MG10XU Distortion/Noisey

AG is a multi-purpose, high-resolution mixer and USB audio interface designed to elevate the creative, audio experience for webcasters / podcasters, gamers, mobile musicians, music producers and more. This section is also for Yamaha's MG series of mixers.

Moderators: Derek, parametric, Saul

User avatar United States of America
Brodie
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2019 9:00 pm

MG10XU Distortion/Noisey

Unread post by Brodie » Thu Jun 13, 2019 9:10 pm

Hi there!

I have a Yamaha MG10XU and popping sounds and buzzing keeps coming from it.

I've looked in the manual and I've tried a lot of things to fix it.
On Channel 4 there is a Red Light that says PEAK.
It seems/sounds like that's where it's coming from.

I don't know how to fix it please let me know =)

here's a screenshot https://imgur.com/a/IPTZEEH
User avatar Great Britain
parametric
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3808
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 1:00 am
Contact:

Re: MG10XU Distortion/Noisey

Unread post by parametric » Fri Jun 14, 2019 12:47 am

Hi Brodie - and welcome to the forums . . . . .

Hmm, thats an odd one . . . . .
-
You have a condenser (I assume) Mic plugged in Ch1 (hence the Phantom Power is ON)?

Normally - Mics are connected with 3-pin Cannon plugs, LINE sources are traditionally TRS Jacks . . . .

I can't remember if this is significant when requiring phantom power . . . .

in as much as whether or not Phantom power is available if LINE is selected . . . . .

(but that's a side issue I think, and NOT connected with that peak overload problem . . . .)

Ch4 is turned DOWN - and nothing plugged in . . . :confusion-confused:

If that peak led is ON all the time, then that channel thinks it is getting a signal overload from somewhere . . . .

What happens if you move the Mic to Ch4?

Any change in behavior? . . . . . does the peak led go out/start behaving normally?

The fact this is happening without anything plugged into 4, makes me think something has fallen down that hole and is shorting - producing that signal . . . .

Exercise Ch4's socket with a plug and see if it "clears" . . . . .

Hope that helps . . . .

parametric
Alesis Fusion 8SSD AND 6SSD - BOTH are 384Mb/120Gb SSD/Akai ADVANCE61/Yamaha MOXF6/1024Mb Flash Ram/Yamaha SY85/8.5mb vol/1024k non-vol/DX21/Roland MT32/Bachmann double overstrung Baby Grand Piano/Win10 Pro/Ubuntu MATE 15.0.4/iBook G4/Mac OS 10.4.6/ProTools 7.4/MBox2/M-Audio MicroTrack 24/96

NI Komplete11 Ultimate

Sector101 2x SYEMB06 / 4 x EXM-E3 128MB DRAM Module

BRAND NEW DSDD (720k) FLOPPY DISKS FOR SALE - http://www.yamahaforums.co.uk/forum/vie ... =22&t=9217

Watch out now! take care, BEWARE of the greedy leaders! They'll take you where you should not go - (George Harrison)

IT'S TRUE - "MONEY TALKS" - TO ME, IT MOSTLY SAYS "GOODBYE" ;-)
http://www.chrisnmiller.co.uk/Chris
Post Reply

Return to “Yamaha Mixers Forum - AG/MG Mixer Range”