Do you compose? How? "Where"?

Yamaha's best entry level keyboard for performing various styles of music, from the latest dance to classical and vinyl favourites. 61-keys, touch response, powerful on-board speakers and easy-to-use professional features.

Moderators: Derek, parametric, Saul

User avatar
marcos.zy
Member
Member
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2019 1:59 pm

Do you compose? How? "Where"?

Unread post by marcos.zy »

Hey guys, sorry if this is not the appropriate section of the forum for this thread. If so, please change it to the appropriate place.

So, do you compose? If so, what software do you use, or do you use "pen and paper" (music notebooks)?

I used to do some compositions in Guitar Pro, using its piano roll, notation system, etc. But it was a long time ago. And you? What are your experiences?



User avatar
Derek
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 5232
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:00 am
Location.: Wales, UK
Contact:

Re: Do you compose? How? "Where"?

Unread post by Derek »

Hi,

Possibly the chill out room may be a better place, but you could also say the arranger forum is a good place as well. We are quite relaxed on things like this. :)

So how do I compose? Sitting in front of my keyboards or with guitar strapped on, noodling until I get ideas that I like, which i quickly record into Cubase before I forget them. Obviously just audio for guitar, but MIDI for keys. Often for me a specific sound or chord sequence is what gets me being creative.

With keyboards I do not bother notating, as I can only read dots veeeerrrryyyy sloooooowwwwllllly, so as long as I can see the piano roll in Cubase along with the Chord track which I populate, then that is fine for when I need to look at what I played (e.g. if going back for learning it for live play).

With Guitar, I use Guitar Pro to build a tab before I forget what I did!
Regards
Derek Cook

http://www.carregddu.co.uk
http://www.echoes-music.co.uk
http://www.xfactory-librarians.co.uk
http://www.ex5tech.co.uk

User avatar
Saul
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12844
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2004 1:00 am
Location.: UK, West Sussex
Contact:

Re: Do you compose? How? "Where"?

Unread post by Saul »

As Derek said, we are not strict on where things go and someone can always move a post if it is obviously the wrong section :)

However I know you are working with the PSR E-463 at the moment so this is as good a place as any to ask your question.

I am not sure I actually compose anything in the strict sense of that word. I improvise on the guitar and normally remember what it is I have played. So if I want to play it again I can usually get there...with a few variations but that is the way I like it :)

I can also pretty much remember what I played on the keyboard although if you asked me to note it down I wouldn't know where to start. I can't read music so I play by ear. It is fine for my use (Y)
Saul
Site Admin
Thalia Capos

Subscribe To Our YouTube Channel!
Review Yamahamusicians.com on Trustpilot
Sign up to the Newsletter
Follow us on Twitter @YamahaMusicians
Follow Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Tumblr
Dowina Acoustic Guitars: Dowina Cabernet DC
Dowina Chardonnay GAC DS - Dowina Rustica GAC - Dowina Marus - Dowina Puella

Please Note: This site is supported by Amazon Associate and other affiliate links. Any links in my posts may lead to products on the Amazon website or other vendors websites. These will not incur any extra cost to you but may support the running costs of the site via the generation of a small commission should you choose to purchase a product.

User avatar
marcos.zy
Member
Member
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2019 1:59 pm

Re: Do you compose? How? "Where"?

Unread post by marcos.zy »

Hey guys,

Thank you very much for your kindness. :)

So, Derek, do you connect Cubase with your keyboard? I had some compositions on Guitar Pro, but I don't use it anymore. Now I'll try to use FL-Studio together with my keyboard.

So, Saul, so you're guitar player. Great to know! I love guitar, also, despite I don't know how to play it.

I would like to mention that I just discovered the opensource Musescore, and I'm loving it. It also allow us to use a piano roll, and I think that can be used together with a keyboard. Let's see. I'll try that.

User avatar
Rara
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 592
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 4:34 pm
Location.: Australia

Re: Do you compose? How? "Where"?

Unread post by Rara »

marcos.zy wrote:
Wed Aug 14, 2019 6:49 pm
Hey guys, sorry if this is not the appropriate section of the forum for this thread. If so, please change it to the appropriate place.

So, do you compose? If so, what software do you use, or do you use "pen and paper" (music notebooks)?

I used to do some compositions in Guitar Pro, using its piano roll, notation system, etc. But it was a long time ago. And you? What are your experiences?
Much like everyone else, I'll sit in front of a keyboard, plod away at something or tweak a sound until
the light bulb moment. Often when coming up with ideas, I'm still using a pen and paper.
I found writing it down while the idea is fresh is the only way to remember it most of the time.
If not that, there is always a trusty tape deck with in easy reach to hit record.
It is quite a lot quicker and easier rather than stuffing around with a PC and fumble around
with the mouse/software in the heat of the moment
Once I have a good idea of where I'm going with a song then I'll use a PC sequencer to put it all together
then print out a conductors score, (Back to paper again)

I am old school I know :lol: I found through my experience, computers are far to unreliable.
I lost quite a dramatic song once due to a hard drive malfunction (one of many actually), i did however have an audio
recording on tape, not entirely lost, many times analogue has outlasted digital :-P

Rara 0-)

User avatar
Derek
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 5232
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:00 am
Location.: Wales, UK
Contact:

Re: Do you compose? How? "Where"?

Unread post by Derek »

I'm sure not I would call that old school. :)

I would call it whatever works best for each of us :)

As I "don't read dots", investing in the time to do a score would be pointless for me. :) So it is chords and piano roll in Cubase (and often masses of scribblings of interesting chords and sounds on bits of paper!

Marcos, yes, all of my keyboards connect via MIDI into my PC (I have a MIDI SPORT 128, which is an 8 way MIDI interface). So I can record any of them when I need to, or I can just use my Yamaha SY99 and AN1x (which are in front of my PCs screens (PC keyboard and mouse below them) to drive any MIDI equipment I have via routings either in Cubase (my recording software) or Cantabile (my live host software). Or I can use the keyboards to drive any of the plethora of virtual instruments that I have (e.g. classic emulations of all of the important classic keyboards - or at least the ones important to me!)
Regards
Derek Cook

http://www.carregddu.co.uk
http://www.echoes-music.co.uk
http://www.xfactory-librarians.co.uk
http://www.ex5tech.co.uk

User avatar
SeaGtGruff
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 1188
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2014 4:24 am

Re: Do you compose? How? "Where"?

Unread post by SeaGtGruff »

I don't "compose" per se, but occasionally I'll get a little riff in my head that I want to get down on paper-- not knowing whether it's "my" creation or just something catchy from the radio or TV or a movie that I can't remember the source of-- so I'll use one or more simple notation programs to write it down. One of my favorites is NCH Crescendo, which has a free version and is very easy to use. But I'm also a paid owner of FORTE Notation, and have a few other free versions of other notation programs.

No matter what notation program I use to jot down my musical ideas (or subconscious plagiarisms), I generally need to sound out the notes on a keyboard first. If I'm not near one of my physical keyboards, I'll use a virtual keyboard such as VMPK (Virtual MIDI Piano Keyboard) to pick out the notes by ear.
Michael Rideout
Current keyboards: Yamaha YPT-400, PSR-E433, PSR-E443, PSR-EW400, MX49 BK
Current controllers: M-Audio Axiom 61-II
Previous keyboards: Farfisa Matador 611; Casio CTK-710

User avatar
marcos.zy
Member
Member
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2019 1:59 pm

Re: Do you compose? How? "Where"?

Unread post by marcos.zy »

Very interesting to know about your experiences, guys. I myself also have to have a keyboard in order to put my ideas in place. But I'm not very old school...hehehe I was trying to use a notebook, but, well, Musescore is wonderful.

I'm trying now to connect my Yamaha to my PC, but the difficulties are great, due to space and position of furniture. Let's see. :)

Great to know about all the softwwares you use, also.

User avatar
SeaGtGruff
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 1188
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2014 4:24 am

Re: Do you compose? How? "Where"?

Unread post by SeaGtGruff »

I rearranged my bedroom a year and a half ago so I could put my keyboards next to my computer. It was hard, because my desk is an old heavy wooden desk that used to be my grandfather's (from back when furniture was real furniture, made out of wood that was real wood). It was murder to move that desk, even with all of the drawers pulled out of it, but fortunately I didn't need to move it very far.
Michael Rideout
Current keyboards: Yamaha YPT-400, PSR-E433, PSR-E443, PSR-EW400, MX49 BK
Current controllers: M-Audio Axiom 61-II
Previous keyboards: Farfisa Matador 611; Casio CTK-710

User avatar
puremusic
Member
Member
Posts: 266
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2019 8:48 am
Location.: USA
Contact:

Re: Do you compose? How? "Where"?

Unread post by puremusic »

Basically my computer desk is my keyboard desk now, and the actual keyboard for typing either sits on my lap or on top of one of the piano keyboards.

Real wood is the way to go. That particle board stuff.. a little moisture always ruins it sooner or later.
Roland FP-90 - Touchkeys - NS Wav5C Electric Cello - TEC BC - MIDI Expression
Kontakt - Arturia CS80 - Arturia Piano V - Sonivox Eighty-Eight - Spitfire Symphony Orchestra

User avatar
marcos.zy
Member
Member
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2019 1:59 pm

Re: Do you compose? How? "Where"?

Unread post by marcos.zy »

I need to rearrange my room urgently. The keyboard is on the opposite side of the PC, which would force me to use a super long USB cable in order to connect both. And that could cause interference, as you have said, guys.

My desk it not so large, also, so I think I can do something different here.

User avatar
shelly0624
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 429
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2019 4:13 am
Location.: United Sates

Re: Do you compose? How? "Where"?

Unread post by shelly0624 »

Is there any free or low-priced interactive app, software, or download that will show me the chord names when I play a song by ear? (Something you could print out would be even better). I've printed out a list of chords but it's hard to comb through them all if I want to know what I'm playing. It helps to learn by playing songs at this point, preferably ones I already wrote. I'll be learning scales, obviously, but I need a little inspiration.

User avatar
shelly0624
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 429
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2019 4:13 am
Location.: United Sates

Re: Do you compose? How? "Where"?

Unread post by shelly0624 »

I guess it wouldn't have to be interactive.. just a chord finder that will tell me what they are when I hit certain keys.

User avatar
Derek
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 5232
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:00 am
Location.: Wales, UK
Contact:

Re: Do you compose? How? "Where"?

Unread post by Derek »

Hi, I'm in a rush right now (need to get back to practise!) but if you google "MIDI chord analyser" you get plenty of hits.
Regards
Derek Cook

http://www.carregddu.co.uk
http://www.echoes-music.co.uk
http://www.xfactory-librarians.co.uk
http://www.ex5tech.co.uk

User avatar
parametric
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4474
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 1:00 am
Location.: Near Watford, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Do you compose? How? "Where"?

Unread post by parametric »

Maybe this helps Shel?


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DNiD0Npc9Fg


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v7rVNffEmhI


Certainly interactive . . . . check the speed those chords ZOOM by . . . . :o

It's not free ($25), but perhaps it suits your purpose? It is guitar oriented too which you'll probably like . . .

parametric
Alesis Fusion 8SSD AND 6SSD - BOTH are 384Mb/120Gb SSD/Akai ADVANCE61/Yamaha MOXF6/1024Mb Flash Ram/Yamaha SY85/8.5mb vol/1024k non-vol/DX21/Roland MT32/Bachmann double overstrung Baby Grand Piano/Win10 Pro/Ubuntu MATE 15.0.4/iBook G4/Mac OS 10.4.6/ProTools 7.4/MBox2/M-Audio MicroTrack 24/96

NI Komplete11 Ultimate

Sector101 2x SYEMB06 / 4 x EXM-E3 128MB DRAM Module

BRAND NEW DSDD (720k) FLOPPY DISKS FOR SALE - http://www.yamahaforums.co.uk/forum/vie ... =22&t=9217

Watch out now! take care, BEWARE of the greedy leaders! They'll take you where you should not go - (George Harrison)

IT'S TRUE - "MONEY TALKS" - TO ME, IT MOSTLY SAYS "GOODBYE" ;-)
http://www.chrisnmiller.co.uk/Chris

Post Reply