Support Our Community!
Join as a VIP Member for $1/month to support our forum and enjoy an ad-free experience.

New! Check out our "Advertisers" package if you want to advertise and support the forum.

Thank you for being part of our community! ❤️

Become a VIP Member Today!

Yamaha RY30 manager (voice editor and rhythm kit editor)

All Other Yamaha Keyboards/Modules and Instruments Not Covered By Their Own Section

Moderators: parametric, Derek, Saul

Post Reply
User avatar
chriswareham
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2021 9:25 pm
4
Where Are You Located?: London

Yamaha RY30 manager (voice editor and rhythm kit editor)

Unread post by chriswareham »

Hi folks,

I'm about to write a voice editor for my RY30 drum machine. The manual for the RY30 doesn't describe the structure of an RY30 "patch" or the individual CC/NRPN to tweak its parameters, but I know it's related to the RM50 which does have quite a bit of detail in an appendix to its manual. Before I start experimenting, I was wondering if anyone else has already tried using the RM50's SysEx MIDI implementation to tweak an RY30?

I have a couple of editors already written for the Roland Alpha Juno and Ensoniq ESQ1/SQ80 synths*, so I'll be basing my code for the RY30 editor off of one of them. They're written in C for Unix platforms, but should in theory be portable to Windows and Mac OSX.

Cheers,

Chris

* - AlphaJuno editor: https://github.com/chriswareham/alphajuno ESQ1/SQ80 editor: https://github.com/chriswareham/sq80
Last edited by chriswareham on Thu Mar 04, 2021 1:14 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
tux
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1306
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2012 1:42 am
12
Where Are You Located?: Europe

Re: Yamaha RM50 manager (voice editor and rhythm kit editor)

Unread post by tux »

The RY30 has a different patch format and fewer editable parameters so knowledge from the RM50 isn't directly transferable.
But there is an ancient Amiga editor for the RY30 written in C and with source code included that you could use as information source:
You can find it here: http://aminet.net/search?f=2&path=mus/midi&start=200 (filename: ry30ed.lha)
Good luck.
RM50 Manager - Yamaha RM50 patch editor
My Yamaha synths: RM50, TG77, TG500, CS6R (with PLG150-AN)
User avatar
chriswareham
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2021 9:25 pm
4
Where Are You Located?: London

Re: Yamaha RM50 manager (voice editor and rhythm kit editor)

Unread post by chriswareham »

Many thanks tux!

I had a quick skim through the code for that Amiga based editor, and the author reverse engineered the voice format for the RY30. If I'm reading the code correctly, he dumps the whole voice back to the RY30 each time a parameter is updated. A very useful starting point though!

Cheers,

Chris
User avatar
chriswareham
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2021 9:25 pm
4
Where Are You Located?: London

Re: Yamaha RM50 manager (voice editor and rhythm kit editor)

Unread post by chriswareham »

Hi Chris and Tux -

I have split off this segment to it's own thread (Yamaha RY30 Manager) for clarity <parametric>
(Y)

OK, I've put together the user interface for editing a voice. I took some cues from the RM50 manager, so it may look a little familiar :D I also decided to code it in Java rather than C, since I've been wanting to learn how to code MIDI applications in Java for a while. So far it is just the interface - you can interact with it but it doesn't send SysEx messages to an RY30 yet.

Next step is to implement the Java MIDI code to actually transmit changes to the RY30. It seems the machine can only receive a full voice dump rather than messages to change a single parameter, but the message for a voice dump is tiny and based on sending messages on the command line it seems to work without any perceivable delay.

Once voice transmission is complete I'll then implement a pad bank (or kit) editor.

The code can be found at the following link and should work on Linux, Windows or Mac. I'd be keen to hear feedback from Windows or Mac users since I only have access to a Linux machine.

https://github.com/chriswareham/ry30
Last edited by parametric on Thu Mar 04, 2021 12:43 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Split topic to a seperate thread . . .
User avatar
tux
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1306
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2012 1:42 am
12
Where Are You Located?: Europe

Re: Yamaha RY30 voice and rhythm kit editor

Unread post by tux »

chriswareham wrote: Wed Mar 03, 2021 11:08 pm I took some cues from the RM50 manager, so it may look a little familiar :D I also decided to code it in Java rather than C
Is there a screenshot available somewhere?
Unfortunately I don't have a box with Java 11 and Maven already installed so I can't just test it quickly and since I don't own a RY30 anyway I can't be arsed to install all that just to see the GUI. ;)

But anyway, as far as I'm concerned you can copy the GUI as much as you want, if anything I'm flattered by that (especially since I don't consider the GUI of the RM50 manager to be anything special). :)
RM50 Manager - Yamaha RM50 patch editor
My Yamaha synths: RM50, TG77, TG500, CS6R (with PLG150-AN)
User avatar
chriswareham
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2021 9:25 pm
4
Where Are You Located?: London

Re: Yamaha RY30 manager (voice editor and rhythm kit editor)

Unread post by chriswareham »

Here are screenshots of the application so far:

Image
Image
Image

So far the MIDI code can iterate the connected transmitting and receiving devices, allowing you to select them.The next step is to use that blank space to the right of the first screenshot to add widgets for sending and receiving a voice. Then I'll hook up the other widgets to support real time voice editing.
User avatar
tux
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1306
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2012 1:42 am
12
Where Are You Located?: Europe

Re: Yamaha RY30 manager (voice editor and rhythm kit editor)

Unread post by tux »

Ok, I can see the similar layout, but are those really all parameters of a RY30 voice?
I didn't remember that it has so few parameters.

With the progress you are making I guess your editor will be finished within days.
RM50 Manager - Yamaha RM50 patch editor
My Yamaha synths: RM50, TG77, TG500, CS6R (with PLG150-AN)
User avatar
chriswareham
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2021 9:25 pm
4
Where Are You Located?: London

Re: Yamaha RY30 manager (voice editor and rhythm kit editor)

Unread post by chriswareham »

tux wrote: Thu Mar 04, 2021 10:11 pm Ok, I can see the similar layout, but are those really all parameters of a RY30 voice?
I didn't remember that it has so few parameters.
An RY30 voice doesn't have the delay feature or an LFO, while its EG is basically just an initial level and decay rate. Still capable of some great sounds though!
tux wrote: Thu Mar 04, 2021 10:11 pm With the progress you are making I guess your editor will be finished within days.
It shouldn't take me too long to finish the voice editing part - I'm just running some tests from the command line to see how negative values are encoded in the SysEx message for a voice dump. The values are encoded as the ASCII representation of the hex value - so the decimal value 63, hex value 0x3F, is encoded as two bytes with the hex values of 0x33 and 0x46. Weird.
User avatar
chriswareham
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2021 9:25 pm
4
Where Are You Located?: London

Re: Yamaha RY30 manager (voice editor and rhythm kit editor)

Unread post by chriswareham »

The code up on GitHub now supports editing all parameters of a voice, and the parameters are updated in real time on the connected RY30.

The next step is to be able to fetch a voice from a RY30. Once that's done I'll move onto pad bank editing.
User avatar
tux
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1306
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2012 1:42 am
12
Where Are You Located?: Europe

Re: Yamaha RY30 manager (voice editor and rhythm kit editor)

Unread post by tux »

I have started spreading the news, hope you don't mind: ;)
https://www.gearslutz.com/board/electro ... st15344708
RM50 Manager - Yamaha RM50 patch editor
My Yamaha synths: RM50, TG77, TG500, CS6R (with PLG150-AN)
User avatar
chriswareham
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2021 9:25 pm
4
Where Are You Located?: London

Re: Yamaha RY30 manager (voice editor and rhythm kit editor)

Unread post by chriswareham »

tux wrote: Fri Mar 12, 2021 1:30 am I have started spreading the news, hope you don't mind: ;)
Awesome! I'm going to make some final tweaks to the voice editing functionality this weekend, then I'll start work on the pad bank editing.
User avatar
versonegro
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2021 6:10 am
4
Where Are You Located?: spain

Re: Yamaha RY30 manager (voice editor and rhythm kit editor)

Unread post by versonegro »

Awesome project, this is great. Thank you.
User avatar
chriswareham
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2021 9:25 pm
4
Where Are You Located?: London

Re: Yamaha RY30 manager (voice editor and rhythm kit editor)

Unread post by chriswareham »

I've made a release here:

https://github.com/chriswareham/ry30/re ... ag/4fc9ac8

You need to download the JAR file, and once you have the Java runtime installed you will be able to run the editor. I suggest installing the Java runtime from here:

https://adoptopenjdk.net/

You need version 11 of the runtime - the editor should run with version 16 but hasn't been tested with it.

If you have any problems, then please open an issue on Github and I will be very happy to help.

Apologies for the lack of progress on adding pad bank editing, but I recently bought an SY99 and have been making music rather than coding :)
K
Kenny202
Member
Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2019 8:40 am
5

Re: Yamaha RY30 manager (voice editor and rhythm kit editor)

Unread post by Kenny202 »

Hi Chris, off topic here but you seem pretty knowledgeable about the RY30. I just bought one a week ago and love it. Got my head around most things but I can't for the life of me work out how to save a unique tempo to a user pattern. When I go go in and play a user pattern I created they all come up with whatever the tempo is currently set on the machine. I intended to create individual user patterns for every song I do, and of course they will all have different tempos. I know I can change the tempo manually at the start of each song but would prefer to have it saved in each of the user presets. I note in the factory preset patterns they are saved with differing tempos,

Many thanks, regards Craig
Post Reply