SMIDI Error

The EX5 features a unique Extended Synthesis system which incorporates a number of advanced tone generator technologies. AWM2, AN, FDSP and VL. The EX5 is one of the best keyboard Yamaha ever produced.

Moderators: Derek, parametric, Saul

User avatar Sweden
Arguzeen
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2018 4:29 pm

SMIDI Error

Unread post by Arguzeen » Sat Dec 15, 2018 11:20 pm

Hello community.
Finaly, i've got Adaptec SCSI Card 39160 in my PC (Win7/64). Recognized by Windows, but not by ex.factory...
ex.factory Preferences, SMIDI Preferences - Test EX SMIDI Settings:
"SMIDI Installation Error. The 'native' JNISMIDI implementation is not installed"...
Thanx for any help with.
User avatar Wales
Derek
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 5100
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:00 am
Contact:

Re: SMIDI Error

Unread post by Derek » Sun Dec 16, 2018 10:33 am

Hi,

I am the author of ex.factory, but TBH, gave up on SMDI a long time ago - my trusty old Adaptec 2940 would not allow a new computer to boot when I installed it, probably about ten years ago.

Anyhow, can you check in the directory ex.factory installed into and check and see if you have a file called jnismdi.dll? This is the "Native" implementation for the SMDI access.

The other big problem is that for years, Microsoft have not provided the Adaptec ASPI SCSI drivers, which jnismdi needs to access the SCSI card. Maybe you have the option to install them with your card? Or possibly ForceASPI still does the job of getting an ASPI layer onto Windows.
Regards
Derek Cook

http://www.carregddu.co.uk
http://www.echoes-music.co.uk
http://www.xfactory-librarians.co.uk
http://www.ex5tech.co.uk
User avatar Cayman Islands
jima
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 391
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 11:54 pm

Re: SMIDI Error

Unread post by jima » Sun Dec 16, 2018 5:04 pm

I would also have to add that although I did at one time get SMIDI functional I eventually came to the conclusion that using the SCSI card in the EX connected to a CF or SD reader with a comparable CF/SD reader connected to the PC (at the time, now iMac exclusively) was a more proficient way to work. IIRC I was using Sound Forge at the time which would transmit samples over SMIDI which was very convenient but there was little support generally for SMIDI and although mapping the EX as a drive did work great care had to be taken to avoid buffering contention between Windoze and the EX. The 39160 is a very nice card (I have a couple in the cupboard along with 29160, 2940, 1510 etc. etc. etc.) but M$ have no interest in supporting such hardware any longer.
Jim
Yamaha EX5, AN1X, TG500, Moog Werkstatt, Korg Wavestation SR, Sigma, Legacy Digital, Nord Modular G2, G2 Engine, Focusrite PRO 40, MIDISPORT 8x8/s, Uno, Arturia Keylab 49 MkII, BeatStep, V Collection, Pigments | Love keyboards but so little time :(
User avatar Sweden
Arguzeen
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2018 4:29 pm

Re: SMIDI Error

Unread post by Arguzeen » Sun Dec 16, 2018 9:42 pm

Hello Derek. Thanks for respond.
Yes, i have jnismidi.dll in ex.factory directory. Doesn't help...
BTW, had same issue with my scsi controller, it was easy to solve:
https://ask.adaptec.com/app/answers/det ... isabled%3F
But ASPI doesn't work in Win7/64...
Wich way i can map waves/samples to flash/ram?
Apply looplenght in ex.factory, move files to EX5 flash, and THEN map bunch of waves to ram?
Thanx.
User avatar Wales
Derek
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 5100
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:00 am
Contact:

Re: SMIDI Error

Unread post by Derek » Mon Dec 17, 2018 8:01 am

Hi,

If ASPI is not working on later OS then that is the most likely problem, as jniSMDI cannot work without it. ASPI is a generic programming layer provided by Adaptec that allows any program to access SCSI devices. But, as Jim says, for some bizarre reason, Microsoft decided to no longer support it in the later OS. This started in Windoze Vista, and, for a while at least, ForceASPI was a way to get the function back.

TBH I have been thinking of removing the SMDI support. It was more of a technical challenge for me when I was looking at it way back in 2002/2003 (I wanted to learn about Java Native Access to get to platform specific features, like ASPI/SCSI) and, as Jim mentioned above, it only provided half the answer, in that it transferred raw samples, but not waves.

Wave/Sample mapping between FLASH and RAM can be done automatically in ex.factory, which is why I started writing it! In the early days of working on MEL-LABS with Ski and Torus (the big Mellotron project over at www.ex5tech.com - now still available at www.ex5tech.uk) both Ski and Torus had FLASH and I did not at the time. So when they gave me the first S1M file and Voice set all mapped to FLASH (with nearly 256 voices all pointing at FLASH), I only ever did the remapping of the voice file once! I decided after that I had to find a programmatic way of changing the references. So on my Commodore Amiga (now in Jima's computer retirement home ;) ) I wrote a C program to do the remapping, after I had done some basic decomposition of the S1V file format to find out what I had to change. ex.factory grew out of that.

I'm not 100% sure what you want to do. You don't map Waves/Samples to either RAM or FLASH. You can create a Wave file in EX5 RAM (or in ex.factory), save it to disk and then load into FLASH. It is the Voice Element pointers that you then have to map to RAM or FLASH.

Perhaps if you can explain what you are looking to do in a little more detail, we can offer some advice.

To perform Element remapping, in ex.factory if you right click over the Voice branch, Voice Selection, Voice, Element Branch, Element Selection, Element then you should find a "Map to ..." option.
Regards
Derek Cook

http://www.carregddu.co.uk
http://www.echoes-music.co.uk
http://www.xfactory-librarians.co.uk
http://www.ex5tech.co.uk
User avatar Sweden
Arguzeen
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2018 4:29 pm

Re: SMIDI Error

Unread post by Arguzeen » Mon Dec 17, 2018 1:22 pm

Hello mr. Derek.
Actually, what I'm trying to do is wavetable (sort of, simply switch waves by sysex). I did bunch of shortcircle wav files in WAVEEDIT (Synthesis Technology). Now, what i want to do, is apply loop end and loop direction (cumbersome to do that for 60 waves inside EX5), create voice (?) with about 60 waves and keep that voice file in flash. But. To switch waves in EX5, it have to be loaded to ram, it's not possible from flash. But keep them i would like in flash... :)
Thanx.
Post Reply

Return to “Yamaha EX5 Forum - Also covers the EX7”