SY77 booting in a loop

Yamaha SY77 is a 16 voice multitimbral music workstation first produced by Yamaha Corporation in 1989. The SY77 is a synthesizer whose architecture combines AFM (Advanced Frequency Modulation) synthesis, AWM2 (Advanced Wave Memory 2) for ROM-borne sample-based synthesis, and the combination of these two methods christened Realtime Convolution and Modulation Synthesis (RCM).

Moderators: Derek, parametric, Saul

User avatar Spain
EB5AGV
Member
Member
Posts: 190
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 11:02 pm
Contact:

Re: SY77 booting in a loop

Unread post by EB5AGV » Mon Nov 12, 2018 1:19 pm

Rara wrote:
Mon Nov 12, 2018 1:10 pm
I dont think your mad, nothing wrong with saving a synth from the scrapyard, an extra bonus to if the fault is found and fixed. :D

Rara
:violin: 0-)
Thanks!

Yes, I think we need to repair more and buy less new items to save our poor planet (Y)

In fact, I fix electronics daily and I am happy of my small contribution to that cause :)

Jose
Jose Gavila

Yamaha DX7, TX81Z, DX11, 4x SY77, TG77, SPX990, SY85, A3000, EX5R, EX7, MOTIF RACK XS, DGX660, PSR-EW410, Genos

Akai S5000
Arturia Keylab 61 MkII, Pigments, Analog Lab 3, Piano V-2
Casio CT-X5000
Kawai K1, K1-II
Korg M1, Wavestation, X3, Triton Rack, Triton Le 76
Modartt Pianoteq 6
NI Komplete 12
Roland D-50, JV-1080, XV-3080
Steinberg Cubase Pro 10, The Grand 3
StudioLogic SL88 Studio
User avatar Germany
Miks
Specialist Moderator
Specialist Moderator
Posts: 1852
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 1:00 am
Contact:

Re: SY77 booting in a loop

Unread post by Miks » Mon Nov 12, 2018 2:18 pm

Hope you'll share your findings once you started repairing the synth... :wink: ((i))
My (key related) gear (in alphabetical order):
Ferrofish: B4000+
Kawai: K1 II
Korg: M1 (up'd to EX, w/ 'Cool Blue'), M1REX (w/ 'Cool Blue'), Poly-800
Roland: D-50, D-110, D-550, PG-1000
Yamaha: AW1600, DX7IID (w/ 'Cool Blue'), EX5R, RM50, RX5, SY99 (w/ 'Cool Blue'), TG500, TX-802, YMM2
Sector101: SYEMB05 (5x), SYEMB06 (3x), EXFLM2 (1kit), MCD Sweet16 (1x), WaveBlade 8MB Card (1x) & 1x Programmer Unit for WaveBlade
User avatar Australia
Horizonsound
Member
Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2018 11:53 am
Contact:

Re: SY77 booting in a loop

Unread post by Horizonsound » Tue Dec 04, 2018 4:24 am

Hi Rara.

Im still allegedly too new to be allowed to reply to PMs.
Is your cpu a socketed chip or surface mount?
I am starting to think the older socketed ones had issues, along with the clock design, so they changed it for Rev 2.

Anthony.
User avatar Australia
Rara
Member
Member
Posts: 373
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 4:34 pm
Contact:

Re: SY77 booting in a loop

Unread post by Rara » Tue Dec 04, 2018 5:38 am

No worries, i forgot that ....
It's the ZIF socket (Jan 1990), last month I bought another DM1 of the same type (still on its way)
interesting thought, I'd love to know (as would many others) what the issue was.
Only way to tell possibly, would be schematics of the particular board revisions.

Rara 0-)
User avatar Australia
Horizonsound
Member
Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2018 11:53 am
Contact:

Re: SY77 booting in a loop

Unread post by Horizonsound » Tue Dec 04, 2018 8:18 am

I've bought a second DM1 as well and am waiting on it.
The symptoms I'm seeing are as if the CPU has an issue. Everything else is checking out.
Interesting, the only gear I have ever had problems with fixing is Yamaha, all processor related.
Everything else has been relatively straight forward (Roland, Korg etc..)
User avatar Australia
Rara
Member
Member
Posts: 373
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 4:34 pm
Contact:

Re: SY77 booting in a loop

Unread post by Rara » Tue Dec 04, 2018 10:02 am

Is it possible the firmware in the CPU has failed/failing.
Maybe reflash the cpu??? someone here has posted the firmware for all the chips on this type of board. i can't find it ....
datasheet for the cpu viewtopic.php?f=54&t=11658&p=69066&hili ... cpu#p69066

Rara 0-)
User avatar Australia
Horizonsound
Member
Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2018 11:53 am
Contact:

Re: SY77 booting in a loop

Unread post by Horizonsound » Wed Dec 05, 2018 8:33 am

Hi Rara,

When did you place your order for the DM1? Mine was shipped on 29-Nov, so wondering how long I am expecting to wait.

Anthony
User avatar Australia
Rara
Member
Member
Posts: 373
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 4:34 pm
Contact:

Re: SY77 booting in a loop

Unread post by Rara » Wed Dec 05, 2018 11:22 am

Hi, paid on November 17th, (I thought it was the 3rd for some odd reason :? ) I was getting anxious for nothing :roll:
I have no idea what date mine was actually shipped.

Allow a little extra time for silly season, hopefully 4 weeks tops.
Both coming from France shouldn't be too long,
Germany to Adelaide was 10 days for my floppy adapter, that was just before people go crazy with the shopping.

Rara 0-)
User avatar Australia
Horizonsound
Member
Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2018 11:53 am
Contact:

Re: SY77 booting in a loop

Unread post by Horizonsound » Wed Dec 05, 2018 12:22 pm

Go to auspost.com.au and put in the tracking number they provided. It’s more detailed than laposte.
Seems I’m a minimum of 2 weeks behind you.

Anthony .
User avatar Australia
Rara
Member
Member
Posts: 373
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 4:34 pm
Contact:

Re: SY77 booting in a loop

Unread post by Rara » Wed Dec 05, 2018 12:33 pm

I don't have a tracking tracking number :roll: It would seem they forgot to send me one.

Rara 0-)
User avatar Australia
Horizonsound
Member
Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2018 11:53 am
Contact:

Re: SY77 booting in a loop

Unread post by Horizonsound » Tue Dec 11, 2018 7:39 am

Hey did you ever get your DM1 board? I've noticed both mine are stuck in the postal vortex that is Chullora, NSW. Likewise my mouser order for new tact switches.
User avatar Australia
Rara
Member
Member
Posts: 373
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 4:34 pm
Contact:

Re: SY77 booting in a loop

Unread post by Rara » Tue Dec 11, 2018 8:55 am

Chullora ..... :roll: :angry-tappingfoot: last time i sent something to QLD it was stuck there for two weeks in july last year.

PicardDoubleFacepalm-1.jpg
PicardDoubleFacepalm-1.jpg (21.58 KiB) Viewed 456 times
blackhole.jpeg
I have a a bit of "gut feeling" my DM1 is either lost or held up in the postal "vortex"
that is aus post. on November 28 (A full 11 days after my DM1.)
I purchased a book from a seller in the UK on ebay, got here yesterday. Go royal mail ((i))

hope you see your parts turn up soon :-)

Rara 0-)
Last edited by Rara on Fri Dec 14, 2018 9:43 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar Australia
Horizonsound
Member
Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2018 11:53 am
Contact:

Re: SY77 booting in a loop

Unread post by Horizonsound » Wed Dec 12, 2018 1:47 am

Yep, the whole postage system is so annoying. Everything goes through Sydney. It takes 1 day to get from texas to sydney, then four days to get through sydney. Glad i am paying premium postage on this.

Just keen now to find out what the issue is in the SY77, either the DM1, DM2 or both. The shipment from texas is the tact switches from mouser, and those need to go in first as I have the whole keyboard disassembled.

Though, I reckon i can strip an entire SY77 to bare bones now in around 10 minutes!

Anthony,
User avatar Australia
Rara
Member
Member
Posts: 373
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 4:34 pm
Contact:

Re: SY77 booting in a loop

Unread post by Rara » Wed Dec 12, 2018 8:06 am

My DM1 postage was apparently premium to @ €37
I'm thinking I'll be getting the next revision DM2 after a lot more reading on SY77's last night.
The number of them all of the sudden turning up on eBay and yahoo japan in the last six
months either dead, poorly functioning or parted out, had me both worried and amazed.
Judging by what I've read it's a good guess they're all running the same boards.

Are those switched you bought the opteron type? My SY85 is going to need the front panel
done in the near future

Rara 0-)
User avatar Australia
Horizonsound
Member
Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2018 11:53 am
Contact:

Re: SY77 booting in a loop

Unread post by Horizonsound » Wed Dec 12, 2018 12:37 pm

Omron B3F-1002 switches. I bought the wrong ones to start with which are .7mm too tall.

https://au.mouser.com/ProductDetail/omr ... cycode=AUD

If you are going to replace them, get a proper desoldering iron and save yourself hours of frustration. I have a Pace Micro from the 80s. Love it.

Anthony
Post Reply

Return to “Yamaha SY77 Forum - Covers the Sy77 Keyboard and TG77 Module”