Montage OS 2.5

Welcome to the new era from the company that brought you the DX and the Motif. Montage sets the next milestone with sophisticated dynamic control, massive sound creation and streamlined workflow.

Moderators: Derek, parametric, Saul

User avatar
Derek
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4206
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:00 am
Contact:
Wales

Montage OS 2.5

Unread post by Derek » Sun Aug 12, 2018 5:14 pm

Hi,

Just in case you missed it due to the YamahaSynth forum problems (I had) there is a new OS Update for the Montage, including all 512 Performances from the Motif XF, DAW Remote Control (using the Montage Surface) and much more.

Also the Montage forum name appears to have been updated, so if you are getting an error 404 for any presaved links then you need to renavigate and update your bookmarks.

There are some nice performances in those Motif XF performances. I already have a few ideas based on them. :)
Regards
Derek Cook

http://www.carregddu.co.uk
http://www.echoes-music.co.uk
http://www.xfactory-librarians.co.uk
http://www.ex5tech.co.uk
User avatar
Saul
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10256
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2004 1:00 am
Contact:
Ireland

Re: Montage OS 2.5

Unread post by Saul » Mon Aug 13, 2018 7:02 am

Thanks Derek. I did post this to the front of the site but forgot to add it to the forum. Sounds like a good update and I am sure there are many more to come :)
Saul
Site Admin
Subscribe To Our YouTube Channel!
Review Yamahamusicians.com on Trustpilot
Sign up to the Newsletter
Follow us on Twitter @YamahaMusicians
Follow Us On Facebook
Dowina Acoustic Guitars: Dowina Cabernet DC
Dowina Chardonnay GAC DS - Dowina Rustica GAC.

Seagull S6 Original/Harley Benton CLA-15MCE/Ashbury AG-160/Roland FA-07/Pianoteq 6 Pro/Amplitube 3.0/Apple iMac 27"/GarageBand 10.0.3/Logic Pro X/Cubase AI 9/Absynth 5/Ableton Live 9/KRK Rokit RP5 G3 Monitors
User avatar
tlc
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2018 5:47 pm
San Marino

Re: Montage OS 2.5

Unread post by tlc » Fri Sep 21, 2018 12:39 pm

Hi.
A small problem I noticed in montage os 2.5.
Standard Performance in OS 2.5 Motif XF ./ First performance ./ Piano Electric ./ trk 2 (bass) sounds incorrectly. with dissonance
We reinstalled the system again, but the problem remains.

Is it possible to delete Motif XF performance from montage 2.5 OS?

thanks
Stevie18
Product Specialist
Product Specialist
Posts: 73
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2018 4:49 pm
Germany

Re: Montage OS 2.5

Unread post by Stevie18 » Mon Sep 24, 2018 9:19 pm

No, you cannot remove any of the preset performances. But why bother? It's just one of ~6000. So just ignore it if you don't like it or it is wrong in some way.
User avatar
Derek
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4206
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:00 am
Contact:
Wales

Re: Montage OS 2.5

Unread post by Derek » Tue Sep 25, 2018 1:23 pm

Or edit it and correct the dissonance and save the edit voice to a user location?
Regards
Derek Cook

http://www.carregddu.co.uk
http://www.echoes-music.co.uk
http://www.xfactory-librarians.co.uk
http://www.ex5tech.co.uk
User avatar
tlc
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2018 5:47 pm
San Marino

Re: Montage OS 2.5

Unread post by tlc » Fri Sep 28, 2018 4:41 pm

So i did, do you think it's right for new OS?
I do not think so.

Thanks :(
User avatar
Derek
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4206
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:00 am
Contact:
Wales

Re: Montage OS 2.5

Unread post by Derek » Fri Sep 28, 2018 5:31 pm

A small thing in 1000s of Performances that has perhaps slipped quality control. Not the end of the world.....
Regards
Derek Cook

http://www.carregddu.co.uk
http://www.echoes-music.co.uk
http://www.xfactory-librarians.co.uk
http://www.ex5tech.co.uk
User avatar
tlc
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2018 5:47 pm
San Marino

Re: Montage OS 2.5

Unread post by tlc » Fri Sep 28, 2018 6:08 pm

even the first performance (Piano Electric)?
For me, new yamaha user, it's not too good starting ....
I would love to be the only error in this OS ....

Thanks for understanding
User avatar
Derek
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4206
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:00 am
Contact:
Wales

Re: Montage OS 2.5

Unread post by Derek » Fri Sep 28, 2018 8:00 pm

I have a background in software projects that have to be developed to time and budget, so understand that it is impossible to release a bug free product unless you have infinite time and infinite budget.

I am sure if it is wrong and has been reported then it will be corrected.

There is no such thing as a perfect product, no matter who the manufacturer is, as they will all be under the same constraints.

And being a supplier of products (as I have been) gives you a slightly different perspective on issues like this... ;)
Regards
Derek Cook

http://www.carregddu.co.uk
http://www.echoes-music.co.uk
http://www.xfactory-librarians.co.uk
http://www.ex5tech.co.uk
User avatar
tlc
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2018 5:47 pm
San Marino

Re: Montage OS 2.5

Unread post by tlc » Sun Sep 30, 2018 12:30 am

I do not wonder the fact of such an indifferent answer. You've written a lot of things.... :(

A response with little respect for all Montage owners was much better in the following way:
---- Fix in the update, well, sometimes----
...
nothing more

Respect
User avatar
parametric
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3129
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 1:00 am
Contact:
Great Britain

Re: Montage OS 2.5

Unread post by parametric » Sun Sep 30, 2018 1:04 am

Derek's response is NOT "indifferent" - it is merely stating it the way it is . . .

Neither Derek, or any of us in the Forum, are privy to Yamaha's list of priorities regarding OS fixes.

If issues have been reported to them, then they will doubtless get fixed as and when they are solved -

and then subject to testing to make sure they are "solid" before they are released . . . .

Only Yamaha can say how quickly this will happen.

There is normally a document accompanying these updates which ought to list items which HAVE been fixed -

and those that are still "Known Issues".

parametric
Alesis Fusion 8SSD AND 6SSD - BOTH are 384Mb/120Gb SSD/Akai ADVANCE61/Yamaha MOXF6/1024Mb Flash Ram/Yamaha SY85/8.5mb vol/1024k non-vol/DX21/Roland MT32/Bachmann double overstrung Baby Grand Piano/Win10 Pro/Ubuntu MATE 15.0.4/iBook G4/Mac OS 10.4.6/ProTools 7.4/MBox2/M-Audio MicroTrack 24/96

NI Komplete11 Ultimate

Sector101 2x SYEMB06 / 4 x EXM-E3 128MB DRAM Module

BRAND NEW DSDD (720k) FLOPPY DISKS FOR SALE - http://www.yamahaforums.co.uk/forum/vie ... =22&t=9217

Watch out now! take care, BEWARE of the greedy leaders! They'll take you where you should not go - (George Harrison)

IT'S TRUE - "MONEY TALKS" - TO ME, IT MOSTLY SAYS "GOODBYE" ;-)
http://www.chrisnmiller.co.uk/Chris
User avatar
Saul
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10256
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2004 1:00 am
Contact:
Ireland

Re: Montage OS 2.5

Unread post by Saul » Sun Sep 30, 2018 10:58 am

tlc wrote:
Sun Sep 30, 2018 12:30 am
I do not wonder the fact of such an indifferent answer. You've written a lot of things.... :(

A response with little respect for all Montage owners was much better in the following way:
---- Fix in the update, well, sometimes----
...
nothing more

Respect
I know from personal experience, like many others, it is incredibly frustrating when something doesn't work the way it should. We often get annoyed or even angry that companies release products be it hardware or software, that has bugs in it. This is especially true when you have paid a lot of money for the product.

Derek is a highly experienced software developer/engineer and he see's things from behind the curtain. The side of product development the end user rarely sees. That is the perspective he was giving you.

This does not mean he is happy about bugs in software. It would make his and all software developers lives a LOT easier if there were a way to guarantee a bug free release, but it is just not technically possible right now and probably not ever. The best we can hope for is that Ai gets to the point that software can resolve its own bugs when it finds them but that is a long way off.

So right now all we can do is report the bugs and give the company a chance to fix them. Not ideal but that is where we are at in the grand scheme of things.
Saul
Site Admin
Subscribe To Our YouTube Channel!
Review Yamahamusicians.com on Trustpilot
Sign up to the Newsletter
Follow us on Twitter @YamahaMusicians
Follow Us On Facebook
Dowina Acoustic Guitars: Dowina Cabernet DC
Dowina Chardonnay GAC DS - Dowina Rustica GAC.

Seagull S6 Original/Harley Benton CLA-15MCE/Ashbury AG-160/Roland FA-07/Pianoteq 6 Pro/Amplitube 3.0/Apple iMac 27"/GarageBand 10.0.3/Logic Pro X/Cubase AI 9/Absynth 5/Ableton Live 9/KRK Rokit RP5 G3 Monitors
User avatar
tlc
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2018 5:47 pm
San Marino

Re: Montage OS 2.5

Unread post by tlc » Tue Oct 02, 2018 5:36 pm

My purpose was just to report a small error detected in OS 2.5.

Respect
User avatar
Derek
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4206
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:00 am
Contact:
Wales

Re: Montage OS 2.5

Unread post by Derek » Tue Oct 02, 2018 8:49 pm

We know :) but have you reported it to Yamaha? Only they can fix it (if they agree and prioritise it) .....

I have given Yamaha my own feedback on where I think the Montage could be better. They now have an Ideascale page for public comments and voting on ideas. Looks like they are listening to at least some ideas being given to them.....

The point of my comments on this thread was to offer insight into the wonderful world of software development and the constraints that you can be under as a developer, which users are not often aware of, and the fact that there is no infinite pool of money and resources, so a company will prioritise on what they do in terms of product fixes/enhancements. I’ve been in the unique position in my career of being both a Customer of complex software projects and a provider of the same (we are talking serious money here as well). Whilst it might be an obvious statement, your perspective of problems varies greatly depending on what side of the line (customer or developer) you are sitting! As a customer I have argued that issues are not acceptable to me, and as a provider I have argued that similar problems are not really a problem! That is all I was offering as a perspective, and Yamaha will do the same. Example: There are serious bugs in the EX5 SYSEX MIDI implementation that I have tried to get Yamaha to fix (as had others before me), but Yamaha said the EX5 does not support SYSEX. End result, the problems are not fixed. I think it is wrong, but then I found workarounds. So, rightly or wrongly, are Yamaha going to work up a sweat on one Montage preset that is arguably not right, when they may be bigger issues to direct their finite resource onto?

I was not trying to belittle your comment in any way. I have since had the time to listen to the preset you mention and I agree with you. Not ideal, not perfect but one patch in many 1000s in what is on the whole an excellent package to put it in perspective...

My other dumb question would be, is this a Montage error, or is it a faithful facsimile of what is in the Motif XF?

Maybe the person who developed/auditioned it is used to Jazz - the definition of which is (tongue in cheek mode firmly on!) hitting the wrong note often enough that it sounds right! :D :D

So my best advice is report to Yamaha (you can now use IdeaScale for that) and see what happens :)
Regards
Derek Cook

http://www.carregddu.co.uk
http://www.echoes-music.co.uk
http://www.xfactory-librarians.co.uk
http://www.ex5tech.co.uk
Stevie18
Product Specialist
Product Specialist
Posts: 73
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2018 4:49 pm
Germany

Re: Montage OS 2.5

Unread post by Stevie18 » Tue Oct 02, 2018 9:23 pm

I totally agree with Derek there. But to add: The good thing about that bug is that you can easily fix it yourself. This is not some dumb keyboard which only has presets. It is a full blown synth which allows you do edit practically everything. Some people at Yamaha believe that the 6000 or so presets are not meant for you to play, but just a basis for creating your own sounds... Probably they left this error in on purpose as a good reason for getting people into editing :-).

As proposed you can edit this specific sound to your liking and store it as a new performance. There are 9 x 640 free performance slots, so the loss of one is something you can hopefully live with. So that's why I think your initial ask to delete a performance from the presets is not really warranted for.

And to be honest: There are many other things which are not even bugs which are really annoying about the Montage. Like the fact that the incoming MIDI channel is fixed for the 16 parts. That's just so annoying and I guess everyone hopes that it gets fixed at some point. Or the fact that there is no per performance global transpose. Tons of other stuff which I would change. However, would I buy the Montage / MODX again even if I knew for a fact that that will never be fixed? Yes, certainly. For me it is the best synth I have ever seen / tried / heard off.
Post Reply

Return to “Yamaha Montage Forum”