How to format 720 kB/DD floppy disks in Windows XP,Vista,7,8

The Yamaha SY99 is a synthesiser combining frequency modulation synthesis (branded as Advanced FM) and sample-based synthesis (branded as Advanced Wave Memory 2) and the direct successor to Yamaha's SY77/TG77

Moderators: parametric, Derek, Saul, Fozzer

User avatar
Saul
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7923
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2004 1:00 am
Contact:
Ireland

How to format 720 kB/DD floppy disks in Windows XP,Vista,7,8

Unread post by Saul » Mon Feb 27, 2006 2:49 pm

[title updated to reflect later versions of Windows—db7]

In order to format a 720k disc in Windows XP you will probably have to use a 1.44mb disc and put tape over the hole at the top left of the disc...looking from the front of the disc. Make sure both sides of the hole are taped over.

To format all you do is press the START button on your taskbar and choose 'Run'... Type 'cmd' in the box that appears and hit enter. After this a DOS console window will appear where you type following command:

format A: /FS:FAT /T:80 /N:9

Press enter. Your 1.44mb disk will then be formatted as a 720kb disk. After the procedure computer will ask for the name of Volume, just hit enter and its done. It will then ask if you want to format another so you can do a few at once.

It looks like a long procedure to format a disk but really it only takes a few seconds to run the command and then away you go!.


Saul
Site Admin
Review Yamahamusicians.com on Trustpilot
Sign up to the Newsletter
Follow me on Twitter @YamahaMusicians
Follow Us On Facebook
Original Scarab On Facebook
Seagull S6 Original/Roland FA-07/Pianoteq 6 Pro/Amplitube 3.0/Apple iMac 27"/GarageBand 10.0.3/Logic Pro X/Cubase AI 9/Absynth 5/Ableton Live 9/KRK Rokit RP5 G3 Monitors
Website Design & Managed Hostingwww.rabbittree.uk

User avatar
sky99
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 1:00 am

Unread post by sky99 » Thu Dec 21, 2006 1:22 am

Windows XP supports the following floppy disk formats:
• 1.44 megabyte (MB) 3.5" floppy disk (read, write, format)
• 720 kilobyte (KB) 3.5" floppy disk (read, write only)
• 1.2MB 5.25" floppy disk (read, write only)
• 360KB 5.25" floppy disk (read, write only)

http://support.microsoft.com/default.as ... us;Q309623



User avatar
Saul
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7923
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2004 1:00 am
Contact:
Ireland

Unread post by Saul » Thu Dec 21, 2006 8:27 am

Not quite sure what the point of that last post was? We already know XP doesn't support formatting of 720k discs from within the GUI. You can still format them using the method I outlined above. Just because Microsoft say XP doesn't support something doesn't mean the feature is not there....it's just hidden.
Last edited by Saul on Tue Jan 02, 2007 9:17 am, edited 1 time in total.


Saul
Site Admin
Review Yamahamusicians.com on Trustpilot
Sign up to the Newsletter
Follow me on Twitter @YamahaMusicians
Follow Us On Facebook
Original Scarab On Facebook
Seagull S6 Original/Roland FA-07/Pianoteq 6 Pro/Amplitube 3.0/Apple iMac 27"/GarageBand 10.0.3/Logic Pro X/Cubase AI 9/Absynth 5/Ableton Live 9/KRK Rokit RP5 G3 Monitors
Website Design & Managed Hostingwww.rabbittree.uk

User avatar
tulun
Member
Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 1:00 am
Contact:

Unread post by tulun » Tue Dec 26, 2006 1:19 pm

Also, you can download 3rd party software to format these DD floppy disk.



User avatar
indegruv
Member
Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 12:00 am

Unread post by indegruv » Fri Aug 17, 2007 8:41 pm

great tip

for Windows ME (i know) it works if you remove the /FS:FAT part.

format A: /T:80 /N:9

formatted 720k! 8)


Input!

User avatar
Derek
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3611
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:00 am
Contact:
Wales

Unread post by Derek » Fri Dec 14, 2007 10:21 am

Just wanted to say thanks for this tip. :)

This worked like a dream and I can now share data between the SY77 (now I've fixed the floppy drive - the usual belt problem) and my Music PC (running Windows XP).

The biggest problem I had was finding a floppy disk; they're pretty rare in my house now!

This site is the best SY77 resource that I've found so far! Well done, guys :)


Regards
Derek Cook

http://www.carregddu.co.uk
http://www.echoes-music.co.uk
http://www.xfactory-librarians.co.uk
http://www.ex5tech.com

User avatar
Saul
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7923
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2004 1:00 am
Contact:
Ireland

Unread post by Saul » Fri Dec 14, 2007 11:09 am

Glad to hear that was of use to your Derek. The Good old floppy lives on :)


Saul
Site Admin
Review Yamahamusicians.com on Trustpilot
Sign up to the Newsletter
Follow me on Twitter @YamahaMusicians
Follow Us On Facebook
Original Scarab On Facebook
Seagull S6 Original/Roland FA-07/Pianoteq 6 Pro/Amplitube 3.0/Apple iMac 27"/GarageBand 10.0.3/Logic Pro X/Cubase AI 9/Absynth 5/Ableton Live 9/KRK Rokit RP5 G3 Monitors
Website Design & Managed Hostingwww.rabbittree.uk

User avatar
Derek
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3611
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:00 am
Contact:
Wales

Unread post by Derek » Fri Dec 14, 2007 4:50 pm

I've now even managed to find a few old 720K disks stuffed away up in my attic!

And my wife complains because I'm a "magpie"; I knew I would need them one day! 8O :D


Regards
Derek Cook

http://www.carregddu.co.uk
http://www.echoes-music.co.uk
http://www.xfactory-librarians.co.uk
http://www.ex5tech.com

User avatar
Saul
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7923
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2004 1:00 am
Contact:
Ireland

Unread post by Saul » Sat Dec 15, 2007 1:16 pm

I think I have a whole shoe box full of floppies in the garage. 1.44mb though but a bit of tape over the hole soon gives you a 720k disc :)


Saul
Site Admin
Review Yamahamusicians.com on Trustpilot
Sign up to the Newsletter
Follow me on Twitter @YamahaMusicians
Follow Us On Facebook
Original Scarab On Facebook
Seagull S6 Original/Roland FA-07/Pianoteq 6 Pro/Amplitube 3.0/Apple iMac 27"/GarageBand 10.0.3/Logic Pro X/Cubase AI 9/Absynth 5/Ableton Live 9/KRK Rokit RP5 G3 Monitors
Website Design & Managed Hostingwww.rabbittree.uk

User avatar
Clyde
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 6073
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2004 1:00 am
United States of America

Unread post by Clyde » Sat Dec 15, 2007 7:45 pm

There is a salvage store that sells OSD merchandise from trucking firms, UPS, etc. and on a shopping trip there a few months ago they had some new 720kb disks there, I picked up a few boxes and have used about half of them.
Clyde


DX7IIFD, SY77, SY99, Hammond C3, Steinway L, CP300, AW1600, etc.

User avatar
mrfrisky330
Member
Member
Posts: 311
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 12:00 am

Unread post by mrfrisky330 » Tue Jun 30, 2009 2:30 pm

If your really concerned about future Windows versions of Vista and beyond not supporting at all the 720K format there is a guaranteed way of future proofing your PC.

Download "virtual pc" from Microsoft you can run everything in it apart from XP (I have SUSE Linux running the brilliant Bristol synth emulator on it, DOS 6.22 for 720k formatting and old (legal) emulators and Windows NT4 for doing work stuff). Best of all its FREE, you can legitimately download DOS 6.22 as well.

If your not concerned why are you reading this??



User avatar
hawkan2580
Member
Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2005 1:00 am

Re: How To Format a 720k Disc In Windows XP

Unread post by hawkan2580 » Sun Jun 27, 2010 2:36 am

Hmm... I am on a mac and installed virtual pc 7 with xp in order to do this with a windows only usb floppy drive as I have tons of sounds for the sy99 on the computer that I've never tried out as I never been able to transfer them to a disk and they're sy T.01

the thing is, I get,
File system is RAW
New File system is Fat
Formatting 720k
Parameters not supported by drive

after trying the cmd/ format A: /T:80 /N:9

although, I have to use format B as the usb floppy designation is B...

Arghhh.. don't want to get in to a discussion about this but Windows sucks big time!! LOL Or it could be that I just don't know my way around in them, been a mac user since late 80s ha ha

Help......please:) is it a driver thingy.. the floppy drive is an smc usb floppy



User avatar
Derek
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3611
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:00 am
Contact:
Wales

Re: How To Format a 720k Disc In Windows XP

Unread post by Derek » Sun Jun 27, 2010 10:19 am

If you format the disk in an SY99 can the MAC read it?

PS: Although I don't have one (yet), I'm with you on the Mac! Had one on loan for a while and it was a really pleasant experience, just like my iPhone. I was a shame when I had to give it back!


Regards
Derek Cook

http://www.carregddu.co.uk
http://www.echoes-music.co.uk
http://www.xfactory-librarians.co.uk
http://www.ex5tech.com

User avatar
Saul
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7923
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2004 1:00 am
Contact:
Ireland

Re: How To Format a 720k Disc In Windows XP

Unread post by Saul » Sun Jun 27, 2010 10:29 am

I'm also with you on the mac. I have a 24" iMac which I use most of the time now. I have the PC sitting next to it but I rarely turn it on these days. I don't have a floppy drive for the mac so I can't test formatting floppies on it. I run Parallels Desktop V5 for the windows stuff with a copy of Win7 64 Ultimate installed which seems to run just fine.


Saul
Site Admin
Review Yamahamusicians.com on Trustpilot
Sign up to the Newsletter
Follow me on Twitter @YamahaMusicians
Follow Us On Facebook
Original Scarab On Facebook
Seagull S6 Original/Roland FA-07/Pianoteq 6 Pro/Amplitube 3.0/Apple iMac 27"/GarageBand 10.0.3/Logic Pro X/Cubase AI 9/Absynth 5/Ableton Live 9/KRK Rokit RP5 G3 Monitors
Website Design & Managed Hostingwww.rabbittree.uk

User avatar
yamahadrums
Member
Member
Posts: 147
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 12:00 am

Re: How To Format a 720k Disc In Windows XP

Unread post by yamahadrums » Sun Jun 27, 2010 5:19 pm

I,m on MAC too with a USB floppy drive. Unfortunately you cannot format as 720k on MAC, at least I've never heard of someone that managed to do it. That's why I have a virtual machine running Windows XP.


Mac Pro 2.66 GHz 8Gb RAM Mac OS X 10.6, Logic Pro 9.1.8, Pro Tools 10.3.2, Tascam FW-1884, Adam A7, Roland V-Drums TD-20, Yamaha SY-99, DIGI 003 Factory, Audiotechnica ATH-M50.

Post Reply

Return to “Yamaha SY99 Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest