Help with my Yamaha EZ-30 not working....

This section is for the popular E series keyboards from Yamaha. If you have a problem, need info or have tips to pass on, please post here.

Moderators: Derek, parametric, Saul

tomhaiger
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2015 4:34 pm

Help with my Yamaha EZ-30 not working....

Unread post by tomhaiger » Sat Jan 24, 2015 10:52 pm

I've got a problem with my Yamaha EZ-30 keyboard which I hope someone can help with, I hope this is the right place.

When I plug my keyboard in and switch it on, the screen lights comes up but nothing appears on the screen. It's unresponsive to anything buttons or keys I press.

It hasn't been used in a while buttons working fine before. I don't know what's wrong with it so I hope someone can help.

Thanks.
User avatar
Miks
Specialist Moderator
Specialist Moderator
Posts: 1732
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 1:00 am
Germany

Re: Help with my Yamaha EZ-30 not working....

Unread post by Miks » Sun Jan 25, 2015 1:16 am

Have you tried to run the reset procedure to see if it may help to bring your EZ-30 back to life...?

See owner's manual, page 84:

Data Initialization:

All data can be initialized and restored to the factory preset condition by turning on the
power while holding the highest (rightmost) white key on the keyboard.
“CLr Backup” will appear briefly on the display.

1. Press the [STANDBY/ON] switch to turn off the power to the EZ-30.

2. While holding down the highest white key, press the [STANDBY/ON] switch to
turn on the power to the EZ-30 to initialize the data. When initialization is complete,
the display indicates “CLr Backup.”

All Registration Memory and User song data, plus the other settings listed
above, will be erased and/or changed when the data initialization procedure is
carried out.

Carrying out the data initialization procedure will usually restore normal operation
if the EZ-30 freezes or begins to act erratically for any reason.
Refer to page 74 for information on initializing flash memory.



Hope this helps... :wink:

P.S. I don't know if the EZ-30 has a built-in battery to keep informations stored to the internal RAM... maybe there is one which has run out of power and needs to be replaced first... 8O
My (key related) gear (in alphabetical order):
Ferrofish: B4000+
Kawai: K1 II
Korg: M1 (up'd to EX, w/ 'Cool Blue'), M1REX (w/ 'Cool Blue'), Poly-800
Roland: D-50, D-110, D-550, PG-1000
Yamaha: AW1600, DX7IID (w/ 'Cool Blue'), EX5R, RM50, RX5, SY99 (w/ 'Cool Blue'), TG500, TX-802, YMM2
Sector101: SYEMB05 (5x), SYEMB06 (3x), EXFLM2 (1kit), MCD Sweet16 (1x), WaveBlade 8MB Card (1x) & 1x Programmer Unit for WaveBlade
tomhaiger
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2015 4:34 pm

Re: Help with my Yamaha EZ-30 not working....

Unread post by tomhaiger » Sun Jan 25, 2015 2:14 am

Thanks for the reply. I have tried a factory reset but unfortunately it hasn't fixed the issue for me.

Appreciate any other suggestions....
User avatar
SeaGtGruff
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 672
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2014 4:24 am
United States of America

Re: Help with my Yamaha EZ-30 not working....

Unread post by SeaGtGruff » Sun Jan 25, 2015 7:42 pm

Try holding down a C# Major chord in the second octave (C#2-F2-G#2) while turning on the keyboard to see if it will boot up in the test mode. If it does, use the plus/minus keys on the keyboard's numeric keypad to select a test, the Start/Stop style button to start the test, and either the Start/Stop or Demo button or the lowest key (C1) to stop the test. The test mode might not come up if the entire keyboard is nonfunctional, but it's something to try before taking the keyboard to a shop.
Michael Rideout
Current keyboards: Yamaha YPT-400, PSR-E433, PSR-E443, PSR-EW400, MX49 BK
Current controllers: M-Audio Axiom 61-II
Previous keyboards: Farfisa Matador 611; Casio CTK-710
tomhaiger
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2015 4:34 pm

Re: Help with my Yamaha EZ-30 not working....

Unread post by tomhaiger » Mon Jan 26, 2015 4:45 pm

Tried that too but no luck. I have no idea whats wrong with it, i've checked it up and there is no internal battery with this model, which is where i thought the problem may lie.

I don't know much about how these keyboard work but it does seem odd that there are signs of life when powering up but nothing works.
Post Reply

Return to “Yamaha PSR E443/E433/E423/E413/E403/E303/E203”