E3 Memory Modules (Cheap(er))

Alesis Fusion Forum. Links, info & general advice

Moderators: parametric, Derek, Saul, Fozzer

User avatar
parametric
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 2481
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 1:00 am
Contact:
Great Britain

E3 Memory Modules (Cheap(er))

Unread post by parametric » Fri Apr 12, 2013 2:17 am

If you've been waiting to expand your Fusion's Memory . . .

http://www.thomann.de/de/akai_exme3_128_mb.htm

69 Euros/piece is the best I've seen for a long time.

You need Two . .

Best

parametric


Alesis Fusion 8SSD AND 6SSD - BOTH are 384Mb/120Gb SSD/Akai ADVANCE61/Yamaha MOXF6/1024Mb Flash Ram/Yamaha SY85/8.5mb vol/1024k non-vol/DX21/Roland MT32/Bachmann double overstrung Baby Grand Piano/Win10 Pro/Ubuntu MATE 15.0.4/iBook G4/Mac OS 10.4.6/ProTools 7.4/MBox2/M-Audio 24/96 Sector101 2x SYEMB06 / 4 x EXM-E3 128MB DRAM Module
BRAND NEW DSDD (720k) FLOPPY DISKS FOR SALE - viewtopic.php?f=22&t=9217

Watch out now! take care, BEWARE of the greedy leaders! They'll take you where you should not go - (George Harrison)

IT'S TRUE - "MONEY TALKS" - TO ME, IT MOSTLY SAYS "GOODBYE" ;-)
http://www.chrisnmiller.co.uk/Chris

User avatar
jhulk
Member
Member
Posts: 177
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 12:00 am

Re: E3 Memory Modules (Cheap(er))

Unread post by jhulk » Mon Apr 15, 2013 11:24 am

you only need one as they are 128mb and not the original 64mb modules which you needed 2

when you fit one of these you get the full 196mb memory

which is great for multivelocity multisamples



User avatar
parametric
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 2481
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 1:00 am
Contact:
Great Britain

Re: E3 Memory Modules (Cheap(er))

Unread post by parametric » Mon Apr 15, 2013 9:53 pm

Not True jhulk,

Its a common misunderstanding . . . .

The Fusion has TWIN processors (TI Coldfire) and each one has 64MB "onboard".

When you open the Fusion - you can easily see where ONE of the E3 expansion modules fits, but the other one requires a bit of disassembly as it is on the UNDERSIDE of the expansion digital pcb it fits to . . .

So a fully expanded Fusion has:

Processor1 64 + 128 = 192MB
Processor2 64 + 128 = 192Mb
= 384Mb Total

I know this to be true, as I expanded my Fusion this way, though, I have to say, even Alesis/Numark Tech support (UK) doubted me on this - though they later (and embarassingly for them) agreed - after they had read their own information.

Method is here:
Fusion 6_8HD-S80 E3 UPGRADE.pdf
Fusion Memory upgrade
(1.38 MiB) Downloaded 46 times
After upgrade - Turn the unit on in Diagnostic Mode (hold down “1” and “8”) and run
through all of the non-destructive Diagnostic Tests (don’t re-calibrate
anything and don’t run any of the Media tests). Particularly verify that the
Memory-Processor page displays:
VEngine Total Mem: {192 MB}
VEngine 2 Total Mem: {192 MB}

(These last two both display {64MB} in the unexpanded Fusion)

I believe it is possible to fit only one E3 module but its not recommended . . .

The Fusion looks at your requirements with respect to Programs in use - whether they are ROM based, or use samples, and quite fluidly administrate the amount of polyphony you have available based on what you have selected - so its best if BOTH processors are playing with a full deck - as regards memory.

Results might be a bit unpredictable if one processor is short on memory . . . .

Best Regards

parametric


Alesis Fusion 8SSD AND 6SSD - BOTH are 384Mb/120Gb SSD/Akai ADVANCE61/Yamaha MOXF6/1024Mb Flash Ram/Yamaha SY85/8.5mb vol/1024k non-vol/DX21/Roland MT32/Bachmann double overstrung Baby Grand Piano/Win10 Pro/Ubuntu MATE 15.0.4/iBook G4/Mac OS 10.4.6/ProTools 7.4/MBox2/M-Audio 24/96 Sector101 2x SYEMB06 / 4 x EXM-E3 128MB DRAM Module
BRAND NEW DSDD (720k) FLOPPY DISKS FOR SALE - viewtopic.php?f=22&t=9217

Watch out now! take care, BEWARE of the greedy leaders! They'll take you where you should not go - (George Harrison)

IT'S TRUE - "MONEY TALKS" - TO ME, IT MOSTLY SAYS "GOODBYE" ;-)
http://www.chrisnmiller.co.uk/Chris

User avatar
jhulk
Member
Member
Posts: 177
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 12:00 am

Re: E3 Memory Modules (Cheap(er))

Unread post by jhulk » Tue Apr 16, 2013 12:34 am

thanks for verifying this

as what you are saying is that i know the original modules were only 64mb

and you had to plug both in to get 196 as the onboard was only 64mb

so even though if you fit 2 of them then you have 196mb for each processor engine

but still only available 196mb for sample banks

i only have one module in mine a 128mb version and not a 64mb module and have the 196mb memory have not come into any problems but will get another just in case thanks



Post Reply

Return to “Alesis Fusion Forum 6HD & 8HD”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest