Can't download MIDI files in PSR-E313 flash memory

This section is for the popular E series keyboards from Yamaha. If you have a problem, need info or have tips to pass on, please post here.

Moderators: Derek, parametric, Saul

Vince

Can't download MIDI files in PSR-E313 flash memory

Unread post by Vince » Sun Jan 11, 2009 10:17 am

Hi,
I am new to keyboards and MIDI issues and I have some problems to download MIDI files towards my keyboard. I have also looked at quite a lot of related threads in this site and at information in the Yamaha Knowledge Base but failed to see a clear solution.

The configuration:
-Windows XP SP3 (re-installed a few days ago to avoid any incompability with previously installed devices)
- Yamaha PSR-E313 keyboard
- A “cheap” USB-MIDI cable from China delivered without driver. The cable MIDI IN and OUT are respectively connected on MIDI OUT and IN of the keyboard.
- Musicsoft Downloader
- No specific Yamaha driver installed

The status:
- The keyboard is detected as a USB audio device in the device manager
- In Control Pannel/Sound and Audio devices, I can choose indifferently between “USB Audio Device” and “USB Audio Device[2]” to reach the keyboard
- I can play MIDI files with Windows Media player on the PC and hear the music on the keyboard

The problem:
- I obviously can’t reach the keyboard flash memory with Musicsoft Downloader
- The Musicsoftdownloader connection check always fail with all IN and OUT combinations (IN=USB Audio Device, OUT=choice from USB Audio Device, USB Audio Device[2], Microsoft GS Watable SW, Microsoft MIDI Mapper)

Questions:
- Anyone knows what to do next?
- Is the keyboard flash memory only reachable through some additional Yamaha driver? If yes, which one? Do the UX16 drivers apply here? I have checked various drivers from the Yamaha site and tried to re-install the USB Audio Device with some Yamaha one but Windows refuse to install any (not match with the PSR-E313?)