THR as audio interface - sound skipping/freezing

Covers entire Yamaha THR range of guitar amps, heads and cabs.

Moderators: Derek, parametric, Buzzard, Saul

User avatar
elton.sucek
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2018 1:23 am
Brazil

THR as audio interface - sound skipping/freezing

Unread post by elton.sucek » Tue Nov 27, 2018 9:52 pm

I'm trying to use my THR as an audio interface in my PC and I'm having some strange sound problems (attached is a small audio with the problem, you have to change the extension to m4a). For example, if a youtube video is playing, the video itself freezes for some seconds, along with the sound.

When I connect the amp to my vaio notebook, there's no problem at all. The fact is my desktop is a way better machine and is in my practice room.

I would like to know if someone has this kind of problem and know a way to solve it.

Thank you very much.
Attachments
Falha cut.pdf
(211.18 KiB) Downloaded 6 times
314159
Member
Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2018 10:33 pm
France

Re: THR as audio interface - sound skipping/freezing

Unread post by 314159 » Mon Dec 03, 2018 9:43 pm

Hi Elton,
I never had such a problem. Can you give us more information on your two machines ?
- Windows versions ?
- Hardware ?
Do you see the same parameters in the THR Editor software on both machines ?
Have you a specific Soundcard on your desktop PC ? Is there any way to deactivate that soundcard when you plug you THR in ?

Vincent
User avatar
elton.sucek
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2018 1:23 am
Brazil

Re: THR as audio interface - sound skipping/freezing

Unread post by elton.sucek » Tue Dec 04, 2018 1:43 am

Hello Vincent, thanks for your help.

Desktop PC:
Windows 10
Asus H87-PRO
i5 4440 processor
8GB RAM

Notebook:
Windows 10
Sony Vaio SVE14A15FBB
i5 2450M processor
6GB RAM

I'm using the onboard sound card, but when I connect the THR, it takes on the windows sounds and disable the onboard sound card, in both desktop and notebook. As for this moment on, it plays all the windows sounds as a normal external sound card, but after some time, in the desktop machine, the problem happens, doesn't matter which program is playing.

I also have an iRig UA interface, that shows no problems when connected. The fact is, to use the interface, I have to unplug my speakers to connect to it, and the THR has its own speaker, which makes it much easier to use...

I have the latest steinberd drivers installed.

I really don't know what is happening...
314159
Member
Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2018 10:33 pm
France

Re: THR as audio interface - sound skipping/freezing

Unread post by 314159 » Wed Dec 05, 2018 9:41 pm

Very strange. The sound is chopped every 0.2 second.
If you launch the Windows task manager, do you see a specific task using a lot of CPU time ?
User avatar
elton.sucek
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2018 1:23 am
Brazil

Re: THR as audio interface - sound skipping/freezing

Unread post by elton.sucek » Thu Dec 06, 2018 10:04 pm

Neves tried that, but the AmpliTube CPU meter shows no CPU high usage. It stays around 20 to 30%
Post Reply

Return to “Yamaha THR Forum”