SY99 won't transmit on all MIDI channels???

The Yamaha SY99 is a synthesiser combining frequency modulation synthesis (branded as Advanced FM) and sample-based synthesis (branded as Advanced Wave Memory 2) and the direct successor to Yamaha's SY77/TG77

Moderators: parametric, Derek, Saul, Fozzer

syguy
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2016 4:59 am

SY99 won't transmit on all MIDI channels???

Unread post by syguy » Tue Jul 19, 2016 4:54 pm

Hi, I got an SY99 and was trying to use it to control another piece of gear on a different midi channel. Changing utilities->midi->keyboard transmit channel doesn't seem to actually change the transmit channel... I connected the output to a midi monitor and indeed, the note on/offs are always on midi channel 1. The peculiar thing is, the big rotary encoder on the SY99 ~does~ transmit CCs on the selected transmit channel. Anyone know what is going on? I think my OS version is 1.24. thanks!



User avatar
SeaGtGruff
Member
Member
Posts: 376
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2014 4:24 am
United States of America

Re: SY99 won't transmit on all MIDI channels???

Unread post by SeaGtGruff » Wed Jul 20, 2016 7:26 am

First of all, I have no experience with the SY99 and know only what I can glean from its manual-- which I've only glanced at in a very precursory manner-- so don't count on anything I say about the SY99 having any validity! ;)

Anyway, according to the manual the SY99's tone generator is always in either Voice mode or Multi mode. I didn't get to any explanations of what "Voice mode" is, but the manual says that in "Multi mode" the SY99 acts as a 16-channel multitimbral instrument-- maybe not in those exact words, but that's the gist of it. So I assume that if you've got the SY99 in Multi mode, it will transmit all 16 MIDI channels at once-- although if you aren't playing (or playing back via the sequencer) anything on some of the channels, then you aren't going to see any Note events on those channels. The "transmit channel" isn't really applicable to a multitimbral instrument, only to a monotimbral instrument. Perhaps that's what "Voice mode" is for, to use the SY99 as a monotimbral instrument? Which mode are you in?


Michael Rideout
Yamaha PSR-E433, PSR-E443, YPT-400

User avatar
Derek
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3611
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:00 am
Contact:
Wales

Re: SY99 won't transmit on all MIDI channels???

Unread post by Derek » Wed Jul 20, 2016 8:05 pm

Hi,

I have an SY99 (a brilliant synth and one of Yamaha's finest), but usually just leave it set in Voice mode on Channel 1. I just tried changing the MIDI TX channel in Utility mode and in both Voice and Multi mode I can see that (using MIIDIOX) that the SY99 uses the selected TX channel.

However what can change all of that is Master Mode, which allows you to have up to 4 zoned settings on the keyboard with different ranges and MIDI channels. Eight master settings are supported, but they are "global" to any voice or Multi (which limits its use).

I can replicate your behaviour if I have Master Mode set active with a different MIDI channel being set in a zone. I can see Note commands on that zone being sent on the selected zone MIDI channel, but rotating the dial gives you control changes on the TX channel set in UTILITY mode, so I suspect that this is your issue.

To check this (for example whilst in voice mode), press the Mstr soft key under the display. Do you have one of the 8 masters showing in "Inverse video"? If so that master is active. If you press the ENTER key it will deactivate the master, does the MIDI behaviour change? If so it's the settings of that particular master which is your issue. I would suggest turning MSTR mode off whilst getting things working.

Note: the Master selection (one of eight) and whether it is on or not is persistent; so if you power off and back on again, the last settings are used.

I have OS 1.57 (I think the last, or at least one of the last OS versions).

BTW, I have never played with Master mode before on the SY99, so I have learnt something tonight! :D

HTH


Regards
Derek Cook

http://www.carregddu.co.uk
http://www.echoes-music.co.uk
http://www.xfactory-librarians.co.uk
http://www.ex5tech.com

syguy
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2016 4:59 am

Re: SY99 won't transmit on all MIDI channels???

Unread post by syguy » Wed Jul 20, 2016 11:10 pm

Wow thanks for that!! When I get home tonight I am going to see what the deal is with master mode. I suspect you are correct :mrgreen:



User avatar
Derek
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3611
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:00 am
Contact:
Wales

Re: SY99 won't transmit on all MIDI channels???

Unread post by Derek » Thu Jul 21, 2016 6:18 pm

Here's hoping. Let us know how you get on.


Regards
Derek Cook

http://www.carregddu.co.uk
http://www.echoes-music.co.uk
http://www.xfactory-librarians.co.uk
http://www.ex5tech.com

Post Reply

Return to “Yamaha SY99 Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest