Would a YPG-235/DPG-230 work with a Proteus 2 Orchestral?

Yamaha PSR/PSS & DGX Home Keyboards. If your particular model PSR/PSS/DGX keyboard doesn't have it's own section here is the place to post.

Moderators: Derek, parametric, Saul

User avatar
robkoz
Member
Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2018 2:28 pm
United States of America

Re: Would a YPG-235/DPG-230 work with a Proteus 2 Orchestral?

Unread post by robkoz » Sun Sep 16, 2018 3:33 pm

Wow. Ok I now I totally see the misunderstanding on our part of the whole setup!

Here's the video that my son saw that led us to believe the sounds came from the Yamaha:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sfvCuXOyry8

So I'll focus on this & go from there. Thank you!
you'll need to connect an audio cable from the audio output jack of the Proteus to the AUX IN jack of the computer
User avatar
SeaGtGruff
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 619
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2014 4:24 am
United States of America

Re: Would a YPG-235/DPG-230 work with a Proteus 2 Orchestral?

Unread post by SeaGtGruff » Sun Sep 16, 2018 9:29 pm

Well, the keyboard that's being used in that video is a Roland, not a Yamaha YPG-235. But more to the point, I don't see any built-in speakers on that keyboard-- at least, it doesn't have any speaker grilles that I can see-- so the sounds must be coming from external speakers. And even if it did have built-in speakers as the YPG-235 does, it might not have a stereo AUX IN jack, or pair of L/R AUDIO IN jacks, or other means (such as USB audio) of playing an external audio source through the built-in speakers.

For example, the PSR-EW300, PSR-EW400, and PSR-EW410 have AUX IN jacks as well as USB audio, so you would be able to play the sounds coming from the Proteus through their built-in speakers. Those aren't the only Yamaha models which could do that, but the other models have 61 keys rather than 76 keys, so I listed the ones that have the same number of keys as the YPG-235 (although they are different types of keys-- synth-action diving board keys versus piano-action box keys). The PSR-EW400 or PSR-EW410 would be the closest to the YPG-235 in that they both have a Pitch Bend wheel like the YPG-235 does, whereas the PSR-EW300 does not.

The simplest solution would be to play the sounds from the Proteus through the computer's speakers, unless you have a stereo system that you could connect it to. You would need an appropriate stereo cable or pair of mono cables, plus any special adapters as needed, depending on the types of jacks which the Proteus has and which the computer or stereo system has.
Michael Rideout
Current keyboards: Yamaha YPT-400, PSR-E433, PSR-E443, PSR-EW400, MX49 BK
Current controllers: M-Audio Axiom 61-II
Previous keyboards: Farfisa Matador 611; Casio CTK-710
User avatar
Mighty Motif Max
Member
Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2018 8:48 pm
United States of America

Re: Would a YPG-235/DPG-230 work with a Proteus 2 Orchestral?

Unread post by Mighty Motif Max » Mon Sep 17, 2018 8:26 pm

robkoz wrote:
Sun Sep 16, 2018 3:33 pm
Wow. Ok I now I totally see the misunderstanding on our part of the whole setup!

Here's the video that my son saw that led us to believe the sounds came from the Yamaha:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sfvCuXOyry8

So I'll focus on this & go from there. Thank you!
you'll need to connect an audio cable from the audio output jack of the Proteus to the AUX IN jack of the computer

If your computer doesn't have an aux-in jack, like SeaGtGruff said, you would need to connect the outputs of the Proteus to external speakers. Depending on the speakers, you may have to get some cable adapters. If you have a stereo receiver and a set of speakers, and the receiver has a set of AUX ins or Tape In or RCA In inputs, you can get a set of TS to RCA cables, or one dual set. I use these: https://www.amazon.com/Hosa-CPR-202-Ste ... V&th=1list. If you want to connect the YPG to the speakers as well, or connect other sources in, as SeaGtGruff said, you would want a mixer. I recommend one of these: https://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail ... SMEALw_wcB. You can connect up to three stereo sources to it and output them combined to your receiver vie the mentioned cables, or to a set of powered speakers with the XLR or TS cords.



Hope this helps.
User avatar
Mighty Motif Max
Member
Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2018 8:48 pm
United States of America

Re: Would a YPG-235/DPG-230 work with a Proteus 2 Orchestral?

Unread post by Mighty Motif Max » Mon Sep 17, 2018 8:35 pm

SeaGtGruff wrote:
Sun Sep 16, 2018 9:29 pm
...depending on the types of jacks which the Proteus has...
The Proteus 2 has three sets of stereo 1/4" outs (main, sub 1, sub 2), and Midi 5-pin DIN In, Out, and Thru. And the power plug port.
User avatar
robkoz
Member
Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2018 2:28 pm
United States of America

Re: Would a YPG-235/DPG-230 work with a Proteus 2 Orchestral?

Unread post by robkoz » Mon Sep 17, 2018 9:09 pm

Currently I have his stereo headphones plugged into the Proteus stereo port.

The hardware is all connected, it's the Reaper program I need to learn.
User avatar
SeaGtGruff
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 619
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2014 4:24 am
United States of America

Re: Would a YPG-235/DPG-230 work with a Proteus 2 Orchestral?

Unread post by SeaGtGruff » Tue Sep 18, 2018 2:29 am

I have REAPER, but it isn't my main DAW and I haven't gotten up to speed on it yet, so I'll take a look at it later to see if I can give you any pointers on how to set it up. This will be a good excuse for me to learn that for myself, since I did pay for a license. :)
Michael Rideout
Current keyboards: Yamaha YPT-400, PSR-E433, PSR-E443, PSR-EW400, MX49 BK
Current controllers: M-Audio Axiom 61-II
Previous keyboards: Farfisa Matador 611; Casio CTK-710
User avatar
robkoz
Member
Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2018 2:28 pm
United States of America

Re: Would a YPG-235/DPG-230 work with a Proteus 2 Orchestral?

Unread post by robkoz » Wed Sep 19, 2018 3:25 pm

Reaper sees the Yamaha & the Mio midi. I can play the Yamaha & the reaper sees it.

Changed the Yamaha PC setting to keyboard out. Still nothing from the Proteus.

Missing something in the setting of Reaper and/or the Proteus.
Post Reply

Return to “Yamaha PSR/PSS/DGX”