PSR 6300 - problems chip

Yamaha PSR/PSS & DGX Home Keyboards. If your particular model PSR/PSS/DGX keyboard doesn't have it's own section here is the place to post.

Moderators: parametric, Derek, Saul

Adair
Member
Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2015 6:58 pm
Brazil

PSR 6300 - problems chip

Unread post by Adair » Thu May 17, 2018 10:40 am

yamaha_psr_6300.png
Yamaha PSR 6300
I recently bought a Yamaha Psr 6300 Keyboard. It was long standing, unused. Apparently the keyboard is in great condition. All the tones and keys work perfectly. However the rhyme sector has two problems. The rhythm of the bass is out of control as is the variation. The drums and chords work when I select some rhythm. I think it's some integrated circuit chip. I already opened the keyboard but on the main motherboard there are countless chips. Here where I live there is no Yamaha assistance and no technical in the subject. I have already reset the factory by pressing the C6 and turning on the keyboard and nothing has changed. I ask friends ... how to figure out which chip is damaged.
User avatar
Miks
Specialist Moderator
Specialist Moderator
Posts: 1576
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 1:00 am
Contact:
Germany

Re: PSR 6300 - problems chip

Unread post by Miks » Thu May 17, 2018 11:42 am

Not familiar with Yamaha PSR keyboards - but: whilst you have (or had) it open did you happen to see if it has a battery on (one of) the board(s)? If there is one - maybe it is dead and needs to be replaced by a fresh one - followed by another reset procedure to see if this cures the issue?
My (key related) gear (in alphabetical order):
Kawai: K1 II
Korg: M1 (up'd to EX, w/ 'Cool Blue'), M1REX (w/ 'Cool Blue'), Poly-800
Roland: D-50, D-110, D-550, PG-1000
Yamaha: AW1600, DX7IID (w/ 'Cool Blue'), EX5R, RM50, RX5, SY99 (w/ 'Cool Blue'), TG500, TX-802, YMM2
Sector101: SYEMB05 (5x), SYEMB06 (3x), EXFLM2 (1kit), MCD Sweet16 (1x), WaveBlade 8MB Card (1x) & 1x Programmer Unit for WaveBlade


http://rescuer-uslar.de/
https://www.facebook.com/Rescuer.Uslar/
User avatar
Saul
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9517
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2004 1:00 am
Contact:
Ireland

Re: PSR 6300 - problems chip

Unread post by Saul » Thu May 17, 2018 11:53 am

It does sound like the sort of thing that happens on synths when the battery runs down. They start to glitch, lose sounds etc.

I'm not sure if PSR's had batteries back then. I know most modern PSR's don't. Definitely worth checking though.

Also make sure your getting the right voltage into the board as that can have the same effect as a bad battery. Although I noticed in the manual it mentions the "AC In Jack to connect household current" which makes me think the power supply is built in so there would be no adapter, just a power lead straight from the wall to the keyboard.
Saul
Site Admin
Subscribe To Our YouTube Channel!
Review Yamahamusicians.com on Trustpilot
Sign up to the Newsletter
Follow us on Twitter @YamahaMusicians
Follow Us On Facebook
Dowina Acoustic Guitars: Dowina Cabernet DC
Dowina Chardonnay GAC DS - Dowina Rustica GAC.

Seagull S6 Original/Harley Benton CLA-15MCE/Ashbury AG-160/Roland FA-07/Pianoteq 6 Pro/Amplitube 3.0/Apple iMac 27"/GarageBand 10.0.3/Logic Pro X/Cubase AI 9/Absynth 5/Ableton Live 9/KRK Rokit RP5 G3 Monitors
User avatar
Miks
Specialist Moderator
Specialist Moderator
Posts: 1576
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 1:00 am
Contact:
Germany

Re: PSR 6300 - problems chip

Unread post by Miks » Thu May 17, 2018 12:27 pm

@ Adair - please check your PM's... :wink:
My (key related) gear (in alphabetical order):
Kawai: K1 II
Korg: M1 (up'd to EX, w/ 'Cool Blue'), M1REX (w/ 'Cool Blue'), Poly-800
Roland: D-50, D-110, D-550, PG-1000
Yamaha: AW1600, DX7IID (w/ 'Cool Blue'), EX5R, RM50, RX5, SY99 (w/ 'Cool Blue'), TG500, TX-802, YMM2
Sector101: SYEMB05 (5x), SYEMB06 (3x), EXFLM2 (1kit), MCD Sweet16 (1x), WaveBlade 8MB Card (1x) & 1x Programmer Unit for WaveBlade


http://rescuer-uslar.de/
https://www.facebook.com/Rescuer.Uslar/
Adair
Member
Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2015 6:58 pm
Brazil

Re: PSR 6300 - problems chip

Unread post by Adair » Thu May 17, 2018 4:33 pm

Thank you Saul, there really is no battery. in my city the voltage is 220volts which was how I connected, however there is a voltage 240 volts. I'm going to test this voltag
User avatar
Saul
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9517
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2004 1:00 am
Contact:
Ireland

Re: PSR 6300 - problems chip

Unread post by Saul » Thu May 17, 2018 5:07 pm

Adair wrote:
Thu May 17, 2018 4:33 pm
Thank you Saul, there really is no battery. in my city the voltage is 220volts which was how I connected, however there is a voltage 240 volts. I'm going to test this voltag
I think your in Brazil? I heard the voltage there varies depending on what part of the country you are in and it goes from 127v to 220v.

Must be really hard when buying electrical equipment from outside the country? Most power supplies have a setting to switch between 110v which is the standard in the USA and 220/240v which is used here in the UK and large parts of Europe. Just got to make sure you have selected the right voltage!
Saul
Site Admin
Subscribe To Our YouTube Channel!
Review Yamahamusicians.com on Trustpilot
Sign up to the Newsletter
Follow us on Twitter @YamahaMusicians
Follow Us On Facebook
Dowina Acoustic Guitars: Dowina Cabernet DC
Dowina Chardonnay GAC DS - Dowina Rustica GAC.

Seagull S6 Original/Harley Benton CLA-15MCE/Ashbury AG-160/Roland FA-07/Pianoteq 6 Pro/Amplitube 3.0/Apple iMac 27"/GarageBand 10.0.3/Logic Pro X/Cubase AI 9/Absynth 5/Ableton Live 9/KRK Rokit RP5 G3 Monitors
Adair
Member
Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2015 6:58 pm
Brazil

Re: PSR 6300 - problems chip

Unread post by Adair » Thu May 17, 2018 6:41 pm

Really Saul, I am using 220volts, I will modify to 240 volts to see if anything changes. In my state the official voltage is 220 volts. In Rio and São Paulo it is 110 volts. Saul there is another factory reset mode other than the C6
User avatar
SeaGtGruff
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 514
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2014 4:24 am
United States of America

Re: PSR 6300 - problems chip

Unread post by SeaGtGruff » Thu May 17, 2018 7:14 pm

You can get the Service Manual from the following site:

https://elektrotanya.com/showresult?wha ... =&kat2=all

You can power up the keyboard in a test mode, although I don't whether any of the tests might help in narrowing down the cause.
Michael Rideout
Current keyboards: Yamaha PSR-E433, PSR-E443, YPT-400, PSR-EW400
Current controllers: M-Audio Axiom 61-II
Past keyboards: Farfisa Matador 611, Casio CTK-710
Adair
Member
Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2015 6:58 pm
Brazil

Re: PSR 6300 - problems chip

Unread post by Adair » Thu May 17, 2018 9:45 pm

Thank you SeaGtGruff
Post Reply

Return to “Yamaha PSR/PSS/DGX”