OT: change to transpose function suggestion...

Covers the Yamaha MODX6, MODX7 and MODX8

Moderators: Derek, parametric, Saul

pax-eterna
Member
Member
Posts: 182
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2018 10:25 pm
Australia

OT: change to transpose function suggestion...

Unread post by pax-eterna » Sun Oct 07, 2018 11:22 pm

This is just a "wishlist" type of thing for Yammie folk who visit here - would it be possible in a future update to have the transpose light (when transpose button is used) to stay on?

This way if we do use the transpose, at least there is a visual reminder that it is being used to remind us to turn it off at the end of the song.

Thanks
User avatar
Stevie18
Product Specialist
Product Specialist
Posts: 156
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2018 4:49 pm
Germany

Re: OT: change to transpose function suggestion...

Unread post by Stevie18 » Mon Oct 08, 2018 8:52 pm

That was actually discussed a lot in the Montage forum. Makes a lot of sense to me! Currently it is lit when the Octave transpose is used. But there is no indication when the half tone transpose is used. I would like it the other way round. Some people proposed to let it blink when the half tone transpose is used etc. I guess the best would be to make it configurable. I suggest you make a feature proposal on Ideascale. That has some chance to get through to the developers.
pax-eterna
Member
Member
Posts: 182
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2018 10:25 pm
Australia

Re: OT: change to transpose function suggestion...

Unread post by pax-eterna » Mon Oct 08, 2018 8:57 pm

Thanks. Not sure if ideascale will make one bit of difference tbh!! If it was already heavily discussed on the Montage forum, and the MODX came out after that, then I guess Yamaha decided it was not a necessary thing. Disappointing really.
User avatar
Stevie18
Product Specialist
Product Specialist
Posts: 156
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2018 4:49 pm
Germany

Re: OT: change to transpose function suggestion...

Unread post by Stevie18 » Mon Oct 08, 2018 9:02 pm

I personally think that the people on the Montage forum were not very active in passing on feature suggestions to the Montage devs. There are quite a few indications for that...

However Ideascale was specifically set up to accept feature suggestions and let people vote. And at least one feature which was highly voted on Ideascale made it to the Montage already: the DAW control. And the Yamaha representative on Ideascale at least confirmed that they are considering making the MIDI receive channel configurable (which is also voted a lot). No promise but at least some reaction. On the forum you would have gotten a lecture that these are modern times and setting the receive channel does not make sense anymore. Or something to that effect :-).

So I would encourage people to go to Ideascale and submit features or at least vote.
pax-eterna
Member
Member
Posts: 182
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2018 10:25 pm
Australia

Re: OT: change to transpose function suggestion...

Unread post by pax-eterna » Mon Oct 08, 2018 9:08 pm

ok, I'll give it a go.
User avatar
Derek
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4325
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:00 am
Contact:
Wales

Re: OT: change to transpose function suggestion...

Unread post by Derek » Tue Oct 09, 2018 5:15 am

Stevie18 wrote:
Mon Oct 08, 2018 9:02 pm
I personally think that the people on the Montage forum were not very active in passing on feature suggestions to the Montage devs. There are quite a few indications for that...
The problem is that on the Yamaha Synth Montage forum, if you dare to make a suggestion about how the Montage could be better you are accused by a certain mod of not understanding the Montage, and it can get a little personal, which is unforgivable. Therefore, it was never possible to have a sensible debate with Yamaha on suggested improvements. I have three or four ideas.

Like a lot of companies, Yamaha now seem to be using ideascale, and they do seem to be taking it seriously. A long standing issue discussed many times on Yamaha Synth - that of fixed MIDI channels per part on reception, where the Yamaha Synth response is “you don’t understand the Montage” now has a response on Idea Scale that it is being looked at.

So, I’d suggest putting the request on there.
Regards
Derek Cook

http://www.carregddu.co.uk
http://www.echoes-music.co.uk
http://www.xfactory-librarians.co.uk
http://www.ex5tech.co.uk
pax-eterna
Member
Member
Posts: 182
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2018 10:25 pm
Australia

Re: OT: change to transpose function suggestion...

Unread post by pax-eterna » Tue Oct 09, 2018 5:42 am

as I wrote above Derek ;) I already did that!

And yes that mod also carried on the same way at the Motif forums too...dare suggest anything was not quite right and that was it you were a pariah!

I would even go so far as to say this person doesn't see the need for this (and totally based on personal opinions, forget anyone else) so it doesn't happen, as Yamaha do pay attention to the same person, of course haha, if we are indeed talking about the same ;) ;)
anotherscott
Member
Member
Posts: 116
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 6:36 pm
United States of America

Re: OT: change to transpose function suggestion...

Unread post by anotherscott » Sat Oct 13, 2018 6:12 pm

I understand the issue of making use of the Octave lights for this. (And then what should the lights do if you are transposed and, while transposed, you want to switch octaves too? ) But there should be some indication on the main display screen. Text could be inserted in the blank area at the top of the Live Set screen, or near the patch name. If that's problematic, even just changing the color of the patch name to red (or blinking it) could be used as an indicator.
pax-eterna
Member
Member
Posts: 182
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2018 10:25 pm
Australia

Re: OT: change to transpose function suggestion...

Unread post by pax-eterna » Sat Oct 13, 2018 8:54 pm

As I wrote over at the suggestion box site...either or but it HAS to be somewhere!
Post Reply

Return to “Yamaha MODX Forum”