Motif Rack XS MIDI in but no Sound w/Complex Orchestration

Yamaha Motif Classic/ES/XS Series

Moderators: Derek, parametric, Saul

Post Reply
User avatar
Basspig
Member
Member
Posts: 91
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2020 3:26 am
Contact:

Motif Rack XS MIDI in but no Sound w/Complex Orchestration

Unread post by Basspig »

I recently added a Motif Rack XS to my setup. I can play through it via my Roland A80 keyboard using Cakewalk Sonar to route the data.
I also can play simply 1-2 tracks MIDI projects from Cakewalk Sonar. Those simple projects were solo piano.
However, a 16 track project with a full orchestra makes no sounds. The green LED on the Voice button flickers, indicating MIDI data is coming in. The volume is turned fully CW.
I've double checked that all my ports are pointing to the Motif and that I have instruments assigned to each track.
This project was originally setup to play out through two Kurzweil rack units on different MIDI ports.
Is there a MIDI controller that Motif is "hearing" in my project and thus muting it's sound output, as the project has some controllers 25, 26, and ext effects depth?



User avatar
Derek
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 5252
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:00 am
Location.: Wales, UK
Contact:

VIP

Re: Motif Rack XS MIDI in but no Sound w/Complex Orchestration

Unread post by Derek »

Basspig wrote:
Tue Jan 14, 2020 3:14 am
I recently added a Motif Rack XS to my setup. I can play through it via my Roland A80 keyboard using Cakewalk Sonar to route the data.
I also can play simply 1-2 tracks MIDI projects from Cakewalk Sonar. Those simple projects were solo piano.
However, a 16 track project with a full orchestra makes no sounds. The green LED on the Voice button flickers, indicating MIDI data is coming in. The volume is turned fully CW.
I've double checked that all my ports are pointing to the Motif and that I have instruments assigned to each track.
This project was originally setup to play out through two Kurzweil rack units on different MIDI ports.
Is there a MIDI controller that Motif is "hearing" in my project and thus muting it's sound output, as the project has some controllers 25, 26, and ext effects depth?
Hi, if the XS is like my Motif Rack ES, then what mode are you in? If you want 16 independent channels, then the ES needs to be in Multi Mode, not Voice Mode, and I suspect the XS needs to be the same.


Regards
Derek Cook

http://www.carregddu.co.uk
http://www.echoes-music.co.uk
http://www.xfactory-librarians.co.uk
http://www.ex5tech.co.uk

User avatar
Basspig
Member
Member
Posts: 91
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2020 3:26 am
Contact:

Re: Motif Rack XS MIDI in but no Sound w/Complex Orchestration

Unread post by Basspig »

Good point, and somewhere in the tons of reading I did about Motif over the past several days, I recall some comments about not being able to play multi track DAW projects due to a setting in the Motif.

I presume this is under the MIDI menu under Utility? I have a choice of MIDI soft thru off/on there. Not seeing anything that denotes Multi or Voice modes. Maybe I'm confusing with what I read about Montage, but somewhere someone wrote that you have to set up these synths to receive one channel per part or something of that nature.

Google doesn't bring up any relevant info when I ask this question. :confusion-confused:



User avatar
Derek
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 5252
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:00 am
Location.: Wales, UK
Contact:

VIP

Re: Motif Rack XS MIDI in but no Sound w/Complex Orchestration

Unread post by Derek »

First question is are you in Multi Mode?

I just checked the online XF manual and it has that mode. It is a button on the front panel and you don't need to go to utility mode to select it. Look at the PDF or paper manual on Page 10. You can see the Multi button top middle to the right of the VOICE button.
The Multi Mode (page 35) lets you set up the MOTIF-RACK XS as a multi-timbral tone generator for use with computer-based DAW software or external sequencers. You can play various Voices (up to 16 Parts) simultaneously. By assigning different Voices to each track in a song file of your sequencer, you can play back a complex band or ensemble performance with just a single MOTIF-RACK XS.
The only thing you should have to do in utility mode is to select the source of MIDI (MIDI, USB or mLAN If fitted)). You need to set the MIDI mode to match the MIDI port you will be using (MIDI DIN sockets or USB (or mLAN)).

Have you selected or created a multi with the multi parts having the voices you want played back from the computer, including matching the Multi MIDI channels to the channels in your DAW?

There is a tutorial on P24 of the manual for setting up the rack with Cubase AI (should have come with the rack), and there is a tutorial on P35 for playing a Multi.


Regards
Derek Cook

http://www.carregddu.co.uk
http://www.echoes-music.co.uk
http://www.xfactory-librarians.co.uk
http://www.ex5tech.co.uk

User avatar
Basspig
Member
Member
Posts: 91
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2020 3:26 am
Contact:

Re: Motif Rack XS MIDI in but no Sound w/Complex Orchestration

Unread post by Basspig »

Oh, duh! I was thinking Montage and it being buried in the setup menus.. it IS just a matter of pressing MULTI (next to VOICE) on the panel! Dang, that was too easy! Thank you!

My project consists of 16 or more tracks in Cakewalk Sonar Producer Edition. I have each instrument assigned a port, unique MIDI channel, unique bank and instrument.


Best Regards,
Mark
-----------------------------------
Kurzweil K2600RS, K2500RS, PC2RO, ExpressionMate Ribbon
Roland A80, Peavey PC1600, Yamaha FS1R, Motif Rack XS, Montage 8, Korg Kronos 2

User avatar
Derek
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 5252
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:00 am
Location.: Wales, UK
Contact:

VIP

Re: Motif Rack XS MIDI in but no Sound w/Complex Orchestration

Unread post by Derek »

Glad you have it sorted.


Regards
Derek Cook

http://www.carregddu.co.uk
http://www.echoes-music.co.uk
http://www.xfactory-librarians.co.uk
http://www.ex5tech.co.uk

User avatar
YamahaUser
Member
Member
Posts: 125
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2019 8:43 am

Re: Motif Rack XS MIDI in but no Sound w/Complex Orchestration

Unread post by YamahaUser »

Basspig wrote:
Wed Jan 15, 2020 10:37 pm
Oh, duh! I was thinking Montage and it being buried in the setup menus.. it IS just a matter of pressing MULTI (next to VOICE) on the panel! Dang, that was too easy! Thank you!

My project consists of 16 or more tracks in Cakewalk Sonar Producer Edition. I have each instrument assigned a port, unique MIDI channel, unique bank and instrument.
As I posted in your "Moving into the 21st Century/Investing in Yamaha Gear" thread...
If you haven't already done so, I suggest that you download and install the Motif-Rack XS Editor that's compatible with your computer's OS:
https://usa.yamaha.com/support/updates/ ... if-Rack+XS
The Rack XS Editor makes setting up Multis much easier than dealing with the small display and front panel controls.

You also might find this support article of interest:
http://www.motifator.com/index.php/supp ... oices_live


Yamaha A3000V2, A4000, MEP4, Motif XS6, Motif XF6, YS200
Fender Chroma Polaris | Korg T3EX, 05R/W | Roland M-GS64, U-220 | Etc.

User avatar
Basspig
Member
Member
Posts: 91
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2020 3:26 am
Contact:

Re: Motif Rack XS MIDI in but no Sound w/Complex Orchestration

Unread post by Basspig »

Yes indeed, I have downloaded everything available and installing the editor is on my short list of to do items.

The woodwinds sound MUCH more natural without the 'drone' effect I was getting with my Kurz PC2RO. I do have some sounds sustaining and the percussion has to be remapped, but I think with some tweaking to the original project, I'll get some nice results.


Best Regards,
Mark
-----------------------------------
Kurzweil K2600RS, K2500RS, PC2RO, ExpressionMate Ribbon
Roland A80, Peavey PC1600, Yamaha FS1R, Motif Rack XS, Montage 8, Korg Kronos 2

User avatar
Basspig
Member
Member
Posts: 91
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2020 3:26 am
Contact:

Re: Motif Rack XS MIDI in but no Sound w/Complex Orchestration

Unread post by Basspig »

Odd problem.. when the Motif Rack XS is in Multi mode, and I play a sequence that is solo piano, all of the notes are echoed about 100mS delay after each initial hammer strike. If I switch to rack to Voice mode, it doesn't do that echo effect. At first, I thought maybe it was an Effect parameter, but the piano is basically dry, it is the notes that are being echoed. I've not encountered this in the past with other tone generators, so I'm at a loss as to what's wrong here.


Best Regards,
Mark
-----------------------------------
Kurzweil K2600RS, K2500RS, PC2RO, ExpressionMate Ribbon
Roland A80, Peavey PC1600, Yamaha FS1R, Motif Rack XS, Montage 8, Korg Kronos 2

Post Reply