Yamaha MODX Wishlist - Suggestions For Future Updates

Covers the Yamaha MODX6, MODX7 and MODX8

Moderators: Derek, parametric, Saul

User avatar United States of America
Patrick
Member
Member
Posts: 115
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2019 9:29 pm

Re: Yamaha MODX Wishlist - Suggestions For Future Updates

Unread post by Patrick » Fri Jul 12, 2019 8:52 pm

There is an empty box in the performance recorder.
If YAMAHA just added copy and cut to that little box, the MODX would have a really good workstationish sequencer.

Even though i will now be mostly using CUBASE, adding the copy and cut to the MODX performance recorder/sequencer would be a big thing for those who like using
on board sequencers.
YAMAHA could then call MODX and MONTAGE a performance synth and a workstation.
Might boost sells for MODX and MONTAGE.
Advertisement
Ultimate Vocal Library
User avatar Ukraine
Ivan Jochner
Member
Member
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2019 2:35 pm

Re: Yamaha MODX Wishlist - Suggestions For Future Updates

Unread post by Ivan Jochner » Fri Jul 19, 2019 2:46 pm

Downloaded MODX CONNECT, everything is good, apart of Saving/ Loading User Waveforms, doing only Midi Bulk data transfer.
(Please make usable editor to save Performance including User Waveforms too, similar like its on Nord Clavia Editor)
User avatar Italy
Mav71
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2019 2:57 pm

Re: Yamaha MODX Wishlist - Suggestions For Future Updates

Unread post by Mav71 » Wed Jul 24, 2019 4:00 pm

I'm an owner of MODX7 by three days.
I can't record in multitrack mode: only two tracks, only one midi channel.
Is it a limit of MODEX?
I see 16 tracks but these don't run on recording mode.
Thank you
User avatar Canada
vertig0spin
Member
Member
Posts: 246
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2018 3:15 am

Re: Yamaha MODX Wishlist - Suggestions For Future Updates

Unread post by vertig0spin » Wed Jul 24, 2019 8:07 pm

Patrick wrote:
Fri Jul 12, 2019 8:52 pm
There is an empty box in the performance recorder.
If YAMAHA just added copy and cut to that little box, the MODX would have a really good workstationish sequencer.
Even though i will now be mostly using CUBASE, adding the copy and cut to the MODX performance recorder/sequencer would be a big thing for those who like using
on board sequencers.
I too plan to do most of my sequence recording and editing on a DAW (via Pro Tools); however I would like to see that little box filled with something useful like your 'copy and cut' idea! ((i))

I have an idea that would also improve the Performance recorder a great deal, which I submitted on yamahasynth.ideascale.com, and this would not require using that empty box, so it would compliment your idea nicely (see my ideascale idea below):

Montage/MODX 'Punch In/Out' Single/Selected Track/s
https://yamahasynth.ideascale.com/a/dtd ... 4571-45978

Basically, I would like to have the ability to fix a mistake on a single track without all of the tracks being overwritten ... If you like this idea, please 'Up Vote' it on idealscale via the link above (note - you need to be logged into ideascale to vote on ideas or add your own ideas...and Yamaha are definitely watching that site closely) :wink:
User avatar United States of America
Patrick
Member
Member
Posts: 115
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2019 9:29 pm

Re: Yamaha MODX Wishlist - Suggestions For Future Updates

Unread post by Patrick » Wed Jul 24, 2019 8:44 pm

vertig0spin wrote:
Wed Jul 24, 2019 8:07 pm
Patrick wrote:
Fri Jul 12, 2019 8:52 pm
There is an empty box in the performance recorder.
If YAMAHA just added copy and cut to that little box, the MODX would have a really good workstationish sequencer.
Even though i will now be mostly using CUBASE, adding the copy and cut to the MODX performance recorder/sequencer would be a big thing for those who like using
on board sequencers.
I too plan to do most of my sequence recording and editing on a DAW (via Pro Tools); however I would like to see that little box filled with something useful like your 'copy and cut' idea! ((i))

I have an idea that would also improve the Performance recorder a great deal, which I submitted on yamahasynth.ideascale.com, and this would not require using that empty box, so it would compliment your idea nicely (see my ideascale idea below):

Montage/MODX 'Punch In/Out' Single/Selected Track/s
https://yamahasynth.ideascale.com/a/dtd ... 4571-45978

Basically, I would like to have the ability to fix a mistake on a single track without all of the tracks being overwritten ... If you like this idea, please 'Up Vote' it on idealscale via the link above (note - you need to be logged into ideascale to vote on ideas or add your own ideas...and Yamaha are definitely watching that site closely) :wink:

I didnt know that site existed.
Many thanks.
I will register there.


Will also add your good idea as well.
User avatar Ukraine
Ivan Jochner
Member
Member
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2019 2:35 pm

Re: Yamaha MODX Wishlist - Suggestions For Future Updates

Unread post by Ivan Jochner » Tue Aug 06, 2019 9:23 am

Sorry for double posting maybe, but its time to make an CLICK OUTPUT option for a drummer and Arpeggios' sake.

(Recording Mode - Main Headphones output - Options:

Headphones Main L/R - Headphones Click Out
User avatar Netherlands
Xander
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2018 12:07 pm

Re: Yamaha MODX Wishlist - Suggestions For Future Updates

Unread post by Xander » Wed Aug 21, 2019 5:53 pm

If the scene buttons are used for more thanwhat they are capable now, it will be so great. Many suggestions have been made here and I have collected them below. Under it are my additions to it all

Previous suggestions summed up:
-ability to not cut off sounds when switching between scenes: toggle keyboard control in scenes, for instance, it will maximize polyphony (muted sounds still use up polyphony)
-ability to control key ranges in the scenes editor
-ability to include parts 9-16 in scenes
-“mute” MIDI output as well in scenes.
-ability to toggle arp part (i.e. on or off) via the scenes editor
-ability to disable MS for a given pattern, in the same way that a part can have arp set to no value for a given arp number.
-quantized scene changes. Currently you can quantize arp starts/changes.

And then my suggestions added to those:
1) the ability to set transpose per part per scene (and please not limited to -24 & +24)
2) the ability to set Zone Settings per scene. That would strengthen the Master Keyboard functionality a lot.
3) if Yamaha would stop the fixed MIDI channel thing: the ability to set a MIDI channel per part per scene.



Below some info as to why I think these are great to have

1) the ability to set transpose per part per scene, in combination with the ability to control key ranges, this will make things much easier.
Example:
-scene 1 only piano
-scene 2 piano, layered with a Rhodes
-scene 3 piano, layered with Rhodes and then split with Hammond at the higher end of the keyboard
-scene 4 piano, layered with the Hammond and then split with the Rhodes at the higher end of the keyboard
Right now, you'll need 2 piano's, 3 Rhodes & 2 Hammonds to achieve this.
With the ability to control key-ranges & transpose, you only need 1 of each.

2) the ability to set Zone Settings per scene. Not only will you be able to change sound on your MODX/Montage, but also those coming from other sources.

3) if Yamaha would stop the fixed MIDI channel thing: the ability to set a MIDI channel per part per scene. as well the transmit channels of the keyboard (the zone settings)
They could for instance have Performance MIDI Mode settings:
-Fixed MIDI channels, where everything works like it works right now, with its pros & cons
-Free MIDI channels, where the Montage/MODX transforms to a true multi-sound-machine; you'll be able to easily layer/split 16 Montage/MODX sounds on one MIDI channel!

And yes, I have found use for that in the past, with the S90ES for instance. The fun things you can do (like having full chords on the press of one key, creating super phat basses, leads, etc, etc.
User avatar Canada
vertig0spin
Member
Member
Posts: 246
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2018 3:15 am

Re: Yamaha MODX Wishlist - Suggestions For Future Updates

Unread post by vertig0spin » Wed Aug 28, 2019 4:54 pm

Here is a new idea I submitted up on https://yamahasynth.ideascale.com for this! If you would like to see this in a future OS release, please 'Up Vote'!

"Save & Recall the SONG that's loaded when a Performance is Saved"
https://yamahasynth.ideascale.com/a/dtd ... 7691-45978

"Currently a 'SONG' doesn't stay associated with the Performance, so that if you recall a Performance via 'Live Set' at a live gig and then hit the [>] PLAY button, the SONG that was loaded when you last saved the Performance, is no longer associated with the Performance. But rather the Performance is associated to the Song, so that if you load a Song from the SONG Folder, it will recall the linked Performance that was saved.

It would be extremely beneficial to many people when doing live gigs & using 'Live Set', to be able to recall the Performance and have the last Song that was loaded when the Performance was last saved, remain associated with that Performance!

Please change it so that when saving Performances, the SONG currently loaded is saved with the Performance for quick recall later (or at least the pointer to it is save as metadata in the Performance). This would be very useful for anyone that will use 'Live Set' & 'Sequencing' while gigging live, allowing for easy transition between different numbers/songs they play, so that there wouldn't be a pause in between numbers/songs, allowing a band/artist to go from one number/song into another without hesitation or delay!"
User avatar Germany
Stevie18
Product Specialist
Product Specialist
Posts: 259
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2018 4:49 pm

Re: Yamaha MODX Wishlist - Suggestions For Future Updates

Unread post by Stevie18 » Fri Aug 30, 2019 11:41 am

I think this is an excellent idea! I would really like to have that, upvoted it on Ideascale!
User avatar Canada
vertig0spin
Member
Member
Posts: 246
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2018 3:15 am

Re: Yamaha MODX Wishlist - Suggestions For Future Updates

Unread post by vertig0spin » Fri Aug 30, 2019 3:06 pm

I added another idea on Yamahasynth.ideascale.com to have the 'Audition' button delay fixed.
I think in addition to my previous, it would give us a couple of options depending on each individual's preference or needs.
Please check it out below and 'Up Vote' it you find this would be useful for you at some point in the future!!
_____________________

"Audition Button - Fix Slight delay so SONGs Start Immediately
https://yamahasynth.ideascale.com/a/dtd ... 7784-45978

Please fix the 'Audition' button so that there is no delay in when the SONG starts after pressing the button.
Maybe this requires an OS programming change to Pre-load Auditions in a Performance so they are 'ready to go'..!? But regardless of why there is a delay, please find a way to eliminate the delay!

When playing Live Gigs (& also at practice), I use 'Live Set' to change Performances and press the 'Audition' button to start/stop sequenced Songs that I have Saved & Associated with that Performance. This works perfectly for most songs, except a few songs that I hit the 'Audition' button & start the Sequenced part somewhere in the middle of playing a number/song. The only issue with this is that there is a slight 0.3 to 0.4 second delay after pressing the 'Audition' button before it starts to play, whereas when pressing the [>] PLAY button, it starts immediately. So I have to be careful to time it right when I press the Audition button on the "And", just prior to when the next measure of the song starts (where the sequencing should also start). If I don't time it just right, it can throw off the flow of the number/song I am playing.
I could potentially use the [>] PLAY button; however Performances don't save the last loaded SONG, so I would first need to load the SONG in the Play/Rec area of the Performance and cue it. This would cause a delay in the flow between the numbers/songs I am playing, and takes the simplicity away from not needing to press the touch screen at live gigs (right now I only need to press the 'Live Set' Performance buttons, the 'Audition' button, and the 'Scene' buttons, without the need to touch the Touch Screen, and everything flows really well from one number/song to the next!). Also, the [>] PLAY button has to be pressed twice before the sequenced Song starts.
User avatar Italy
dfinucci
Member
Member
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 1:00 am

Re: Yamaha MODX Wishlist - Suggestions For Future Updates

Unread post by dfinucci » Sat Aug 31, 2019 3:36 pm

Hello Vertig0spin.
Could you kindly explain a bit more how you can do this: "When playing Live Gigs (& also at practice), I use 'Live Set' to change Performances and press the 'Audition' button to start/stop sequenced Songs that I have Saved & Associated with that Performance."?
It's just what i have been trying to reach.
I just tried to get the same result, but still continue to hear the audition phrase.

Thank you in advance.
D
User avatar Canada
vertig0spin
Member
Member
Posts: 246
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2018 3:15 am

Re: Yamaha MODX Wishlist - Suggestions For Future Updates

Unread post by vertig0spin » Tue Sep 03, 2019 8:54 pm

dfinucci wrote:
Sat Aug 31, 2019 3:36 pm
Hello Vertig0spin.
Could you kindly explain a bit more how you can do this: "When playing Live Gigs (& also at practice), I use 'Live Set' to change Performances and press the 'Audition' button to start/stop sequenced Songs that I have Saved & Associated with that Performance."?
It's just what i have been trying to reach.
I just tried to get the same result, but still continue to hear the audition phrase.
Sure. Once I finish editing the sequencing on the DAW and save it as a .midi file, I then open the Performance, go to the Song/Rec section, load the Song via the USB stick .midi file and save. Then I go to the Common area where you can change/update the Audition, and update the Audition to a different number (the newly loaded Song doesn't seem to show up right away until after the Audition updated and then saved). Then after saving the Performance, I go back and cycle through the Audition #'s until the new Song shows up. Then I update the Audition once again and save the Performance.

I have the Montage, so I don't know if this is done exactly the same on a MODX or not, but that's basically what I do.

Once I have that Performance set under 'Live Set' I just have to press the associated Live Set button for that Performance and then press the Audition button to start the Song...

Hope that helps!
User avatar Bulgaria
Kal1n_M
Member
Member
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2018 6:23 am
Contact:

Re: Yamaha MODX Wishlist - Suggestions For Future Updates

Unread post by Kal1n_M » Wed Sep 04, 2019 8:33 am

Ivan Jochner wrote:
Tue Aug 06, 2019 9:23 am
Sorry for double posting maybe, but its time to make an CLICK OUTPUT option for a drummer and Arpeggios' sake.

(Recording Mode - Main Headphones output - Options:

Headphones Main L/R - Headphones Click Out
This is something that is not technically possible. Both Main Out and Phones are fed by the same physical audio bus. To do what you want you need to have another physically existing audio bus, fed by another DAC, etc. It's not a matter of software. That's why on Montage you have another stereo bus, so that you can route your click or whatever thru it.
User avatar Ukraine
Ivan Jochner
Member
Member
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2019 2:35 pm

Re: Yamaha MODX Wishlist - Suggestions For Future Updates

Unread post by Ivan Jochner » Wed Sep 04, 2019 2:11 pm

Another pain in the neck....

Ability to switch Midi Mode (Multi/Single) and ZONE Master not only Globally but PER PERFORMANCE base a well.

+ USB/MIDI mode simutanius use or per PERFORMANCE.

Now its handicapped as if "Utility Master Mode" where u have to go and configure it each time if you use Ipad sounds for example.
User avatar Finland
akemie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2019 2:56 pm

Re: Yamaha MODX Wishlist - Suggestions For Future Updates

Unread post by akemie » Sun Sep 08, 2019 3:02 pm

I would buy a module or desktop version of the MODX. No room or need for another keyboard.
Post Reply

Return to “Yamaha MODX Forum”