How to set up E423

This section is for the popular E series keyboards from Yamaha. If you have a problem, need info or have tips to pass on, please post here.

Moderators: Derek, parametric, Saul

Jax

How to set up E423

Unread post by Jax » Wed May 18, 2016 6:39 am

Hi All

I've played mostly pianos and organs but now have an E423 keyboard which I love.

I am fairly new to these keyboards so could someone please explain a procedure used to configure the sounds please,
i.e.

(dead basic!) Plug in and turn on the keyboard. I see I have various options e.g.

Voice Music Database Style (Song - for demo purposes)

Is there a right or wrong way to select these buttons please or can they be done in any order?
I find the Music Database superb for quick selections although the right hand melody is sometimes a bit "thin" and quiet .

Thanks in advance.

Jax
parametric
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Great Britain

Re: How to set up E423

Unread post by parametric » Wed May 18, 2016 2:58 pm

Hi Jax,

First recourse for you is the Manual.
psre423_en_om_c0.pdf
(4.87 MiB) Downloaded 64 times
MOST basic operations are covered, but don't be afraid to experiment, you can't really "break" anything.

Print the manual out and have it to hand as you find your way around the 423 . . .

It will all become clearer as you learn to navigate around the menus . . . often, the problem is REMEMBERING where you saw a certain function.

If you get "lost", you can always power <off> then <on> again to get back to base . . . . .

The first hurdle is to understand the "Yamaha-speak", i.e. <Voices>, <Performances>, <Styles>, <Songs> etc.

Different Manufacturers call these by different names, which can confuse . . .

Once you understand "the lingo", you will understand both the board AND the Manual better ((i))

Best Regards

parametric