the button switches
Cursor, escape and enter buttons are intermittent unless I push harder
other than that making noises, working every key working. :D
fz1-screen-in.jpg
User avatar Germany
Miks
Specialist Moderator
Specialist Moderator
Posts: 1858
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 1:00 am
Contact:

Re: Upgrading and restoring Casio FZ-1

Unread post by Miks » Wed Aug 28, 2013 2:19 pm

Good job, well done. I like the idea of saving older gear from being binned... ((i))
My (key related) gear (in alphabetical order):
Ferrofish: B4000+
Kawai: K1 II
Korg: M1 (up'd to EX, w/ 'Cool Blue'), M1REX (w/ 'Cool Blue'), Poly-800
Roland: D-50, D-110, D-550, PG-1000
Yamaha: AW1600, DX7IID (w/ 'Cool Blue'), EX5R, RM50, RX5, SY99 (w/ 'Cool Blue'), TG500, TX-802, YMM2
Sector101: SYEMB05 (5x), SYEMB06 (3x), EXFLM2 (1kit), MCD Sweet16 (1x), WaveBlade 8MB Card (1x) & 1x Programmer Unit for WaveBlade
User avatar Australia
Rara
Member
Member
Posts: 373
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 4:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Upgrading and restoring Casio FZ-1

Unread post by Rara » Wed Aug 28, 2013 2:45 pm

thanks :)
I'll be doing all 24 buttons, what job. 96 tabs to unsolder then 96 new ones 8O

A little off topic, two weeks or so ago, I picked up another keyboard.
Another roland MKB-200, which was left outside leaning against a tree for hard rubbish.
This one was fairly messy however salvageable.
Might do another thread for that ....
Post Reply

Return to “Other Casio Keyboards - MZ, VZ1, FZ-1, CZ-1, CZ-5000, XW-G1, XW-P1”